We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meticuously clean with a wonderful island decor and best pool in Vegas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room + Show Package Steal
Ranked #87 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
salem ma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Meticuously clean with a wonderful island decor and best pool in Vegas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

From the front desk personnel to housekeeping, they make you feel special. As a
Tropicana regular for twenty-five years, I spent my 49th anniversary last week, and my wife
and I were treated like royalty. We are well traveled and have stayed in luxurious
settings in Europe, Mexico, the Carribean, and The Canadian Rockies. Our penthouse
suite at the Trop was beautiful, only matched by its staff. The transformation of this hotel
is masterful. We will be back again and again!!!!!! Ron L

Room Tip: Ask for the 20th fllor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your review and happy 49th anniversary. I am glad we were able to help you create great memories of this visit. For your 50th anniversary, I recommend trying the Club Spa Suite! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,099
    2,856
    1,351
    484
    278
See reviews for
1,261
3,237
412
1,036
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,025)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Thomas did an amazing service making sure we were situated and taken care of. I can say for certain I had top notch service from beginning to end. A trip that I will never forget thanks to him!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad Thomas was able to assist you in making this a great stay and we will be sure to celebrate this with him. Again, thank you. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The entire place has been re-done inside and out. New sports betting room, new restaurants, Nikki Beach, and a 24 hour eatery. Yogurt and gelato at Naked Spoon. Starbucks, Pellegrino has good pizza and burgers. Gladys Knight concert was a real treat. Brad Garrett's Comedy Club was extremely funny. Ambhar Lounge has lots of premium tequilas. The interactive Las Vegas Mob Experience was real fun. All-in-all this place knows how to have fun. It might not be the fanciest, or the richest, or have the tallest towers, but overall, the value is unbeatable. Biscayne restaurant is fantastic, and reasonable prices for a high-end place. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and very affordable. Use your Trop Plus Players Club card to get room comps and freeplay. The Paradise Suite is huge - enough room for a 15 - 20 person party. The Club Tower Spa Suites are nothing short of luxurious and huge. Even the Deluxe rooms are large, elegant and comfortable.

Room Tip: Get to know the Casino Host. They will ensure you are happy, and they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very nice and clean hotel. Not a big mega-resort where you can get lost. Ideal for my 82 yr
old mother and for my 7 &11 yr old nephews. Loved the color scheme and aroma of
tropical fruit.Overall it was perfect for our needs, and did i mention i won at the machines.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your win at the machines. On your next visit, I highly recommend taking your family to see the las Vegas Mob Experience. It is a great interactive experience that both your mother and nephews will equally enjoy. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Spent 1 night on the start of a grand canyon trip. Got a good rate on the room. The room was larger and cleaner than expected. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your review and I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to end our 5 week tour of southwest USA at the Tropicana - the idea was to have some rest and relaxation after a hectic four weeks on the road sightseeing. Despite having to wait about 20 minutes in a queue for check-in, we were impressed that we were able to access our room immediately (we arrived at the hotel earlier than expected at 11.30am). This enabled us to get straight out to the pool which is a nice area, with a good mixture of sunny and shady spots for relaxing and catching a few rays. There are plenty of sun loungers which are allocated on a 'first come, first served' basis. If you're willing to run up a big bar/food bill you can reserve one of the comfy 'double beds', some right by the pool (they expect you to spend $100 which isn't too difficult if there's two of you and if you're intending to stay all day it is worth doing - we really enjoyed it). The pool area gets very busy, particularly over the weekend.

The rooms at the Tropicana have been nicely refurbished with some pleasant touches like an alarm clock with an ipod dock. The air conditioning is really quiet so you can keep it on all the time without it disturbing you. There's no fridge or coffee making facilities, so if you want a coffee in the morning you have to trek down to Starbucks. No big deal but it wouldn't hurt to have a coffee maker in the room. The beds are really comfortable and the room itself is spacious with a well designed bathroom area.

We asked for a quiet room, away from elevators and ice making machines, and we were very happy with the allocation. The only downside is that the walls are thin which means you hear a lot of what is going on next door!!!!

That said, we liked the Tropicana. It is unpretentious and good value for money. It is close to the MGM which was convenient as we booked tickets to see Josh Groban at the Arena. We found the staff helpful and friendly and we would happily stay here again when back in LV.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. I hope you had a wonderful Southwest trip and I am glad you had a great time at our pool enjoying the daybed. It really is the best value for an all day visit. We do offer a fridge and coffee maker upon request for Deluxe Rooms and these do come standard in the suites. I apologize that this was not mentioned to you. To help with the noise from the neighbors, on your next visit I recommend requesting a room with no adjoining door. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The whole complex has been upgraded to top property Vegas strip standards. Rooms were modern, newly refurbished, clean, and spacious. Staff was outstanding. Pool area is top notch. Awesome value for the money. Great location on the strip.

Room Tip: Tropicana's website had the best rates vs. other travel sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a great visit and we hope to see you again soon. Nicole Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The New Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a $200 million complete transformation that provides a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip. With a unique South Beach vibe, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. First-class entertainment includes "The New ILLUSIONS" starring Jan Rouven and "Raiding the Rock Vault" in the all-new Tropicana Theater, Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.