We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there is only 1 reason left to stay at MC the location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3770 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“there is only 1 reason left to stay at MC the location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

stayed from 18 - 21 dec at the monte carlo and booked the monte carlo half year in advance to avoid disappointment during the peak season in vegas but apart from the location (iits in the middle of the strip across MGM and beside the faboulus new york- new york there is no reason left to stay here any longer

i also made the desicion about theyr advertised house brewery and pub, which i "used" several times during last years and probably theyr only unique offer to compare with all the other hotels along the strip, but to my disappointment the manegement closed the brewery and now they offer the same boring beers in theyr pub-location as you can get anywhere nationwide - what a silly idea in my mind and we got many comments of the staff who work in the pub telling "they loose guests for that reason" we also got off the table after we discovered the change and stepped next door into the famous "nine five irish guys" pub at NYNY

at least rooms are spacius and comfortable but just ordinary stuff on the strip - the pool was closed without further notice, there is lots of construction work outside, they switched off the lightshow outside the entrance area is worn and let you feel unwelcome the fountains didnt show off - theyr "self announced best- steakhouse in town" was closed

so what else to say about monte carlo - no reason left to stay there in my opinion

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,701
    4,028
    2,052
    753
    393
See reviews for
1,739
3,787
374
712
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,038)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

This was my first visit to the Monte Carlo in Las Vegas. I mostly stay at Excalibur for low rates, but Monte Carlo had a $40 a night deal the week before Christmas.

It was very fancy and nice. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and a quick check in (15 minutes or less) we went up to rooms. It is nice that you don't have to go through casino to get to your room.

Room was on the farthest end away from construction. I had read the other reviews about the 24 hr construction next door. We did hear the back up beeps but keep the heater on so it wasn't that distrubing. We had a nice view of the Paris and Eiffel Tower and MGM. Room was clean and beds were very soft and comfy.

The quality was nicer than Excalibur and the price was amazing. I have learned to check the calendars on the hotels web sites to pick the best time to go for the best rates. The week before Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas are the best rates times. Sunday through Thursday are the best days to go.

We bought a tv movie and the sound was bad so they refunded it off our bill. The holiday decorations was the best in Vegas. They do Christmas right.

We were woke up at 2 am by couple arguing in the next room about him losing their money and her being upset. We listened and laughed then went back to sleep. Glad we were having a girls only vacation.

I would go back for the great deal again, I am sure they will have more while the construction is still going on.

  • Liked — Strip View
  • Disliked — Construction noise and view ( not a deal breaker)
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

i stayed at the monte carlo for a total of 5 nights over the christmas period. the location cannot be beaten, next to new york new york and across the road from the mgm grand. the rooms were large and clean however the whole hotel lacked the vegas, fun atmosphere that is present in most of the other hotels. also the rooms were very dark and the lamp fuses kept blowing. overall, it was not too bad but if you want to experience the true las vegas, stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — great location, large clean rooms
  • Disliked — no atmosphere, poor lighting
  • Tips/Secrets — catch the monorail from the mgm grand down to the other end of the strip, its much cheaper than a taxi and quicker too
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

The Monte Carlo is a great place to stay if they're having one of their great deals that they have from time to time. The location can't be beat, between the Bellagio and the NYNY, and across from Paris and MGM. We got a rate of $99 weekend; $49 weekday, which beat all the surrounding hotels by quite a bit. But the accomocations aren't up to the same standards; everything is pretty average, best-western quality. Dim lighting, not spacious, and poor bathroom amenities. One girl with us electrocuted herself as the hair dryer blew a fuse. Though that may sound humerous.....well, it kind of is. But still, not an attribute that I look for in a hotel. So other than the great location, and a pretty nice casino the hotel doesn't have a whole lot going for it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — If Paris, NYNY, or Aladdin are similarly-priced, I'd opt for those.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

My wife and I, along with 2 other couples, stayed at the MC December 17 - 21, having booked package deals through our airline. We chose the MC prior to learning of the construction noise problems that others have had. We hoped for the best, but were ultimately disappointed.

And for background information, I've stayed at numerous places throughout LV; downtown, strip, off-strip. I'm very familiar with what kind of room you can get for certain price ranges.

Check-in went rather smoothly, although requests for rooms away from the construction apparently fell on deaf ears, as all our rooms were directly facing the MGM CityCenter site.

The entire place appears to be game for remodeling/construction at any time. There's no parking garage, terribly-limited self-parking in a surface lot next door, food court/shops area being worked on, etc.

The buffet and the cafe both are "online" again it seemed. We tried and liked the cafe, although service took awhile.. we even saw/heard people actually getting up from their table to approach the staff about how they had yet to be waited on after waiting a long time.

The casino is less than stellar. Lots of slots if you're into that I guess. But otherwise, the table games were not real inviting. The dealers overall had fairly bad attitudes, the limits were raised every night, even during a "slow week". Drink service was good only 1 time, the rest of the times it was slow and drinks were weak. There IS a poker room, staff is pretty professional there, but it's small and limited in games that they spread.

The rooms were ok on the surface; spacious and fairly clean. But after spending some time in them, we all found little problems here and there. Ultimately, it appears the rooms are in need of a remodel. They work, but are falling behind in quality.

Probably the most disappointing occurence was a complete loss of water for around 3 hours one day. It was very much an inconvenience. When the front desk was called all we were told was "yes, the water's out, and engineering says probably til 2". No appologies, no possible solutions for those of us that needed showers. We felt like the hotel didn't care about how this impacted us at all.

We were already feeling like the MC was not worth the money that we payed and that there are several options that we'd consider next time. The loss of water pretty much clinched it though. We all determined that it'd be a long time before we'd choose the MC again, if ever again.

I must give big PROPS to the valet service though. Considering the amount of people using valet due to the lack of a parking garage, they were always quick with their service. If they couldn't get to you immediately, they would at least tell you "one moment sir.", showing that they acknowledged your waiting. Subtle, but important. Those guys are doing their part! Kudos to them.

  • Liked — Valet Parking, Location on Strip
  • Disliked — The construction both inside and outside
  • Tips/Secrets — consider renting a car so you aren't limited on where you stay.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

Current construction makes this a really hard place to recommend right now. We were on a package last week that essentially made the room free, yet we still wish we had stayed elsewhere.

There is one very small lot for parking that proved to be impossible to park in, even during one of the slowest weeks of the year. We ended up parking at NYNY and walking over from there. The free valet averaged about 20-30 minutes, so this was hardly an acceptable solution.

We had requested a room as far as possible from the construction. We were given a room on the 27th floor overlooking the Strip, but found that it had not been cleaned. The replacement room was on the 26th floor with a Strip view in the wing furthest from the construction, yet we still awoke to noise at 6am. Not fun when you only went to bed 2 hours earlier.

The final day was spend with my brother dealing with horrible food poisoning from one of the onsite restaurants. This led us to the hospital for the day (sadly not a single slot machine in the waiting area :) Management was neither concerned nor apologetic; rather they gave us a number to file a report and offered no remedy for our troubles. What a great sendoff!

Bottom line is that if a stay can be this bad when it's free, I certainly wouldn't pay good money to stay there. I think the word is getting out and this property will have a rough go until the CityCenter project is complete.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midwest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2006

We just got back from a six day stay in Vegas, three of those days courtesy of a blizzard in Denver that shut down the airport. We were stranded in Vegas. *Sigh* I know, sad isn't it? We had been staying at Treasure Island, a sister property to the Monte Carlo, but TI was sold out for both Friday and Saturday night. We called the Monte Carlo figuring we might get decent rates. We got great rates. We are frequent hotel guests as our travels take us many places. We know hotels good and, unfortunately from time to time, bad. We got some of the best service we have had in years at the Monte Carlo. We checked in less than an hour later coming straight from the airport. The gentleman checking us in, Joel, was fantastic putting us at ease about our travel being interrupted. He had the "If you need anything just let me know" approach that was refreshing. Recently Vegas seems to have developed a rather rude reputation particularly along The Strip but the old Vegas customer service is alive and well at the Monte Carlo. The room we got was clean and roomy. Great view and we were close to just about everything we wanted to see. The staff was incredibly polite. Housekeeping was marvelous as was each and every staff member we encountered. That is hard to say in this day and age. Construction? Yeah there is construction going on but there is construction everywhere in Vegas right now. We bailed on the Paris for our reservations this time because the Paris has had so much construction going on inside the hotel. Joel, the gentleman checking us in at the Monte Carlo, was nice enough to place us on a high, quiet floor and we found it quite peaceful. The restaurants in the Monte Carlo are great. Andre's is one of the top 100 restaurants in the US. They even have a brew pub! A number of the mega-hotels are overrated in my opinion and the customer service is greatly lacking. We got the kind of service Vegas was once known for. The Monte Carlo is far better than middle of the road and rivals the big four (Caesar's, Bellagio, Veneitan, Paris) center-strip cornerstones. It may be one of the best kept secrets in Vegas. We will go back to Vegas and we will not be shopping for a hotel next time. We will be at the Monte Carlo.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Coffee was a bit pricey
  • Tips/Secrets — Request the 31st floor
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MGM Domestic, Vegas.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.