We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss with Monte Carlo - Mostly Miss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3770 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss with Monte Carlo - Mostly Miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

Monte Carlo is Hit and Miss – Mostly Miss Unless you get lucky and get an upgrade.

This is a long review and of course based on our experience only. I have noticed in reviews that give 4 or more stars that most of these reviewers seemed to be getting some kind of upgrade that is not available to the majority of guests.

This is our second time to Vegas and the 3 other couples we were traveling with have been to Vegas several times each. I have worked with the public for 20 years in the food service industry and know how to treat people courteously and appreciate the same.

We booked in May 2006 for our rooms for 4 nights starting on the 27th of September.

Bad Points:

Check In – Confusing, Tiring and Lengthy - We arrived in the middle of the week too. I could not imagine checking into this place on a weekend.

We had called the Monte Carlo reservation line prior to our arrival and requested rooms facing the strip and higher up. The request was on our file when we arrived according to the receptionist.
We arrived at the Monte Carlo parking lot at 2:15pm, got out of the airport transport to be greeted with a pile driving machine from the construction operating behind us breaking up cement. The Travel Rep who greeted us at the hotel was yelling and we still could not hear her over the noise. We had to get into the lobby so we could hear her instructions. She told us that the hotel has a strict policy of releasing room keys no earlier than 3:00pm. We had to wait until 3:00 to get our room keys and that the porter would have our luggage in our rooms at 3:00. We had lunch in the Brew Pub and went back at 4:00pm and got the keys. Checked out the rooms and no luggage in any of the rooms and all the rooms overlooked the construction on the backside of the property.

Also, one of our rooms was not made up. The previous guests left lots of DNA on the sheets - disgusting and a general mess overall. Not a good impression, especially for the couple who was supposed to occupy that room.

We then tried to change rooms. I was greeted by indifference by a complacent person at the front desk. This was my first interaction with a Monte Carlo employee and fortunately, he was the only rude person we encountered. He just told me no room change without the luggage that we had to wait for the luggage to get to our rooms. Not even a smile from him during our entire transaction. I was pleasant the entire time. He is not doing his employers any favor. If you don’t like working with the public get into another line of work.

We then went to the area where the luggage is distributed to see if we could retrieve it from there. After a 10 minute wait, we were told it was on its way to the rooms so we sent our husbands up to the rooms to wait for the luggage while we stood in line to try to get the rooms changed out. Finally, someone with the travel company talked to the person at the front desk and then they entertained our request to change rooms even though we did not know where our luggage was. We all ended up on the side of the hotel facing the strip on higher floors. All with 2 queen size beds in each room. We retrieved our luggage shortly after.

Noise:
This place is noisy. No doubt about it.
Walls are thin
Hall noise is not buffered
Noise from the construction on 3 sides of the block at all hours
Water running through the plumbing is loud
Nightclub across the strip from the Monte Carlo is LOUD on Friday and Saturday.

Note: There is construction in the front and the back of the building so no escaping the pile driving. There is a 9 billion dollar project being built on the same block as the Monte Carlo and we were told it would be completed in a couple of years. The pile drivers started their hammering at 4:11am on the first night and then 3:10am the next night. (at least that is when it woke me up) Earplugs help and if your window can be opened keep it shut.

Noise from the night club across the strip – there is a 24 hour night club across the street called Emerald or Empress. It is loud on Friday and Saturday. One person in our party woke up in the middle of the night and the base from the music across the street startled her. It pulled her out of a deep sleep and with the vibrations she thought she was having a heart attack! It was still going at 6:30 am on the Sunday morning we checked out.

Comfort of Beds:
Beds were comfy. The pillows were not hard at all but they were thick. Just fat pillows so your head is probably more elevated than usual. They gave me a sore neck so if you use the edge of the pillow it alleviates that problem.

Food: Brew Pub – Café – Breakfast Buffet and Food Fare are the places we tried.

The Brew Pub food is good and reasonably priced. Eight of us had a mid afternoon meal complete with 2 beer each for $10.00 per couple. We bought the tower of beer and a couple of beers on the side. We shared appetizers such as nachos and quesadillas, onion rings. Very good first impression on the food if you like Pub style fare. The servers there were awesome each time we went. Very upbeat.

Café Restaurant:
Food was great there. Everyone liked their meals. Check out the menu before you go in and if there is something you think you would like, chances are you will enjoy it. The burgers run around $9.00 and do fill you up. One person in our party had the fried chicken and mashed potatoes with steamed broccoli. A healthy portion of well made comfort food, he enjoyed it.

I had a chicken Caesar salad and enjoyed that until I found a 4” hair in it and pointed it out to my waitress. I told her that it happens and but I could not finish eating it after finding a hair. I was quite surprised that it was not removed from the bill. I had to ask the person at the till to take it off the bill. I have never charged any customer for food that had a hair in it in my years of serving. It happens on the rare occasion and when it does happen the facility should do their best to accommodate the guest.

Breakfast Buffet
$10.00 per person. The omlette station was great. Has shrimp, cheddar cheese, ham and standard toppings. I did over hear a guest trying to get toast. Toast was not available according to the staff there. The usual meats, ham, ham hocks, Italian sausage, sausage patties, bacon, fruit, yoghurts etc. It was standard breakfast buffet fare.

Food Fare:
Standard fast food - no complaints.

Pools
The pool area is okay but the adult area is in the shade all day. Plus the noise from the construction is LOUD. Maybe in 3 years it would be tolerable.

Purple Reign – Monte Brew Pub Show.
This is a Wednesday night show not advertised anywhere that we noticed. A Prince tribute. I read about it on the TA Forum and called the front desk when we arrived to get more details and confirm it was on for Wednesday. We went to the 10pm show and it was fantastic. No cover charge, although the drink prices do go up by 10% at 10pm. Well worth the modest charge.

Phones in the room
2 phones in our rooms. One on the desk and one on the nightstand.
$ 1.00 + tax per local calls

Bathrooms
The bathroom was a decent size - no complaints here - the usual shampoo, conditioner and soap available. We tipped everyday so near the end of our 4 nights we got some shower gel, sewing kit etc.

With all the other options in Vegas we likely won’t be returning to this hotel. Hopefully this was of some help.

  • Liked — The Brew Pub
  • Disliked — Noise in building and Construction Outside
  • Tips/Secrets — If you like to sleep this is not the place for you. My husband slept with the extra pillow over his head.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,707
    4,037
    2,058
    755
    395
See reviews for
1,743
3,798
375
712
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,045)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

We've been to Vegas before and whilst I've never stayed in the Monte Carlo my boyfriend has and never had any complaints before. We arrived on a Saturday and after waiting till 4pm and trying three times to get in our room as the key was not working we finally managed to get into our room only to find they'd given us two beds instead of one, so we headed back down to reception to change rooms.

We finally got the right room and settled in and didn't have any compliants. Our room was overlooking the construction site which we didn't think anything of as no work was going on at this stage. That all changed on the Monday when work started although we were out during the day so it didn't really bother us. We didn't realise that it would go on all night though, so on Monday night we had hardly any sleep and decided there and then that we wanted to change hotels. We went to reception who just said fine, they didn't even try to offer us a room anywhere else in the hotel, I guess they are so used to it they don't even bother anymore.

If you don't plan on sleeping at all then the Monte Carlo is fine, but if you want a few hours sleep, it's not for you!!

We ended up moving to the Excaliber which is cheaper and whilst the casino is a bit tired and dated the rooms are virtually the same as the Monte Carlo and no noise!! Plus both pools were open (only one small pool in the shade was open at the Monte Carlo) and more money left over to spend on gambling!!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

We loved our stay here. The Hotel offers excellent value for money with large comfortable rooms in a clean and pleasant environment. The facilities are good witha decent size pool area with three different typs of pool and water slide/river rapids.
The hotel staff were very good and helpful, especially the pool staff.
Although loosley themed on Monte Carlo it doesnt attract loads of tourists come to have a look like the NY NY or Bellagio etc. so there is a sense of space.
Theres a variety of eateries but the best in the microbrewery which does a good range of tasty beers with well priced enjoyable food to go with it.
the hotel is well located next to Bellagio with a free tram ride there and located by the NY NY, MGM Grand.M&M World.
CVS pharmacy next door for things you dont want to pay hotel prices for.
A definite place we would return to.

  • Liked — good value for money in a great location, not over crowded
  • Disliked — as with all Vegas hotels, no coffee maker in the room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a travel kettle
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

I had read reviews before going to stay at the Monte Carlo Hotel and one was about the up grade to the Concierge floor of the hotel. When we got to the hotel we asked and sure enough we were able to stay on the 32 floor for $38.00 more per night. This was a real BONUS. Light Breakfast , light lunch, appies in the late afternoon which included all alcohol (no Beer)from 4:00pm until 10:00pm , not to mention a view to die for and a kingsize bed in each room!
We went with 2 other couples so it really was a bonus.

We booked our flight and hotel thru USAirways.com and I would book another vacation with them any time. Their service was also very very good.

We stayed from the 24th of Sept to the 29th/06 and would not hesitate to stay at the Monte Carlo again.
Loved it
Linda

  • Liked — the concierge floor and how special we were treated
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — up grade to the concierge floor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

Went back here after having a great stay 2 years ago. As others have mentioned, MC is now surrounded by 24 hour construction which is a bit of nightmare to say the least! According to 1 taxi driver, he dropped a fare off at MC at 3am & the noise from the jackhammers was deafening as the old MC parking garage has just been demolished as well as building work going on either side of the hotel.
I also felt that the rooms were pretty shabby this time & the carpet in my room was really dirty.
I was fortunate last time that I had no problems with the MC's infamous lack of soundproofing & noisy plumbing but the noises from adjoining rooms this time at all hours was really loud....coupled with the noise from outside, it was impossible to get a decent nights' sleep. I know Las Vegas is the kind of place where sleep can sometimes be optional, but this was beyond a joke! We has scheduled a 2 night stay at Wynn coming back to MC before going home, but we decided not to come back to MC. Desk clerk very nice....I wonder how many times they have had guests complaining recently?
Pros: Blackstones restaurant-fantastic steaks,great service
Location-Slap bang in the middle of the strip
good price for rooms
Staff pleasant

Cons: the appalling noise
Rooms shabby & didn't feel clean

I was really looking forward to staying here & took friends on my recommendation. Until the construction stops, seriously consider whether it's worth sacrificing sleep to stay here!
The soundproofing issue between rooms won't be addressed.....be careful who you are next door to!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante.Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

Have just returned after nine days at the Monte Carlo. We decided on this hotel after reading many reviews of many hotels and picked this one as it seemed to have the fewest bad reports. A friendly girl at reception upgraded us to deluxe rooms when we asked for rooms away from the construction, some noise was heard but there is so much building going on close by, it would be difficult not to hear something.
We have one complaint that a large area of the pool area has now been closed until next March. As we only had three days left it didn't affect us too much, but the area remaining open is in the shade and just a small part gets a little sun around 4 pm. However the Tropicana. pool seems to be open to everyone or at least has no security guard at the entrance.
All in all we were very pleased with this hotel and would certainly return providing all of the pool area is open.

  • Liked — Quality of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Can't think of any
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

This is my 2nd visit to Vegas and both times the destination was decided by others (went there to visit friends or friends who are visiting). So I was very careful trying to find a hotel to please everyone but we couldnt agree on budget and location so ended up as a compromise at the Monte Carlo as we had a great deal $89/room/nite with freebies (one for one spa, one for one breakfast and one for one at the brewery)

Check in was a very unsettling experience as it is a wide lobby with numerous counters and there are lines at all of the ones that are open (half of them which makes about 10 or more). It was a noisy lobby to wait around before check in and there are no furniture whatsoever for waiting guests, just the shops and huge crowds moving back and forth (to cab stand or parking lot). Check in was ok (one note : if u have a promotional rate with freebies, ask for the vouchers coz they dont just hand them out unless u ask for them, we had 4 rooms and only one of us got them without asking)

Rooms : disappointing but I cant complain as we had paid less than $100 for each room (during peak season, we were informed this room will go for more than double). The rooms are as seen on their website except not as new and definitely not as spiffy as it looks. Room can definitely do with some touch up as things are either fraying or lack of good maintenance or just plain broken and unsightly (see photos), thin walls and doors (u can hear the cleaning crew each day and the room next door).

Amenities :

Pool : way over crowded pool with a serious lack of lounging chairs, everyone packed so close together it feels like sardines packed in a tin can, wave pool starts and stop every 10 mins, u can rent floats at a hut right next to this pool, there also have life jackets for little ones (compliementary), lazy pool is kind of small/short esp. when u r always bumming into someone as it is so crowded (it was only open during one of the days we were there, the rest of the week it was closed for repairs), there is another pool that is gated, not a bad place to hang out if it gets too crazy at the other pools. One thing, the main pool is pretty cold as it is surrounded by trees, quite shady area and cold water. There is a jacuzzi right next to this main pool which I dont understand why even that is crowded on a day when it is in the 80s !!! U got to grab ur towels just as u pass the gift shop/gate area.

Brew Pub : always a wait at the brew pub (but a fun place to hang out at esp. the outdoor area next to the pool), go for the special tall containers (cheaper if u work it out on a per glass basis) that comes in 2 sizes. The oven pizzas are pretty good.

Food Court : is good for casual dining (Haagan Dazs has superb blended drinks that I got addicted to), the chinese restaurant here isnt bad (quite authentic) but the lunch buffet is horrible.

Casino : not a gambler but have to pass their unbelievably smoky casino to get to the main drag of Vegas Strip. I guess they have everything one needs for gambling

Location : I am not sure if it is the best location along the strip as I still dont really know Vegas but if u want to be on this end of the strip, it is ok with plenty of shops all around. Not long of a walk to Bellagio or any of the more well known resorts.

Overall : will not be back (not coz of the hotel itself but the whole of Vegas, just not the type of vacation esp. with kids)

PS : those with kids, dont waste time or $ on their children's museum, small, lack of exihibits and serious lack of knowledgable staff, expensive to top it off (for what u get to see and do), the Mandalay Bay shark reef though is a must (enclosed a photo)

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — crowds and so so quality
  • Tips/Secrets — better off at Paris for only a bit more $ (better location and overall feel), bellagio has a great chinese/noodle restaurant, gondola rides at Venetian is a rip off for a very short ride, shark reef is the best attraction
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#72 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#72 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MGM Domestic, Expedia, Vegas.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.