We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3770 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the MC for the long weekend and we enjoyed it. Check in was a breeze and they gave us a room on a high floor. Not too many people checking in earlier in the afternoon was nice. The room was nice, it was a room with a connecting door but we hardly noticed. Only on one of the three nights we were there did we hear neighbors. View out the windows wasn't the greatest- it was on the construction, but we saw gorgeous sunsets all three nights. No fitted sheets on the beds, but I think that is common in most hotels on the strip. Location was perfect, we walked everywhere we went, never even thought to use the car. Casino didn't have as much traffic as the others so that was nice. Buffet brunch in the morning was great, had a lot of food and great selections. Free margaritas at Diablo's were welcomed and tasty, but when we wanted to eat at 10:30pm on a Sunday night, there kitchen was already closed so we had to go next door to the NYNY. No complaints about the room or anything like that, it was a great location, price, and room for the romantic getaway we were looking for!

  • Liked — location was perfect, room was quiet, staff friendly
  • Disliked — no fitted sheets, diablo's closed early
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    4,025
    2,049
    752
    392
See reviews for
1,739
3,783
374
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,033)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We (boyfriend & I) stayed at the Monte Carlo Feb 12-15th for a Valentine's getaway. Check-in was quick, we asked to be located away from the construction going on next door and they happily obliged. The room was standard and fine for us - clean and nice enough.

Noise - We did hear construction the first night (a few bangs like they were moving steel) at about 4 am so it probably was very loud if you were on the construction side of the hotel but that was all we heard in 3 nights. We heard our neighbors once but then they were either quiet or never in their room...if you had noisy ones I suppose that could have been a problem but we were lucky.

Casino - The casino is a little smokier than others but also a little quieter which was okay with me (we just went to the other hotels... we don't gamble much, maybe 2 hours total the whole trip).

Food - We ate at the food court for breakfast the first morning and it was standard Starbucks (yes the prices are a little higher but what do you expect, if you want the cheaper prices you have to leave the hotel and go across the street to that food court - we were willing to pay a couple bucks more for the convenience). The second morning we went to the cafe...the "Ultimate Oatmeal" is good and huge enough for 2 people to easily share (maybe even 3 people) so we both ate for under $12. We had a free buffet and used it for dinner...not impressed with that. The food wasn't BAD but it also wasn't great or exciting (kind of like a college cafeteria level of food instead of a resort buffet level). If you had to pay for it, it wouldn't be worth it...go elsewhere.

The pool was closed until March but they told us we can go next door to the Bellagio and use their pool/hot tub (for free). Check out was easy. Housekeeping was nice and I thought they did a fine job. Location is excellent (I was bummed that the tram to the Bellagio is gone because now you have to walk past all the construction to get there but it's still a good location) .

Don't expect the Mirage, Bellagio or Wynn - type luxury here, I certainly wouldn't call it Motel 6...it's more a Holiday Inn/Doubletree level hotel. We thought it was a reasonable price, in a good location and a decent hotel.

  • Liked — Decent Hotel on the Strip for a Reasonable Price
  • Disliked — The Buffet
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Sink clogged, wallpaper falling off, bathroom filthy, floors dirty, Sheets dirty. What more can I say. This place sucks now. I stayed here a few years ago and it was ok. Now its way worse that a $39 old town hotel.

  • Liked — Location is good
  • Disliked — the rooms are discusting.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

First day at the hotel - had to asked for the sheets to be change - sheets was dirty. The wornout mattress - was very uncomfortable to sleep on. Had to asked for the floors to be clean. Deluxe Double Rooms & bath is a standard Motel 6 decor. I felt the rooms was overpriced because no extravagant decors - standard 2 star hotel decor.

  • Liked — buffett restaurant - asked breakfast
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

The Montecarlo is in a great location but the hotel is so-so. Beds do not have fitted sheets so you end up sleeping directly on the mattress which is not really hygienic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We got a "Monaco Suite" package for only $89 per night and we got our money's worth, but I wouldn't pay over $100.00 for the suite.

Check-in was rather slow. I counted 15 people in line and only 2 stations open. No indication of where to line up, everyone just sort of bunches up and tries to figure it out.

The room was HUGE, and had 2 bathrooms. The very small closet was as far from the main bathroom as it could be. There was a jetted tub that had a shower head above it, but not so much as a single grab bar to hold as I crawled in and out over the high sides of the tub. And I am not short. Huge toilet closet which was a waste of space and easily could have accomodated a shower.

Soap dish was not cleaned out while we were there. The first day our towels smelled very scorched, but the 2nd day were replaced with better smelling ones. Toiletries were simple and nice.

Old bananas in the refrigerator and a call to housekeeping resulted in only an empty promise to remove them. We tossed them out into the hallway 7 hours after calling (didn't want to stink up our room) when we wanted to use the fridge and someone did manage to pick them up by morning.

The bed was comfortable and the construction noise did not bother us at all, but we are very sound sleepers. We did hear the phone ringing next door a few times.

Internet service is wired only and costs $15 per day. Very strange, but the connection is by the television and quite far away from the desk. No informational magazines anywhere to be found in the room. That was a first for Vegas.

The casino was nice, the dealers were great, but we could not get water from the waitresses. Food at the buffet was very good. Diablos was a fun place and the food above average. The free margarita was "ok" but hey, it was free.

I'd stay there again if it was cheap. Location is good, it was easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go and CVS pharmacy is right outside for anything forgotten.

  • Liked — nice bed
  • Disliked — no walk in shower, extremely small closet
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Stayed at the Monte Carlo from Feb 6 to Feb 10, 2009. Nothing but praise for the hotel staff who seem to go out of there way to greet you and make sure everything is okay.
Before we left home we asked our rep at WestJet vacations to put a note on our file requesting an upper level room away from the construction next door and we got just that - room 30310 with a lovely view of mountains. Make sure you are not on the construction side of the hotel or you WILL be disturbed by the noise.
Our room was a nice size, clean and the maid accomodating - asked for a feather pillow and got it right away - our towels were fluffy and clean and plentiful - the bathroom spotless.
Tried the buffet for breakfast and dinner - really good quality food - execellent service - chefs and wait staff very friendly.
Casino area smells nice and they try to eliminate the smoke - better than a lot of the other casinos. The music was loud at times in some areas. Waitresses always nearby and happy to serve you. Had some good luck on the Monopoly game and then some bad luck....<smile>.
The food court offers some of your favourites, Subway, Starbucks, McDonalds, Sbarro, etc. but for value - you can't beat the buffet.
Yes, the Monte Carlo is dated, and there is noisy construction zone next door, but for sheer value you can't beat it. So don't be afraid to give the old girl a try.
(Be advised that the Lance Burton Magic show and the Micro Brewery Pub are both closed on Sundays and Mondays.)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#60 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MGM Domestic, Vegas.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.