We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable price and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Monte Carlo Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3770 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 271 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Affordable price and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I usually stay here since I know that the location is great and the prices are reasonable. It's on the strip with a CVS next door and Walgreen's across the street. The staff is usually very friendly and accommodating. We got a end unit room on the 20th floor with a view of the pool and stayed from Thurs-Sun during MLK weekend. The layout of the room was very spacious. What I noticed on this trip that I didn't notice before was the restroom is a little run down. I saw signs of age along the bathtub and floor in the restroom. But this wasn't a deal breaker for me. They are building some new shops/restaurants on the side where CVS is located which is pretty exciting. What I like best about this hotel is the food court in the lobby and the tram that you can take to Aria and Bellagio. The food court has a Mc Donald's and many other fast food restaurants. There's a Starbucks along the walkway to the trams. It's super convenient and quick to take the tram to the other hotels which is a bonus. Will continue to stay here for the price and location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,406
    3,688
    1,808
    700
    356
See reviews for
1515
3379
340
633
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I along with a group of friends each booked rooms and stayed at the Monte Carlo. We come to Vegas every year and stay for a long weekend and I have to say this was by far the worst hotel we have stayed at - ever! I know that the hotels on the strip compete for business by highlighting certain area's of the hotel be it gaming, food, rooms, pool etc... The only good thing I can pull from my stay at the Monte Carlo was the pool.
I would like to start off by saying the advertisements for this hotel are completely inaccurate, the hotel needs some serious remodeling and perhaps a check of their star rating. We have stayed at many four and five star hotels and this should not be classified as one. I realize that most people come to Vegas to game, we came for the entire experience and Monte Carlo was not able to provide that to us. We were not pleased or impressed by our rooms, our gaming or even your buffet.

Rooms:
Check in was smooth and seamless - at least that is what we thought until we walked into our room. On our way to our room on the 27th floor, we noticed that carpet bowing in certain spots and when we arrived to our room our first thought was - it was disgusting. I have stayed at hotels with lower ratings that have higher standards than the Monte Carlo in terms of maintaining their rooms. As we open the door we realized that the air had not been on for a while, the room was stale and hot, the bathroom tiles had an unnecessary amount of mold growing on it and the shower head which was very low was covered in building up. The carpet was so dirty I couldn't walk barefoot, as a matter of fact between the two double bed (I requested a king) were stains. One stain looked like vomit and another like blood; both of which appeared to have been there for a while. The wallpaper in the room was peeling off in parts. We called and spoke with the front desk to see about changing rooms and was advised we could but not until the next day sometime between 12 and 5. We had plans to venture off the Strip and be gone all day but being that we didn't want to spend another day in the filth we opted to stay around the hotel until a new room was available.
While we waited we hung out by the pool and although the best part of the hotel, the hot tub was pretty dirty and had a very strong smell of chlorine - so much so that it burnt out eyes. We did venture over to the wave pool for the remainder of our time and thoroughly enjoyed that experience.
We were able to change rooms and obtain a king size bed on the 29th floor for the next two nights. This room was cleaner but still had the dirty carpet, moldy grout and peeling wallpaper.
Over all both the rooms were dirty, (perhaps unhealthy with the mold) lacked outlets for charging devices, and did not provide WIFI.

Gaming:
Night one, we sat down at a couple of different tables to play black Jack and Craps.... Can I just tell you that over the last 20 years I have been to Vegas probably 15 times --- I have never had a gaming experience like this. The dealers are rude, and make it difficult to lose money at the casino. Additionally night one it took over 45 minutes before we were served drinks. We asked the pit boss (Who was condescending) if he could get us a server and he pointed and said one would be here shortly, we left that table with only being served 1 drink. We thought this may have been a fluke and attempted to game at your casino the next night.. NOPE this was not a fluke. We sat down to play black jack and went through 4 shoes of cards and still did not have a server come by our table. Again asked the pit boss to get us drinks, he then pointed and said one will be here soon, when one was not there soon I informed him that we still had not been served drinks and we would be leaving. This did not phase him in the slightest. Customer service was not his strong point. The gaming experience at this casino was just as bad as the rooms we stayed in. The Dealers are unfriendly and cocktail waitresses non-existant!!

Customer Service:
When reserving our hotel through Southwest vacations, we opted for a free buffet with room stay. We did not receive that until we brought it to the attention of the front desk. Upon informing the front desk of the mistake, we were advised that we did not select that option. I advised that my friends who booked the exact same way did receive a free voucher for their buffet. The attendant sternly asked for our friends name and once provided he informed us that our friends did not book the same way as us and they used Orbitz. He then informed us that that they just don't have a stack of free vouchers sitting around to hand out however he did reluctantly provide us with a free buffet. After leaving the front desk I spoke with my friends and informed them of the encounter and how they booked through Orbitz. My friend then informed me that NO they did not book through Orbitz and they did receive a voucher. If nothing else your number one priority should be customer service at the front level. Your attendant completely lied to us and was just plan rude.

FOOD:
We ate breakfast at the buffet twice and cafe once. The food was the same in both locations - tasteless! I will say we ate lunch at the double barrel and that was phenomenal.

I know that all Las Vegas hotels charge resort fees for staying at their resorts but seriously this should not be a charge at this particular resort, it did not have a resort vibe - rooms in horrible shape, food tasteless, gaming experience disappointing, and customer service from front desk, servers, drink attendants, dealers and pit bosses horrible.

I have never contacted a resort for compensation but felt that the Monte Carlo should make concessions for the experience that was provided during our stay. Vacations should be relaxing not stressful so we did not voice our opinions while staying, gaming or eating at your resort. We were on vacation and did not want to take any more time away from what is supposed to be an experience of a lifetime. However I did send this email to the Monte Carlo guest relations 5 days ago and still have not had a reply. It is easy to see that customer service is not a priority for this hotel.

Room Tip: As titled... Do your research.. Pool side rooms are noisy, Deluxe rooms are basic motel type rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice hotel, good location, easy access with the free mono rail. Shops are not great, did not try food there. I liked the casino they had and room was easy to get to. I would stay there again if I went to Vegas and staff was very polite.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For showy, over-the-top Vegas, the Monte Carlo is quite subdued. However, it does have its good points: 1. The location is in the center of the strip, with a free tram that connects it to the Aria, Crystal Palace, and the Bellagio. Also, if you walk next door to the New York, there are underground tunnels that connect the New York to other properties on the other end of the strip. You cannot beat the location of this hotel. 2. The pool area is extensive, with a wave pool, a lazy river, and a regular pool. A DJ plays great music and keeps everyone's spirits up at the wave pool. 3. The rooms are really cheap compared to other rooms in the same location. With these things in mind, the Monte Carlo is the perfect place for those who need to keep their travel costs down but still want to be in the center of the action. There is nothing really "dazzling" about the hotel: the rooms are nice but slightly worn with furniture that needs to be re stained or is a tad bit chipped; the bathrooms are definitely out dated with really awful linings in the shower, but they they still work well; the food court has family-friendly options like Subway, McDonald's or Sabarro but lacks anything healthy. The one HUGE HEADS UP is that the hotel does not have Wi-Fi in all of its rooms. They have a wire to plug into your computer, but this will not help people with iPads and Smartphones. They say this will be fixed sometime in 2015. We stayed on the 31st floor and we had Wi Fi in our rooms (3130 and 3132) but we believe that is because the boutique hotel here on the 32nd floor, Hotel 32, has Wi-Fi that we were able to access this high up. So if you are coming here, and Wi-Fi is an issue, be prepared to not have it before January of 2015. (You can always call the hotel to ask if it has been added yet before your stay.) The best reason to stay here is to save money. It's a lot less expensive than other hotels and although there's really no glitz or glam, if your room is mostly just a sleeping place for you, this hotel is a perfect choice. You an always visit the others and save yourself lots of money on the accommodations. The valet, bellman, front desk, and wait staff are all very friendly. One final note: the walls are a bit thin so if noise is an issue for you, be sure to let the staff know so they can accommodate you.

Room Tip: While the noise level was quiet for us, we asked very specifically to be away from noise. We paid fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I took my mom on a mother-daughter trip to Vegas and we stayed three nights at the Monte Carlo (She's in her 50s, I'm in my late 20s). We had a great stay. The Monte Carlo is decent - it's a little bit older than some of the other hotels for sure, but it was clean and a really good price.

Location: Great location - especially if you are planning on checking out the newer City Center (Cosmopolitan, Aria, Vdara, Crystals shops, The Mandarin), since it is right next door. It also has a free tram that runs every few minutes, stopping at City Center and Bellagio - which pretty much brings you to the centre of the Strip.

Hotel: There are 2 Starbucks and also a food court, which is handy if you are wanting a quick, cheap meal. I did not try the sit-down restaurants at the hotel though. Hotel is big and lots of people. Casino was fairly busy.

Rooms: It was quiet and we both slept well. Beds were comfortable. Room was definitely a bit dated (older tile, gold fixtures), but it was clean. Room was a little bit dark too.

Pool: We didn't spend any time there but did some walking around on the pool grounds. It was very crowded and therefore appeared a bit dirty. There is a lazy river pool which looks like fun.

I would say this is a more family-friendly hotel but not really the trendiest place. Would stay again because of location and price.

Room Tip: Higher floors, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hb,CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel last summer with 2 other moms and all our kiddos aged 9-17. We all had a great time so we returned this summer but this time it was only me and kiddos. We still had a great time. The pool area is very family friendly. Lots of kids and parents interacting with their kids. The downfalls are that you can not bring your own food and drinks into the pool area which means purchasing from the pool area which can get pricey. Also the pool closes at 7pm which is kinda early for my teens who like that the weather is cooling down and want to play volleyball then. Also there is no night time jacuzzi available since the pool closes. I find the people out at the pool to be friendly. I was able to talk to some really neat people from around the world. The hotel is perfect for us as we don't require a lot of specialized service. The beds are comfortable and the hotel is clean. There is no refridgeraters in the rooms so having an ice chest is perfect for keeping kid snacks cool. The hotel is centrally located so perfect for visiting other casinos and restraunts. Las Vegas used to be known for cheap eats but that is not true these days. Food is very expensive in and out of the hotels. Even the local McDonalds charges more. Also there is only wi-fi on floors 1 & 2.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The best value on the Strip for food, rooms and gaming. The rooms are clean and well appointed. I like the casino because it is not too massive. There is plenty of all games. The food choices are excellent, also.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Pool, Quiet, Ch...
Show More
Paradise
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Bar/Lounge, Poo...
Show More
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#22 of 271 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 8,788 reviews
City Center, Ba...
Show More
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Ba...
Show More
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 271 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 6,263 reviews
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Bally's Las Vegas
Bally's Las Vegas
#89 of 271 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 6,053 reviews
Pool, Quiet, Ch...
Show More
Signature at MGM Grand
Signature at MGM Grand
#10 of 271 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 7,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#60 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#69 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.