We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Monte Carlo Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3770 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Monte Carlo from December 11-16. My wife and I had previously stayed there in 2005 and quite liked the hotel. At the time it seemed the best deal on the strip; reasonably priced and centrally located. At the time the rooms appeared to be in better shape than our most recent trip. Don't get me wrong, the room was clean for the most part, it's just that when you see nicks and chips in the bathroom, older carpet etc, it's time for a makeover. Would we stay there again? When you have other choices on the strip, probably not. Let me know when they have completed a reno and polish and we may consider it.

As for any other shortcoming, service was fine, casino and restaurants were good (although the buffet restaurant was moved to the ballroom due to renos) and everything else in the hotel was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,863 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,377
    3,649
    1,790
    696
    351
See reviews for
1488
3351
338
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erin, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Monte Carlo for several days/nights in mid-February (2013). We had a single with king sized bed on the 17th floor, room 20. The room was very average, with bed, medium size flat screen tv, a small round table with two chairs, one three drawer dresser, smallish closet, etc. Although comfortable enough and quiet enough to get a decent night's sleep, the housekeeping was not that great. There was a hair in the bathroom sink soap dish when we arrived, still there when we checked out days later, small amounts of mold on the tile grouting in the shower, heavy dust on the top of the floor molding in the bathroom, and the staff does NOT change your bed linens during your entire stay unless you specifically request it--supposedly a water conservation measure, which I can understand. Also, I had forgotten my hair dryer and couldn't find one in the bathroom--husband finally discovered the hotel supplied one in a cloth bag on top of a shelf in the closet. No mini fridge--a very basic room with marginal housekeeping. Could also use a facelift--a floral print in the bathroom had very obvious water stains on it, there were scuff marks here and there on the walls of the room, and strange red stains on the carpet next to the bed--looked like dropped nail polish or something. On the plus side, the rest of the hotel is very nice--lobby area, casino, a very convenient food court for quick meals, and some (not a lot) of shopping available. If you like the high end shopping (Prada, Gucci, etc) this is not the place to find it---the small number of shops available cater more to the middle class. We did see a great show at the Monte Carlo though, the Blue Man Group--very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Did not care for the motel like quality of the rooms, the service was very avg and the restaurants left much to be desired!
If you wish to feel like you matter as a paying guest, this isn't the place!
I'm sure there are worse places in town, take a shot elsewhere!

Room Tip: If your room is an important part of your stay, beyond a few hours sleep and sobering up, my advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Attended a convention here for two days. Room was ok, nothing special, but good enough. WiFi in the room is plug-in only. Make sure you bring a cord if you're going to need internet.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I don't gamble so I can't comment on that other than to say the smoke bothers me when walking through to the food court or Brand restaurant. But I think every Las Vegas hotel has that issue.

Small pet peeves that management might consider:
1) The $20 resort fee is a bogus charge. Didn't know about it until check-in. Leaves a bad taste in my mouth and cost you 1 star. Let's call a spade a spade, it's a ripoff junk fee. Just charge me a high room rate if you need more revenue. Don't insult me with this "resort fee".I hate that airlines and hotels are doing this.
2) The two cups of room coffee per day is great, but how about providing some lids for the cups so I can walk down in the morning with a cup in hand?
3) WiFi in the room should not even be something a traveler has to wonder about. Many people nowadays just bring iPads or smaller laptop/ultrabooks that don't even have a connection for plug-in internet. Everything is moving to wireless/WiFi. A thoughtful hotel will know this and accommodate it.

Good things:
The small convenience store was great to have on site.
The food was decent enough that I didn't feel like I needed to leave to find better food. Ate in the food court twice (basically a mall food court experience) and once at Brand's Steakhouse, which was pretty good, though pricey, and also several catered meals for our group, which were good.

Not much else to add. I didn't get to check out the pool or much else as I was pretty busy most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Sorry, I apologize for my late review.....it has nothing to do with the hotel and it's staff...just a very busy and full life! First, it's a VERY impressive hotel! Manager Jake Ellis and his staff made sure every detail was taken care of from the clean rooms to poolside cabana and gaming fun for the seven of us! The Monte Carlo shops were also wonderful. I will recommend this hotel to family and friends when traveling to Vegas. The Monte Carlo is where we will stay on future trips to Vegas!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel, Jerusalem
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

the monte carlo is a great hotel, close to everything you need on the strip and has very good staff. our staying there was great, conviniemt and a good las Vegas experience. although the hotel entrance from the strip is through the smoky casino (like all vegas big hotels) you can enter with your car through the real lobby and then you get the feeling of the hotel. it is clean, modern and welcoming. the blue man group shows are at the hotel and there statues everywhere are nice. the hotel's row of stores is nice, especially the pub with huge amount of draft beers and the dual piano on some nights which was so fun! the room was just what we needed, comfy bed, massage shower head to the shower and just a god room at the 3 tower, floor 13 room 25.

Room Tip: rooms from floor 13 watch to the strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great time, great cost. We went for Valetine's week. The hotel is gorgeous and got a great rate from the resorts website, which is a surprise because usually you find cheaper prices on deal site. But the Monte Carlo website had some amazing promotions.. We would 100% go back. Cannot wait till the next visit.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#60 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MGM Domestic, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.