We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aruba Hotel to your Saves list
Aruba Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89104 (Formerly Thunderbird Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
DLG007
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

This hotel wasn't quite as bad as some of the reviews on here. It's kinda ghetto, and a lot of the cab drivers don't know where it's at, but for the price you really can't beat it. The room was a little dusty and the walls were thin, but for the most part it was clean. The emplyees are really friendly. On our last day there we had been up all night gambling, and they let us have the room until 3:00 so we could take a nap before our flight home. The Thunderbird lounge is really cool too, there is a lot of history there. They will give you free drinks if you are gambling on the machines at the bar.

Overall, the only negative is the location (about a $20 cab ride to the action of the larger hotels/casinos). A lot of the other reviews talk about hookers hanging out by the hotel. I did not see any. There is a strip club accross the street, but that's it. If you're looking for a simple, inexpensive place to stay, this is the place.

  • Liked — The great price, the Thunderbird Lounge, and the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The location. A bit far from the action.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    4
    5
    31
See reviews for
10
7
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
fontana, ca
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

This hoe-TEL was the hottest mess I’ve ever seen….please do not confuse me for the illiterate as I do know how to spell. However, in this case, this was exactly what you’re thinking when I say “hoe” tel…I half expected louie the pimp to meet me in the parking lot to convince me of how $10 would get me $20!!! First of all, the pics on aruba’s website are photo-shopped!! That is not the front, back, side nor aerial view of the hotel itself…except for the avocado green….they forgetfully left out the pics of the vagabonds, strippers and addicts that greet you upon entry of the parking lot…the room well let’s just put it like this, you have a laminated warning sign notifying you of in the event of missing items what you will be charged starting with the T.V. for $300 on down to the face towel for $10.…the air? What air? We went in the hottest season and yet somehow they figured out how to have the individual cooling units fixed as the air never made it past the 1st bed by the front door… HOPEFULLY, the EDUCATED will get my SARCASIM as that is all you‘ll be left with once you‘ve booked and pull up to the hotel!!! And the travel website that I used did not try to accommodate me either….as a matter of fact, in the words of ’shante’ the manager, (WHO'S THE ONLY SHANTE IN THERE COMPANY BTW OR SO SHE SAID BECAUSE SHE REFUSED TO PROVIDE ME WITH A LAST NAME) it was my responsibility to know what I‘m booking and not take their word for it!!! I should‘ve known...when I had to call the company and hound them about not getting my email confirmation that that was a sign to cancel the reservation!!!

  • Liked — leaving.
  • Disliked — arriving.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victgoria, BC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

Room was basic and functional. Beds were comfortable. We loved Liam, the bar tender. Breakfast is inexpensive and tasty but not available Monday and Tuesday. We easily flagged down taxis to take us to the strip and airport. It's funky and full of history. It is a bit away from the main part of the strip but only a $15 taxi ride (the traffic jams made the ride more expensive).

  • Liked — Price!
  • Disliked — Location away from 'the action.' LV has long taxi wait lines!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

We found this place online and the pictures online are VERY MISLEADING. do not stay here, Beds were sqeaky, Renovation not finished, very noisy, elevator closes on you, even the dining expierience was not good. Aruba Hotel & Spa, didnt see the spa anywhere . The only thing that was half way decient was the honeymoon suite.. Your better off staying at a Motel 6 or something, this Aruba is not a HOTEL at all.....

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Avoid the Aruba hotel. It was by far the worst hotel experience I've had. I can't properly describe everything that was bad about this place, but here's an attempt.

- There were knife holes in my dingy, musty smelling bedspread. I couldn't help but think that somebody had died in my bed.
- The entire room is tile floor. The tile is uneven, chipped, and rather rough. Definitely bring flipflops, not only because of the tile, but to keep your feet from touching the filthy ground and the slimy bathtub.
- The TV went out in the last few minutes of my universities conference championship b-ball game. The cable TV never worked again.
- I had my first introduction to bed bugs and was constantly itching and being bitten all night long.
- The tile and the thin walls make it VERY noisy. I could almost drown out the noise with the very loud air conditioner.
- The phone rang twice in the night but nobody was there when we picked up. Beyond that, a fire alarm somewhere in the hotel had bad batteries or something and beeped loudly every 5 minutes or so.
- The hair dryer burst into sparks when plugged in.
- Unless you want to explain to Little Johnny why the girls playing on the swingset in front of the strip club across the street are mostly naked, I'd recommend that you take your family elsewhere. It's located in a very seedy, non-friendly part of town - though it is at one far end of the strip.
- The place was generally filthy. The tile floors had not been mopped in some time and when swept, the dirt was just pushed under the beds. The closet and dresser were full of dust, garbage, and hair. The HUGE plastic plant that takes up a good portion of the room had not been dusted... ever.

I must say that the woman at the counter was extremely nice and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy. I caught the last few seconds of the game in the bar and it appeared to be a nice, classic place to hang out, though I doubt this to be true because I was the only person there that night.

In short, the Aruba is a very cheap place to stay if you can sleep through anything and are comfortable with deplorable living conditions.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and a nice, cozy looking bar
  • Disliked — Filthy room, noisy, bed bugs, and more
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere outside of Barstow
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

Back when Las Vegas was for Rat Pack-esque sleazeballs, and I mean that in a loving way, good, clean cheap motels lined the strip, like someone had mushed Park Place with Baltic Avenue together on one street.

Those days are dead and gone, and Las Vegas suffers for it, frankly. The Aruba Hotel & Spa is one of the few throwbacks to that glorious era-- a clean, respectable, inexpensive motel in an city full of overblown overcharging casino-hotels. Sure, it's in an area where the main attractions are strip clubs and quickie marriage chapels, but frankly that's *precisely* the charm. Want klassy? Stay at the frickin' Bellagio. Do you want VEGAS, baby? Stay at the Aruba!

Mind you, the Aruba truly is a nice hotel in the middle of a very, ahem, non-touristy area. The staff is beyond excellent, the food is decent (and there is a great Cuban restaurant down the street), and the bartender has a PhD in nuclear physics. The bar, The Thunderbird, one of the few original Vegas places left. There is a great sense of history in this place, and they have pictures of their past glory days. If the idea of seeing one of the places Keely, Louis and Sam performed makes you misty, then stay here. You really have no other choice anymore (RIP, Glass Pool Inn, Tam O'Shanter, La Concha...)

  • Liked — The incredibly wonderful staff, the sense of history
  • Disliked — Not much in the way of amenities other than a coffee maker
  • Tips/Secrets — Reserve directly through the hotel, ask for Rosie or Eddie.
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twrlr29
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

For 3 nights at less than $275, I was pleasantly surprised. Hotel was clean, food was decent, service was good. Would definitely stay there again. Easy access to airport, bus, and the strip. If you are looking to do Vegas on a budget, this is the place.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aruba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Hotel

Address: 1215 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89104 (Formerly Thunderbird Hotel)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Aruba Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aruba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Hotel Las Vegas
Aruba Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.