We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better value than a casino hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carriage House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Carriage House to your Saves list
The Carriage House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 East Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Better value than a casino hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and we were very pleased. It is a short walk back from the strip but the benefit of space and a kitchen made up for it. I could not have stayed in a casino hotel, they were too big and I will not queue for breakfast. Our room was one of the newly refit ones and it was very good. Even the towels and bath mat was fluffy and new. Some reviews say the old rooms are a bit tired but this refit will soon be complete so do not let this put you off. I liked the fact you had to use your room key in the lift, no one could just wander in.

The only complaint was the cost of a very short call to the UK was $45 (£25) Vodaphone network does not work in Nevada or Arizona so be warned if travelling with this mobile network from the UK

If we return to Vegas we will stay here again

  • Liked — space and quiet loction
  • Disliked — cost phone calls
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    350
    62
    25
    5
See reviews for
241
408
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North America
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

When you spend time at other hotels in Vegas (as we did working at a conference), you appreciate The Carriage House more. You don't have to walk 10 to 15 minutes inside the hotel to your destination -- the elevators are just a few steps from the lobby entrance. We were grateful not to have to walk through a smoky casino at the start and end of each day. And being able to make our own breakfast instead of standing in line at a restaurant every morning was a treat.

The staff were friendly, helpful, and fast when little things came up. We had a suite for less than the cost of a room on the Strip, and we enjoyed having a fully equipped kitchen and a living room to relax in as well. We recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the Strip but away from it too and who appreciates the conveniences of a kitchen and a normal-size lobby.

  • Liked — The fully equipped kitchen and the living room -- a great place to relax.
  • Disliked — The lighting wasn't good.
  • Tips/Secrets — The rooms have high-speed Internet access, but it isn't wireless. ADSL modems are provided. If you want to be online with more than one laptop at a time, bring a router or plan on using dial-up for the second laptop.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

Stayed at Carriage House for 2 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday visiting Mammoth,Lee Vining,Yosemite,Beatty and Death Valley.We were notified previously about construction work around hotel but were told it was from 7.00am.Our first day was Independence Day therefore no work but the second morning work started at 4.00am!! Wasn't worth asking for move as only there for 2 nights but just a warning! Room was fine but bathroom very small by American standards.Pity no where to eat in hotel and pool was small .We had stayed at the Tuscany Suites for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and that hotel was cheaper and much better,with dining facilities and much nicer pool and surroundings. Wouldn't stay there again altho' I agree friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

I stayed at The Carriage House for a week at the start of May. As four adults sharing the room I found it spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and large as was the well equiped kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpfull to us during our stay. Located just off The Strip it was quiet. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

Just got home and felt I needed to tell all the readers of this site.
Stayed for a week at the above, read all the forums before we left and was looking forward to it, and guess what, it was very good.
Arrived early at resort but unlike others we were not checked in until 4pm.
Room 405, if you get it, refuse, if you want daylight and a view, tops of palm trees right on glass shame really as room excellent.
Asked a move and got one after 3 days, upstairs to 517 a similar room with daylight and views of 15 hotel/casinos.
Staff and all facilites were very good I have no complaints at all.
Nice pool, free coffe 6 to 10am.
Welcome meeting full of good truthful facts and no hard sell of excursions or timeshare.
Took the advice of the concierge and ate at MAX's in Desert Passage opposite and boy o boy what a deal Breakfast and lunch $3.99 menu was more than acceptable, use it.
Overal a great week, well located 5 min walk to desert passage and the strip. Room serviced every day - other residents all approachable and friendly made lots of new friends and we will be returning this year. Keep it up Carriage House.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

Firstly, yes it was disappointing that Joeys was closed. After travelling for a total of 18 hours we were looking forward to it, but never mind.
The hotel is perfect for a group of friends who were staying in Las Vegas. we had a one bedroom suite which had a double sofa bed, 2 single sofa beds, and a double bed in the bedroom. the kitchen was very well equipped with fridge/ freezer, ice machine, microwave, coffee maker etc etc. the swimming pool was a nice size and jacuzzi was very inviting. Location was great, 10 minute walk from either the aladdin or the mgm (and monorail station). The building work never affected us as the windows blocked the noise. All in all a great choice for a weeks holiday.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

I had read previous reviews of this hotel and decided to stay there due to its location along the strip. I arrived to the hotel early around 10am and the guest services clerks for the hotel where excellent and friendly. They were able to get us a room early and the room was very nice. The room faced the new construction being built but i was not bothered by it as i could barely hear the noise with the windows closed. The pool was also very nice and well kept. I arrived the weekend of the 28th of April. The hotel is a block away from the strip and the walk is a short one to the strip next to the Aladdin Hotel. I would recommend eating at the Harley Davidson resturant if you get the chance as the food was reasonably priced and very good. I was disappointed to see a sign in the hotel that stated Joeys Bistro was closed indefinately. I wished i had known that prior to booking the hotel since there is nowhere to eat in the hotel. I would of liked at least a continental breakfast at the hotel since the Bistro is not open now. I would stay at this hotel again as i enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House

Address: 105 East Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House is located just a block away from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip. Enjoy the comfortable accommodations, fully equipped kitchenettes or kitchens, business center and fitness room. Guest services and concierges are always available to provide information about show tickets, tour information and dinner reservations. Our non-gaming Las Vegas hotel is ideal for leisure and business travel, family travel and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Hotel Las Vegas
Carriage Hotel Las Vegas
The Carriage Hotel
Carriage House Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.