We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carriage House

Save Saved
You added The Carriage House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carriage House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 East Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

wonderful small timeshare apartments. Was there for New Years and it was great to be able to be on the strip for the fireworks, There is construction at the Marriott, so if you want a view, be prepared for daytime noise. The beeping of heavy equipment going back and forth will drive you nuts. It was bad the week we were there. They start real early and it goes on till dark. Great to be able to walk 5 minutes and be at the strip. Seems to me that this was originally a hotel that they converted to a timeshare. The bathrooms take a little getting used to space wise and the kitch juts off at an unusual angle. Takes getting used to, but isn't a deal breaker. Great location when construction isn't going on. Took a little getting used to how small this place is compared to the giant hotels of the strip.

Room Tip: balance quiet with a strip view if there is construction at the marriot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    280
    53
    22
    5
See reviews for
190
324
36
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend the one bedroom suite if you want more space than typical hotel room. Not glitzy at all, yet quite comfortable and spacious with full kitchen, large bathroom, separate living area, two phones, free Internet, parking, great concierge service. At the last minute we upgraded from studio and so glad we did. (I just like plenty of room!) they also have 2 bedroom units and I think they are even much larger. Our unit 220 had the king bed and two sleeping chairs in living area. 2 doors to the bathroom so kids or 2 adults could have easily stayed and still had privacy. two flat screen tvs and 2 phones. Might have been a problem though for a 2nd couple with this particular bedding. As previous poster stated, it is right across the street from PH and the Miracle Mile Shops/restaurants making it very close to the strip. We rented a car for the week and loved the ease of parking, getting in the very security minded hotel. The concierge services even hosted a Sunday morning meeting giving some great tips on shows, attractions, restaurants and she could book shows at great rates, gave out coupons for several restaurants, etc. highly recommend Ocean One and other restaurants conveniently located near the Harmon St. Entrance we used. Grocery stores near by gave us easy access for breakfast items, drinks, etc. Coffee maker would be quite appreciated by coffee drinkers. Quiet when we were there, no construction going on next door, but I had requested a room in the side away from it just in case.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When I was planning my trip to Vegas for The Miss America Pageant, I was very concerned about finding reasonably priced and safe accomodations near Planet Hollywood especially since rates were so high with it also being CES week. A friend of mine recommended Carriage House saying what a great place it was, affordable, safe and best of all, across the street from PH. I will be forever grateful that I took his advice -- what a gem. First of all, what a superb staff committed to excellent customer service. Secondly, the rooms are terrific -- while my friends staying at PH were paying $14 a day for internet service and not even having a coffeemaker in their rooms, I had free internet (which is huge since I am a journalist), a kitchenette & not only a king sized bed but a sofa sleeper as well. The rooms were clean & the only noise I heard was the monorail but that was fine. CH is also safety conscious - you had to your room key to access the elevator and there is 24 hour security. It was also so convenient to only have to walk across the street to use the Harmon Ave. entrance to the Miracle Mile Shops which houses PH. Better yet, Harmon Ave. is quiet, safe and you won't be bombarded by those passing out cards for the X rated shows. I will absolutely be recommending CH to my friends.

Room Tip: I was on the seventh floor close to the elevator -- honestly don't believe there is a bad room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was in Vegas for a conference at Mandalay Bay and our travel policy prevented me from staying anywhere that had a rate that changed during my stay. That ruled out pretty much any of the casinos and other larger hotels.

The Carriage House showed up in my search, had a great rate and was still pretty close to everything on the strip. What a great choice! Parking and check-in were a breeze and the room was very large with a full-size kitchen. It was quite comfortable and walking distance to the Planet Hollywood resort and mall and other properties near there.

I would not hesitate to stay there again on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Could not have selected a better place to stay for our first visit to Las Vegas in early January 2013. We stayed three nights and we were very pleased with our stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Having two computers available in the lobby for guest to use free of charge was a bonus. Staff were very helpful and provided useful materials and recommendations for things to see & do during our stay! Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Carriage House
105 E. Harmon Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89109
(866) 925-1058
Date of Stay: Dec. 21 to Dec. 28, 2012

If you like Las Vegas and have not stayed at " The Carriage House", you are missing a great opportunity.
Most people know this as a timeshare, but it is also a hotel, with excellent rates and location. As you may surmise I exchanged into The Carriage House under a timeshare exchange program, but was aware that like many timeshares they also act as a hotel when they have vacancies.

My wife and I stayed there the week above over the Christmas Holidays. We had arranged for a 2 bedroom suite, which most people do not exists at this hotel. We were coming to Vegas to spend Christmas with a son who lives in a suburb, Henderson. We were expecting a second son to meet us there, but unfortunately he was unable to join us at this time.

The Carriage House is about 10-15 minutes from the airport, $15-$20 cap fare, or the hotel provides courtesy van
only return to airport at $8-$9 per person with 24 hours advance notice. The Carriage House is located 1 1/2 blocks off of Las Vegas Blvd (The Strip), between MGM and Planet Hollywood. We arrived late due to weather flight delays, but the staff were ready for us and could not have been nicer or provided more information than we could absorb at the time. Check in was smooth, and they provided us with a parking permit to display in the windshield of our car. We could come and go as we pleased with self park, no valet parking and best no fees.

We learned that security is very important at the Carriage House. To enter the building after 10pm one must use their room key card. To use the elevator, one must use the key card, and that will only take you to the floor of your room or suite. There is a security officer on duty during the evening hours, seated at the concierge desk next to the conference room, across from the check in desk and next to a business area with two computers and printers
available for guests to use.

We went to our room on the 6th floor, and faced the backside of the building. This exposure allowed an magnificent via of the mountains, the mono-rail, and the Signature Towers of MGM, being very , very quiet. This unit was on the opposite side from the nearby construction to the front. Although this was the Christmas Holiday, there was some limited construction while we were there. It was only noticed when we went out the front door, and a notice that the pool and hot tub closed due to safety from the construction. Arrangements were made by the hotel, with a neighboring hotel to use their pool.

This room or suite consisted of a large open area of a full kitchen, dinning area, breakfast area, and family room.
Then there was a hallway leading to a guest bedroom with two double beds opposite of a separate guest bath, then onward to the large master bedroom with king bed and a in suite bathroom. Everything was clean and recently remolded. The furnishings were modern without all the glitz one might expect in Las Vegas. It felt like home.
My son and daughter-in-law said that it was larger than their 2 bedroom apartment. My guess would be about 1700 square feet.

There was notices posted in the elevator that there was a meet the guests at a coffee and sweet roll on Sunday morning if you wished to attend. We went and there was no "timeshare push to buy" at this meeting, as we have attended many in the past. In fact there was no mention of timeshare at the meeting, only what was available at the hotel and what the concierge could provide you with, plus other things. These other things included ; laundry service available, either self service on each floor or sent out service. Also van service to local grocery centers with times and dates. There were the normal concierge services of every good hotel of obtaining tickets to area performances, attractions, and bookings.

We found that there was free Wi-Fi and Internet service to each room, as well as the business area mentioned before. There was a very small workout room with only 3-4 machines to use. There was also a snack center next to the reception deck, with snake foods and frozen items.

The idea of having this size room in the location of the major hotels and casinos, was amazing. We stepped out the front door and walked a block and we were at one of the entrances to the Miracle Mile Shops and Restaurants. We made use of the restaurants by going to Ocean One for breakfast. We were so impressed with the service, good food and price, we decided to return on another night for diner. This was not a disappointment. My wife found a kiosk with massage, and utilized it. She has a bad back after two surgeries, and found great relief. There is just about anything available in this shop area that leads into Planet Hollywood.

Two blocks from The Carriage House you will find oneself on Las Vegas Blvd. The Aris Resort is across the street, where we attended The Circus de Soleil, Zarkana. Great performance as all the Circus de Soleil are. Location of this hotel is paramount, as well as the personal service from the big places is exceptional.

The only noise we heard was on one morning at about 6:30am when the trash was picked up. Amazing considering the construction of the other side of the building. My recommendation is do not miss this hotel/timeshare for an excellent place to stay. An unknown diamond in the rough. Check it out, before you book anywhere else. I am not an owner there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

again we had chance to stay in Carriage House. everything is same as last year, nothing much chnaged (except employees :-)

this time we booked master suite, which was spacious, decorated, modern stylized. but noise from upper floor was a bit of disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House

Address: 105 East Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House is located just a block away from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip. Enjoy the comfortable accommodations, fully equipped kitchenettes or kitchens, business center and fitness room. Guest services and concierges are always available to provide information about show tickets, tour information and dinner reservations. Our non-gaming Las Vegas hotel is ideal for leisure and business travel, family travel and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Hotel Las Vegas
Carriage Hotel Las Vegas
The Carriage Hotel
Carriage House Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.