We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rumor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rumor Hotel to your Saves list
Rumor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
omaha
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Jennifer at the front desk was horrible..nasty attitude and lazy. Asked her for a towel to freshen up for my convention since we couldn't check in at 2pm....never got around to getting us one. Emily made up for her lack of customer service skills. Thanks Emily. ..Jennifer may need to work at Burger King.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    155
    84
    76
    76
See reviews for
23
237
56
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here at a discounted rate of $89/night, normally $145. Room was missing table and chairs, mattress pad was Filthy with stains, spatters of who knows what on the bathroom walls, dirty windows, unfriendly front desk staff, housekeeping walked in room without knocking twice, geared more fir a 20's crowd, lots of partying, upon checkout never asked how our stay was. I wouldn't stay here again too many other nice hotels in Vegas. Motel 6 would have been a better choice at $59/night!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Checking in (on a Sunday) was a bit of a hassle, as there were only two clerks working. But after waiting 15-20 minutes and finally getting up to our room I was pleasantly surprised by how cozy and modern the room was. I enjoyed the updated decor, fluffy bed, and luxurious bathroom. My only negative would be that the shower is definitely not big enough for two people and was not cleaned very well. I could still see calcium deposits on the shower head, nothing major. Also, I would stay out of the soaking tub, who knows what gone on in there haha.
Other Pros: off the strip but close enough for a five minute drive to the casinos, hard rock is across the street. There are also many fast food restaurants near by (yoshinoya, 711, etc).
You get what you pay for, balling on a budget (:

Room Tip: It's not necessary to splurge for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The room was a little hot. The air conditioners could stand to be updated and the flat screens could be bigger. But it was great outside and the room was a nice size with a living room and a neat bathroom.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been in this hotel room in the last weekend of March. The room was very VERY spacious, much more than the regular rooms at the Aria hotel. Hotel has a pool and pool cabanas which are nice and clean. It also provides with free wi-fi on your room which seems to be a luxury in Las Vegas and that helped my husband and me to do our web check-in for our flight. Some people complained about the noise coming from other rooms, but our room was nice and quite. Bath tub is big too but you need to see it as a bath tub and not a jacuzzi because it does not have any hydro massaging. The hotel is also really close from the strip. You can walk to it and you'll be there in less than 20 minutes with a slow pace.
My only complain will be with a guy from the check-out. We needed to print our boarding passes and the girl who was doing our check-out process super kindly let us do the printing in one of the PCS they have there. But then, this guy, whose name I can't remember arrived and in a very unkind tone told my husband the PCs were private and he should not be using it. Our receptionist let him know that she had allowed us, but even with this he continued telling us we can't use them until our receptionist told him to leave us alone and that she had everything under control. That is definitely not the right attitude for someone working in any hotel in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The only positives for this hotel is its location and pretty interior colors. That's it. Customer service was non existent. Pool was never open at any point in time. Water pressure in the shower was very weak.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A very unpleasant experience--the clerk my wife and I dealt with at registration was condescending and demeaning throughout our check-in. When we asked that we not be placed in one of the units facing the road, she immediately claimed that all units of the type we reserved (a “Skyline View”) were located there. That didn’t make much sense, since the hotel consists of a group of 2-story buildings in a circle, only a few of which are on that side. Further, we had requested a higher floor online, but after making a phone call, she told us that while a room on the second floor had been assigned to us, it was not made up yet. The implication was we needed to take something else (the only option, of course, being a first floor room facing the road, since the hotel was sold out) or we would have a very long wait, so we gave in. We could certainly have been switched to one of the rooms assigned to the many guests who hadn’t checked in yet, considering we arrived by the 4:00 start of check-in, but this woman had her mind made up where we were going to be.

After seeing the room, I returned to speak with the clerk, in part because it was hard to believe anything visible from the window of this room could be considered a “skyline.” Predictably, I was told we had no options as far as checking out early without paying the full price, but she also said we would not even be allowed to change rooms later in the stay, since the hotel was sold out for the weekend. (This also didn’t make much sense to me; typically at least a few individuals check out of most hotels every morning, creating some available rooms.) The room we received was otherwise adequate, and the large tub was a nice feature, but it was quite overpriced. I also have to wonder why guests are forced to go find drinking glasses to bring back to the room and why there couldn’t there have been more than one working ice machine on the whole property. To make it worse, the guest in the adjoining room on our last night was apparently a chain smoker based on the fumes coming through the connecting door.

Part of the problem might also have been that my wife and I are in our 40s/50s, and I suspect we didn’t quite fit into the younger demographic the hotel seems to be catering to. The clientele looked similar to those you’d find staying at the Hard Rock, which is right across the street. On that note, if you’re not interested in the Hard Rock, there isn’t much else in the vicinity that made the Rumor’s location particularly desirable, although the nearby drug and convenience stores were handy.

I’ve heard the trend is to open smaller hotels such as this one, and the idea sounded good when we booked, but we later figured out it’s also nice to be somewhere large enough that there are some options if you need to change rooms. As far as service, training their clerk to avoid the patronizing tone would be a step in the right direction. (The scary part is, it looked like she may have been in charge.) You also might think the check-in process at a “boutique” hotel (which this really isn't) would be quicker, but it was extremely slow at the Rumor. My complaint to the General Manager went unanswered. We won’t be back.

Room Tip: You won't have a choice so it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Artisan Hotel
#131 of 269 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,360 reviews
The Strip
SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
#117 of 269 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#79 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 10,374 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites on the Las Vegas Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumor Hotel

Address: 455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly St. Tropez, the hotel had become a relic amidst new developments. Today, it is re-imagined as the new RUMOR Hotel. Located where Paradise meets Harmon, directly across the street from the famed Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, the area is now home to some of the best bars, restaurants, nightclubs and gaming in the city. RUMOR embodies a powerful combination: chic, hot location, cool pool, zero attitude, modern rooms and unexpected amenities all in a boutique hotel setting. Featuring 150 suites, many featuring patios or private balconies, the two-story intimate hotel and resort does away with the impersonal casino lobby and instead opts for a cool ultra-lounge welcome with concierge-style check-in. Once checked-in to the room, guests are met with fantastic views of the swaying palms, distinctive wet-deck, the sparkling pool, seductive cabanas and the distinctive grassy knoll featuring both hammocks for the day and a DJ stage for night. While other hotels might have conference centers and ballrooms, RUMOR will use its unbelievable large courtyard and pools for amazing parties, fashion shows, corporate buy-out events and provide the perfect spot for couples wanting weddings with a twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Rumor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Tropez All Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.