We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quality Vegas Hotel For a Low Vegas Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rumor Hotel to your Saves list
Rumor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Fullerton, California
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Quality Vegas Hotel For a Low Vegas Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I are in our mid 20's and travel to Las Vegas for the Super Bowl every year like we have done for a few years now. We stay at a different hotel every time and this time we decided to try the Rumor Hotel. We stayed 4 nights from Sunday to Thursday.

When we arrived at the Rumor around 4 PM, we noticed it is a pretty small hotel by Vegas standards, it has around 135 rooms I believe. It is also a non-smoking hotel. The Super Bowl had already started so we were hoping for a quick check-in so we could finish watching the game from our room. There were two women working the front desk and we were very quickly checked in. They were very nice and we got a free bottle of champagne with our stay, even though I'm pretty sure everyone gets that, it was still a pretty good bottle and we very much enjoyed it. As we were walking towards our room we noticed how the room right next to ours had very loud guests, it honestly sounded like a bachelor party. We were pretty concerned about that combined with the airplane noise overhead but once we got into our room it was felt like the walls were sound proof to be completely honest. I'm not sure what all these other people are saying about the "paper-thin walls". We have stayed in many hotels and we didn't hear any irregular noise that you wouldn't hear from any other hotel. We were actually quite impressed! Our champagne was than brought to us no more than 15 minutes after we checked-in. We had a Junior Suite with a raised tub, to which we filled up to watch the half-time performance of the Super Bowl and drink the bottle of champagne, it was very relaxing. The TV faces the bed, like any other hotel, but the TV's here are on a wall-mount with a swivel so we were able to turn the TV 90 degrees and watch it from the tub. Very nice!
Our room had a balcony facing the street that looked directly at the Hard Rock Hotel&Casino, which is conveniently located just right across the street. The Rumor is also right next to a 24-hour Subway and across the street from a CVS as well which is attached to a strip mall. A taxi ride to the middle of the strip will run you a little less than $10, not bad if you plan on a night of drinking. We very much liked our view and often opened the curtains and balcony sliding glass door during the late afternoon. The room itself was very clean and maid service was quick and cleaned our room very well and even changed all our sheets. The bed was extremely comfortable to sleep on the and comforter was very soft and kept us warm all night. The room itself is a tad bigger than your average hotel room; it had a nice white leather sofa, which was comfortable to sit and watch TV (since you can turn the TV), and a nice modern coffee table. It got to around 40 degrees at night but inside the room it was quite warm and comfortable so we had no need to turn on the ductless A/C split system but since I'm an engineer I turned it on for kicks to check it out, all I can say is I'm very glad we didn't need to use it. It was a tad on the dirty side, there were wires that had been wire nutted together sticking out of the bottle (not safe), and very low air flow. We weren't too concerned of course, during our 4 night stay we didn't have a need to turn it on at all. The Rumor also offers a free adult channel so we decided to check it out. It is coincidentally channel 69, haha. A horrible adult film was playing, the entire movie was in the bathroom. We quickly realized over our 4 night stay that they played the SAME horrible movie over and over and over and over again. We checked various times a day and it quickly became a running joke "I wonder what's on the porn channel". It was literally the only movie they played for our entire stay. Other than the horrible porn, the TV seemed to have a large number of channels, around 100 or so including HBO. Also, a number of the channels were in HD, so it was very nice. The bathroom was very nice. a nice modern sink and rain shower which was very refreshing. A pretty decent amount of water pressure and the sink and shower got hot water almost instantly and never seemed to run out.

We went out every evening and the first two nights coming back we noticed the bar was pretty busy, it looked liked they were all having a good time with the bartender. So the 2nd to last night we stayed there we decided to check it out around 9 PM. The bartender looked to be in her late 30's, I forgot her name but my girlfriend ordered an amaretto sour and said it was "okay". I had asked for an old fashion, and to my surprise the bartender didn't know what that was, even though she claimed to be bar tending since she was 21. After figuring it out she said they don't have any oranges so I didn't even bother since an orange is a must for an old fashion. I then asked for a Johnny Walker Red on the rocks and they didn't have it. I then looked at the bottles behind her and realized they don't carry that many varieties of alcohol, so I just took a classic Jack Daniels on the rocks. We saw a bottle of Patron so we asked for two shots, the bartender got the bottle and it was empty, so we ended up taking shots of some off brand tequila, which wasn't too bad. My girlfriend then had a vodka cranberry, which wasn't bad at all but wasn't exactly a specialty drink so it's kind of hard to mess that one up. We weren't there long and headed back to our room.

The last night we were there we went out to the strip and asked the front desk to call us a cab, this isn't a major hotel so there weren't cabs lining up around the corner like what you would find at a hotel on the strip, but to our surprise the cab literally came to the hotel within a minute. We returned to the hotel around midnight, there was no one at the bar so we decided to sit and have a drink and play some video poker, the couple just leaving the bar had told us that they just won $500 (the man who won was still counting all the $20's, haha), and the night before a lady had won $1,000. So we decided to try our luck! We won a few times and our $10 lasted around an hour, very fun! Anyways, the bartender that night was Steve, first and foremost he was very nice and easily one of the nicest and most friendly bartenders we have had the pleasure of meeting. I would honestly go back to the Rumor just for his wonderful service. Once again my girlfriend had two amaretto sours which were better this time around. I had asked for an old fashion and Steve said they were out of oranges still, I decided to get one anyone because he sounded like he knew what he was doing. Even without an orange, the drink was still pretty darn good! I didn't bother getting a 2nd one because they had ran out of Maker's Mark. We stayed at the bar until around 1:30 AM and had an very fun time talking with Steve about various things. Even though the bar was very badly understocked Steve more than made up for it as a bartender. It was probably our funnest night in Vegas.

We checked out of our room the next morning and it was a very quick process. We than headed home from a great week in Las Vegas. Our overall opinion of the Rumor is a very positive one, we were very impressed by the hotel. The very good price coupled with the quality at the Rumor makes it one of the best values in all of Las Vegas. It is conveniently located just off the strip so it has that real Las Vegas feel but you don't have to deal with the hassle of staying at a large hotel. We not only plan to stay here next year for the Super Bowl but also very much recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Get a skyline view room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Chris! Thank you so much for your thorough review! I'm blown away by how detailed your posting is! I really appreciate all the kind words and constructive feedback. I look forward to sharing this with my staff. Thank you for mentioning our bartender Steve. He is a customer favorite! Thank you again for taking the amount of time it took you to put this review together. It is much appreciated! We would be honored to have you as our guest again! Please feel free to email me any time you are planning on returning to Las Vegas.

All the best,

Dillon Sweeney
General Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    140
    71
    61
    67
See reviews for
19
212
47
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The on-line pictures and descriptions, plus lower price, prompted me to select this hotel over others. The staff members were super, however, my impression of the hotel quickly deteriorated after checking into my room. Hair in the sink, a bathroom floor that looked like it had not been recently swept, an older bathtub that was cracked and dirty-looking. The final disgusting straw? Oily foot prints on the headboard. The road noise did not help me get a decent night of sleep, either. I will NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask to see your room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Caligirl,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your feedback. It is always appreciated. I'm hoping to speak with you further to get some more information about the issues you had and see what room you stayed in. We are absolutely committed to getting better everyday. I also want to make things right for you and hopefully we can earn you back as guest in the future! Please email me at dsweeney@rumorvegas.com. Thank you again! I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,

Dillon Sweeney
General Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel modern design and big rooms was good and nice

But the room smelled ... though clesn when we checked in it was smelly ... so we had to air the room for an hour or so.... next day I was out all day... but when I got in my room wasnt tidied or cleaned and the bed wasnt done smd of course no fresh pair of towels which is disappointment after a long exhausting day out

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Sara,

Thank you so much for being our guest and taking the time to give us some feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that we missed servicing your room. Unless there is a Do Not Disturb sign on your door, your room should absolutely be serviced. I apologize that you had an unpleasant smell in your room. Please reach out to me at dsweeney@rumorvegas.com. I want to make sure I make this right for you! Thank you again for staying with us. I hope we're able to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Best Regards,

Dillon Sweeney
General Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel experience of my life and I've stayed in a lot of hotels.
First room I checked into smelled of weed and had dusty curtains and holes in the wall looking like a murder scene. The bathtub had long black hairs in it and was chipped paint that looked so dirty I wouldn't even take a foot bath in it.
The girl at the front was sweet enough to upgrade me to a bigger suite when I was going to my room I was harassed by pimp like men who made me feel very uncomfortable-surprise they were across the hall from my new room.
When I pulled back the blanket on the bed there were tiny pubes in the bed.
I immediately grabbed my bag and drove home forgoing my night out simply because I didn't want to come back to that room.

Never again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. That is absolutely bizarre. If possible, I would like to speak with you to find out some more information and take a look at the rooms you were in. I would also like to make sure you are compensated for your stay. Please send me an email to dsweeney@rumorvegas.com. I promise to make this right for you. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you encountered. Its always very helpful to us. Thanks again, I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,

Dillon Sweeney
General Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescort
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I loved seceral things about our stay here. Great location. Super quiet during our stay in January. Great shower & comfy beds. The room was clean & the bartenders really fun. However I booked a room with a patio by the pool & got a room with a view of the parking lot through windows that looked like sun-film had been peeled off. Even after I explained to the front desk what i had booked. & we never saw our free champagne.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Rakini,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We really appreciate it! I'm very sorry that we weren't able to get you the room type you reserved. I would like to make that right, please send me an email to: dsweeney@rumorvegas.com. I promise that I will take care of you and I hope we're able to have you as a guest in the future! Thanks again!

All the best,

Dillon Sweeney
General Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

So...I'm too stupid to know how to review my last review titled "No Rumor. Hotel Sucks." That review was a one star and I had to change my view because the hotel manager contacted me! Wow. Dillon Sweeney requested I send an email to him personally after reviewing my previous post. I don't know about you but that tells me Dillon is on it from a customer service perspective. I can handle one bad nightshift employee if I know management has their act together. So...Dillon. Good work. You changed my opinion.

Room Tip: Very modern hotel right across from Hard Rock Hotel. Clean hotel. Good management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Bryan,

Thanks again for being our guest! I'm glad I was able to speak with you and I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

All the best,

Dillon Sweeney
General Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Security woke me up at midnight demanding to see my identification because they "did not know who was in the room". Wouldn't have been so bad except I had a flight at 5am the next morning. After reviewing my license and radioing down to the front desk they said okay. They were sorry and that they would fix everything in the morning.

I went back to bed. The next morning I expected free breakfast or some type of discount. They said sorry and asked for my credit card...to charge the resort fee. Really? That's your solution? A hotel's primary purpose is to be able to sleep. I expected more.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Bryan,

I'm so sorry to hear about the incident you had. I promise I will make that right with you. Please send me an email to: dsweeney@rumorvegas.com. I agree that what you encountered is unacceptable and I will absolutely compensate you further. Thanks for letting me know and giving me the opportunity to make it right.

Best Regards,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumor Hotel

Address: 455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly St. Tropez, the hotel had become a relic amidst new developments. Today, it is re-imagined as the new RUMOR Hotel. Located where Paradise meets Harmon, directly across the street from the famed Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, the area is now home to some of the best bars, restaurants, nightclubs and gaming in the city. RUMOR embodies a powerful combination: chic, hot location, cool pool, zero attitude, modern rooms and unexpected amenities all in a boutique hotel setting. Featuring 150 suites, many featuring patios or private balconies, the two-story intimate hotel and resort does away with the impersonal casino lobby and instead opts for a cool ultra-lounge welcome with concierge-style check-in. Once checked-in to the room, guests are met with fantastic views of the swaying palms, distinctive wet-deck, the sparkling pool, seductive cabanas and the distinctive grassy knoll featuring both hammocks for the day and a DJ stage for night. While other hotels might have conference centers and ballrooms, RUMOR will use its unbelievable large courtyard and pools for amazing parties, fashion shows, corporate buy-out events and provide the perfect spot for couples wanting weddings with a twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rumor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Tropez All Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.