We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and sexy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rumor Hotel to your Saves list
Rumor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
omaha
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quaint and sexy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just far enough off the strip, but close enough to the action. Modern, swanky, Large, Sexy rooms and a great pool with lovely cabanas. Can't wait to visit again. Oh...and pet friendly for your Diva Doggies!

Room Tip: all rooms are pretty much good rooms...try the Oasis Suite for an extra splurge : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I'm so glad you had a great stay. I love the away you describe the vibe of our rooms and hotel. Thank you for sharing your photo as well. Those are some amazing boots! I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again! Please feel free to email me any time!

Cheers,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    148
    80
    68
    71
See reviews for
20
224
53
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We checked into Rumors at 12:30 am weary from delayed flight and just wanted to check in. This is a small hotel, checkin was long, only one clerk, 3 ahead took almost 25 minutes. We got a great rate online from Hotel-Tonight, so all we needed to do is present a credit Card for incidentals.

Got our room key, went to our room on 2nd floor, upon opening the door , found it had luggage about, and beds were unmade. Oops, this room is taken. Went back downstairs, clerk apologized, "I made you a key to wrong room!" Scary how unsafe your personal effects are in your room.

Went back upstairs to our correct room, put key in reader, nothing, went back down to Front Desk, a new clerk said, "this key is not programmed correctly". He got Hotel Security to escort us back to the room with a new key card; third time was a charm.
The room was very nice, king side bed, modern furnishing, flat screen TV, and even had a balcony overlooking pool area. Bathroom larger than most, standup shower and really hip sink.

Woke up and checked out next day to continue our trip at our Strip Hotel. Person in line ahead of us was complaining about charges on their bill, and the Front Desk clerk was not handling it well. So about 15 mins later got up to the front desk to check out to an expected $0 balance but was informed of a $11 Resort Fee. At this point I just paid it, cause we got such a good rate, but hindsight should have not.
Checked into our strip hotel, and then my wife realized she left a faux leopard jacket back at the room. So I called back and after 15 minute hold, I gave the clerk my room number, and that we just checked out 45 mins earlier and about the jacket. They said they would get with housekeeping and call me back.
Well they did not , and 6 calls and 6 promises later, nobody called. My wife called 3 days later and finally spoke to housekeeping and they said no jacket was found. She asked for a manager to call back. And 5 days and counting no return call.

I think this is a fine example of substance over service. Rumor Hotel is very nice property, but with service like we received , I can and will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Mario,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your feedback. I do apologize about the issues regarding your check-in experience. And I'm very sorry to hear we weren't able to locate your wife's jacket. I will speak with my Housekeeping Manager again about the matter. We have very good recovery rate on lost and found items and it's rare that we're not able to find something for our guests. Please send me an email so I have your contact information. I want to make sure we make this right for you.

Best Regards,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great service, rooms were super nice! Definitely will stay there again! Hotel was easy to find. It is right across from the Hard Rock Cafe! Employees were very friendly and were very prompt when called.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Theresa! Thank you so much for your "awesome" review! I'm so happy you had a great time and enjoyed your Vegas vacation! Can't wait for you to come back! Please feel free to email me any time you are planning future travel to Las Vegas!

Thanks Again,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped off at this hotel on a whim while traveling through Vegas. We had small dogs and the hotel is pet friendly, that and the price was right. I didn't expect such a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly, we were offered an upgrade to a full suite for only $10. Because we booked direct they gave us a free bottle of champagne. Room was spotless and huge, with a separate bedroom with a massive tub in it. The hotel is also close enough to the strip to walk (about a mile). And our cab ride home that evening was only $12 with tip. Totally awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad your whim brought you to us! And I'm glad you had a great stay! Thank you for mentioning the complimentary bottle of champagne for booking directly with us. That is a helpful tip that our future guests will appreciate! We're happy to have had your dog stay with us as well. We are very pet friendly! Not many hotels in our area allow for pets, let alone have their own dog park! Next time, you'll have to try our "Pamper Your Pooch" package! It includes an upgrade to a Deluxe Suite, a pet bed and doggie bowl to keep, plus some treats and bottled water. Please email me any time you are planning future travel to Las Vegas! We would love to have you as our guest again!

Take Care,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Ny
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

What a great find thanks to an iOS app. Almost overpaid elsewhere for an underwhelming place, but I digress. It's truly a boutique hotel (notwithstanding th snarky review I just read, wonder what kind of burr got under his blanket), primarily for its size.

Try to get the attention of staff at a resort with 1000+ rooms. You won't, but everyone at Rumor was quick to help. The one time there was a problem I was comped. The big hotels couldn't possibly be bothered to notice.

Some reviews complained about "shabbiness" and I was worried, but had no reason for worry. There's normal wear and tear to anything like a hotel, and my room was fine. Ask for a room with a soaking tub, this was a great way to relax.

There are plenty of places to eat well within walking distance, from sandwiches to German food to the array of restaurants and other activities at a major casino-hotel.

Best of all, my bed was really comfortable, the ultimate reason to choose a hotel. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the soaking tub! all rooms are easy to get to, not something you can say at a large place wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We are definitely customer service focused and strive to make everyone feel like a VIP! Thank you for helpful tip! Our future guests will appreciate having the soaking tub in their rooms! All of our Deluxe Suites with King beds come standard with an elevated soaking tub. Some of our Junior Suites do as well. I'm happy to assist with reserving one of those tubs in the future. Please feel free to email me any time you are planning on returning to Las Vegas! We would love to have you as our guest again!

Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

Best Regards,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Not many years ago RUMOR was a scabby Motel called St Tropez... then it got a facelift, some white paint and some funky furniture.

It's a SCAM to other so called Boutique Hotels to call RUMOR a Boutique Hotel. A little paint and some funky furniture is not enough to list it as a Boutique Hotel, RUMOR is nothing but a simple MOTEL !

The RESORT FEE (in our case almost 15 percent of the nightly rate) is another SCAM since RUMORS is not a RESORT... and you get nothing for it !

And, because of the location the "MOTEL RUMORS, should have a shuttle since it's hard to get a taxi and the reception will not call for one if you ask.

The breakfast was under all standards... and on top of that ridiculously expensive for what it turned out to be. A cup of coffee or tea at a simple MOTEL should be FREE.

What do you get for your "RESORT FEE?” In almost all cases, nothing you don't get included in the basic rate at a Super 8 or Holiday Inn. The fees are also explained by the resorts as a way to cover the cost of free self-parking, lounge entertainment, pool access, and pool towels.

The FREE self parking is not FREE if you pay a RESORT FEE to park at an ordinary, not guarded, parking lot. The rest is not FREE either, especially if it’s not even offered !

RUMOR is nothing but a simple MOTEL camouflaged with some new white paint that soon fades away.

Have anyone ever heard about a "MOTEL FEE," @ a Super 8 Motel ???

Richard Hagglof, Travel writer & photographer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi Richard,

Thank you for feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay and our resort fee of $11.99. It is 50-75% less than what you will have to pay at some of the other area properties. It includes your WiFi access, 2 bottle of water per day, access to our amenities and our adult channel. At many of the other properties in the area, you will have to pay a WiFi fee on top of your resort fee as well. If you have any other specific issues, I would be more than happy to discuss with you. I want our customers to be 100% satisfied with their stay. Please either call or email me at your earliest convenience. I want to make sure we reach a resolution that is to your satisfaction.

I hope you have a wonderful New Year!

Best Regards,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been to many hotels in the Vegas area; strip hotels, off-strip hotels, other Vegas hotels. This is by far my favorite off-strip hotel. Although it's not that far off but far enough you might need a car or taxi ride. The service there was stellar. From the time I pulled up until my departure, there is not one bad thing I can say about the outstanding service. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful, especially Sabina, Liz, and Dillion, they rock!!! The rooms are pretty cool for the price. I loved that the TVs swiveled because we set both up to sit on each side of the room so no matter which way you were laying in the room you could clearly see the tv. The rain shower was awesome. We never even had to go out for breakfast or ice. They brought our breakfast everyday and it was free and every time we needed ice someone brought to us. Outside they have hammocks which are very relaxing and a great jacuzzi since it was too cold for the pool and nice bit plush couches all over for you to lounge and read a book or nap. The price is good and reasonable. Again I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon S, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We're so glad that you had an amazing time! Thank you for recognizing my staff for their "outstanding service." We love to go above and beyond! I hope you will be visiting us again soon...especially come pool season! Please feel free to email me any time!

Take care,

Dillon Sweeney
Hotel Manager
(702) 369-5400
dsweeney@rumorvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rumor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumor Hotel

Address: 455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly St. Tropez, the hotel had become a relic amidst new developments. Today, it is re-imagined as the new RUMOR Hotel. Located where Paradise meets Harmon, directly across the street from the famed Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, the area is now home to some of the best bars, restaurants, nightclubs and gaming in the city. RUMOR embodies a powerful combination: chic, hot location, cool pool, zero attitude, modern rooms and unexpected amenities all in a boutique hotel setting. Featuring 150 suites, many featuring patios or private balconies, the two-story intimate hotel and resort does away with the impersonal casino lobby and instead opts for a cool ultra-lounge welcome with concierge-style check-in. Once checked-in to the room, guests are met with fantastic views of the swaying palms, distinctive wet-deck, the sparkling pool, seductive cabanas and the distinctive grassy knoll featuring both hammocks for the day and a DJ stage for night. While other hotels might have conference centers and ballrooms, RUMOR will use its unbelievable large courtyard and pools for amazing parties, fashion shows, corporate buy-out events and provide the perfect spot for couples wanting weddings with a twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Groupon and Agoda so you can book your Rumor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Tropez All Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.