We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value not far from the Strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rumor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rumor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169 (Paradise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade + Champagne
Ranked #120 of 273 hotels in Las Vegas
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value not far from the Strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rumor is a nice place to stay for not much money. It can be a little loud if people are partying at the bar or pool near your room, but it's not too bad. There isn't much parking without using the valet. The rooms were nice and simple, but a little worn. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your stay with us. I will be sure to share you praise with the staff.

Have a great day
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    124
    57
    53
    53
See reviews for
18
176
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

So this place is off the strip across from Hard Rock. We really didn't spend much time here because were where out most of the time. This is a couples hotel, please don't take children because porn is on the TV as regular station. We didn't feel comfortable with someone cleaning our room while we were away so we just put on the "do not disturb" sign. The tub in the room that they advertise was not jetted and kinda too small....oh well. Would I stay here again, hmm maybe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your stay with. Glad to hear you were able to get out and explore the city.

Please be sure to follow us on Facebook and stay updated with our upcoming specials.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Valley, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I very rarely have an experience that motivates me to leave a negative review, but my last stay (11/14/12) at the Rumor Hotel in Las Vegas was the worst hotel stay ever. I have stayed approx 20 nights at this hotel in the past year and a half and I used to like the place a lot. It has dropped in quality like a rock. Here's what I experienced: No soap in the room, no glasses in the room, the bed was completely blown out and super soggy on one side, (nasty) stains on the carpet, sliding door was very stiff, no working ice, dirty tub and an extremely unconcerned/uninterested attitude by the staff. I was going to let all this slide until I realized they charged me a $250 room cleaning charge for allegedly smoking in the room. I DON'T SMOKE and nobody else smoked in that room. The GM was a total jerk when I explained this to him and seemed to be oblivious as to the fact that I have stayed there many times. The hotel way practically empty when I stayed there and maybe they are desperate for revenue so they tried to fabricated a smoking charge. What a joke. Total nonprofessionals. I also found out that the owners of this hotel have a TERRIBLE reputation with LV locals. My best recommendation is to stay someplace else. Personally, I will never spend another cent at this DUMP! I can't stess that the staff is super rude enough. You've been warned!

Room Tip: stay across the street at the Hard Rock for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to post your stay with us, and for your loyalty to Rumor. I can assure you that we as a company, hotel and group of employees and managers operate with the utmost repsect for our guest and do not create phantom charges based on occupancy levels.

I apologize that our non-smoking policy for our guest rooms is not a fit for you. It is truly our goal to provide our guest the kind experience that would keep them loyal to Rumor and bring them back 20 times such as yourself.

Again, thank you for your feed back.
Have a great day
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My fiancee and I needed to get away from the Oregon rain and take a break from two months of no down time. We found the Rumor and its staff very accommodating. We take a Vegas break about three times a year, sometimes for business, as a plastic fabricator in Oregon, and sometimes for fun. We have stayed at many hotels, the Luxor, Monte Carlo, Polo Towers, and others for myself before I met my girl. We specifically wanted a place that had a balcony and a pool that we could actually use (most have, but most are closed or heavily restricted when summer is over). I have to say that was a big deal to us. We loved the Polo, but couldn't get a room, and considered the Palm's and a list of seven that would work. Our budget was not lavish, but we didn't have to settle for the Circus Circus either. The reviews for EVERYPLACE are really mixed, and the Rumor had its share of bad ones, but somehow it worked, and we are always ready to take a chance. Am SO GLAD we did. I was a little worried from the bad reviews, but that changed when we saw the room. Very comfortable beds and the balcony so she can smoke, rooms that were tight and quite and a pool that is open ALL NIGHT LONG!!!!! The cabana tents were outrageous comfortable and very romantic at 1:00 in the morning. The hot tub was being worked on, but serviceable, and we had a nice soak. AND NO ONE BOTHERED US...and indeed, they smiled and were delighted we were enjoying our stay! The first morning I met a young man that worked there, Harold Moore, the house man, and went out of his way to be sure that we had all the comforts we wished for. We shared several conversations and was a delight . He made us feel special.The house maid for our floor, Nett, was accommodating with extra shampoo and towels and making sure I was able to find my way around the complex. A real sweetheart. She took time to walk me to the ice machine and tips on where to go. Mary Anne was the overseer that seemed to be sure all ticked, and for us it did. Krystal, at the front desk, was on top of things for us, to be sure we got the room for the promised price, and the restaurant was was great to work with for morning coffee and breakfast that I took to the room. They even down priced the coffee when I returned to get a pot after paying full for a cup earlier. And they kept the lower price for the rest of the stay.
A review complained about the valet parking. Gosh, that is the greatest thing ever anywhere. Tip the guy a couple of bucks for retrieving the car and you know its been safe all night. Whats the problem? We rented a Corvette and, yes, they love to park it, but so what? They smile and make you love the experience.
In Vegas, as anywhere, the people are human and have bad days or bad moments, just like me in my work day, but generally they want to be helpful and if you treat them with respect and not like you deserve gold treatment, then you GET gold treatment. We loved the place, and will be there again for sure.
They had no issue with us for the food in the room. They just don't want it damaged. You treat it like you would your home and they treat you like a friend.
Yes, the resort price add on was there. Big deal. They have to qualify funds like I do at work. Some places in the room would not connect to the internet, but it worked out. I have been treated with far less respect at the Monte Carlo, and that room was no better. At the Luxor, we were just a number. Polo was great, but the balcony was an industrial view.
Thank you, Rumor, for the trip we really needed and another Vegas trip that was much more than it started out being!

Room Tip: Ask the help for advise and tell them what you desire. I think they will try to help. They did for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Siegel Experience. I will let Harold, Crystal,and Maryann know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at Rumor are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night with a friend. I thought it was very nice. The rooms are very trendily decorated, and ours was spotless. Bed was comfortable. I liked that it was off of the main drag because it was a bit quieter and easy to drive to. I thought the service was great, any little thing we asked for they did for us right away, very helpful and accomodating. I also appreciate that it is dog friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am always happy to hear when we have impressed our guest with Siegel Experience . We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the not too distant future.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

So i had to write a reveiw of Rumor even though i have not stayed there...Im planning a trip in march to Vegas and seen the rates on line so i decided to call and make a reservation last week. The women that answered the phone VERY Rude says: "Hello? ya, Rumor hotel." then i paused. She didnt give me a name or anything! So then i said: Yes, i was looking on line and would like a reservation please. She states back "well, Im ready!" "since you looked on line you must know what suite you want, so give me the dates and is your credit card number ready!?" All of this in a very rude tone, almost as if she was yelling at me. I could not believe it. So i hung up. To say she should not be working in customer service is an understatement.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for comment, I must admit that I was very surprised to read your review as this is not typical as to the reservation service we provide.

Please accept my apology and trust I will share with our reservation department.


Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed one night, which was more than enough. The rooms are quite stylish, and they did a nice job of re modeling an obvious older property.

Off the strip, and the location was not that good. Lots of questionable people wandering the streets all day and night. Only about 20 parking spaces for self parking, or you get stuck with valet parking. (and the young valet that we had backed up our rental car at warp speed to get it to us)

Despite several times telling the front desk that the internet absolutely wouldn't connect in the room, nothing was done. When I asked that their $13++ nightly resort fee be adjusted due to no internet in the room, Greg at the front desk told me NO, as it also includes the two bottles of water in the room and the valet parking.

Never have I had to sign at check in that I would not steal the towels, would check out on time, and best of all, that I would not bring any food or beverage (including alcohol) into the building. Must give you a clue as to their clientele.

As soon as you get into the lobby, there is an awful strong perfume odour that lingers on your clothes for hours.

Nice rooms, but not much else to offer. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time post your stay with us! I value all reveiw whether Positive or area for improvement.

I am sorry to hear of your trouble with our internet, and will most certainly share your comments regarding valet with our management team.

Have a Great Day
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumor Hotel

Also Known As:
St Tropez All Suite Hotel
Address: 455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Paradise , The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#120 Top resorts Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumor Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly St. Tropez, the hotel had become a relic amidst new developments. Today, it is re-imagined as the new RUMOR Hotel. Located where Paradise meets Harmon, directly across the street from the famed Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, the area is now home to some of the best bars, restaurants, nightclubs and gaming in the city. RUMOR embodies a powerful combination: chic, hot location, cool pool, zero attitude, modern rooms and unexpected amenities all in a boutique hotel setting. Featuring 150 suites, many featuring patios or private balconies, the two-story intimate hotel and resort does away with the impersonal casino lobby and instead opts for a cool ultra-lounge welcome with concierge-style check-in. Once checked-in to the room, guests are met with fantastic views of the swaying palms, distinctive wet-deck, the sparkling pool, seductive cabanas and the distinctive grassy knoll featuring both hammocks for the day and a DJ stage for night. While other hotels might have conference centers and ballrooms, RUMOR will use its unbelievable large courtyard and pools for amazing parties, fashion shows, corporate buy-out events and provide the perfect spot for couples wanting weddings with a twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rumor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.