We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay-cation!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rumor Hotel to your Saves list
Rumor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
1 review
“Great stay-cation!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Decided to have a baby free night with my boy friend and was recommended to stay at Rumor by two food friends of mine. Booked online. To stay one night during the week was a total of $66.
Room is great. The decor was nice. The bed was big and comfy. The tub was to die for. I took a bath as soon as I checked in.the rain shower was also nice. Only thing I didn't enjoy about the room was it had a funny smell when I checked in. Also the air conditioner was remote controlled yet the buttons had no words so you just has to guess at what you were doing. It also never really got cool in the room even when set at 60. I am someone who needs to have the room freezing in order to sleep comfortably.
I liked that they had a good selection of channels and there are free adult movies for those that interested :)
Didn't get to experience the pool since I was only there one night and checked in sort of late but the area was beautiful. Loved that they have hammocks and out door seating area.
All of the staff were very friendly and happy except for one of the valet guys. It was 3 in the morning when I encountered him so maybe he was just tired.
Loved my night at Rumor. I would definitely stay again.next time I will bring my own personal fan to keep cool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    140
    71
    61
    68
See reviews for
19
212
47
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a three night stay at Rumor. Overall the experience was very pleasant, but I'm not sure we will return unless we get a very good deal.

This was not our first stay, and we returned both because it is dog friendly, and because we both like the ambiance of the place. Although it is across the street from the very noisy Hard rock and near an airline landing strip the place still feels very tranquil and very un-Vegas.

The well manicured grassy areas with cute stepping stones and the pool area, complete with (free!) cabanas looks much more like a mid century Palm Springs swim club than a Vegas hotel, and the rooms and lobby are the lovechild of Hollywood Regency and European modernism (Phillipe Starke chairs and bold chandeliers). There are also hammocks spread throughout the grounds and plenty of outdoor seating, which is nice.

Unfortunately, there were a few problems.

First, I feel the rooms looked much better during our last visit a year ago; the bathtub had several nicks of paint missing, which made it look old, there was a small stain on our white bedding, and nobody vacuumed after the last people left.. (our dog found several bobby pins, a blue button, and a pill of some sort on the floor, all of which we had to take away from him )

Next, while polite, I don't feel that the staff feels compelled to offer exceptional customer service.
The website advertised a free T-shirt, but we had to ask for it even though the stack was right behind the front desk agent, and we booked the "yappy friendly package" which advertised the rooms would come with dog bowls. When we arrived, there were no bowls, which would not have been a problem, except we didn't bring any and after a 41/2 hour drive from LA the poor little guy was THIRSTY. We called and asked for some to be sent, then an hour and a half later called again and finally received them, with no apology.

On the pet note, I understand that we cannot reasonably expect maid service with a pet in the room, but at no point during the 3 night stay were new towels left at our door, or shampoo & conditioner, etc. (it wasn't even offered, I had to go down to the front desk and ask; again not a big deal but considering how many people bring dogs, the hotel should either call the rooms to see whats needed, or just bring it, or maybe have a little post it form that can be placed on the door with a "please leave" checklist...

The pool, as I mentioned, is great. That is, except when the super crappy techno party music is blaring. I was there on a Tuesday morning, and when the music started the other couple that had been relaxing in cabana left right away, and we made it about ten minuted before the music got way too annoying... I understand it on a weekend, or whenever there's a big group at the pool, to enhance the party atmosphere, but seriously, if three people are laying out reading, it might not be the right time for it. On the flipside of that, they let us use the jacuzzi at like 3 am, which more than made up for the terrible daytime music.

Finally, the TV had a child lock on it, so anything rated over TVG needed a password, which we were not successful in guessing. (oddly enough, the exception to this was porn, which we noticed flipping through channels was one of like 3 shows the TV let us watch... weird) I called the front desk about this the first night there, and we were told someone could fix it in the morning. This didn't happen, so we waited at the front desk and again explained the situation, to be promised again that it would be fixed. It never was. No apology, no explanation, no TV.

Other than that, the only thing that really really bugged me was that we went to an expensive restaurant and I wanted to bring back my delicious leftovers to finish in the room, but couldn't; having remembered the "no outside food or drink" clause we signed... What is the point of this rule? The on site tapas menu is only until 11 pm, so basically we cannot eat anything after 11pm without needing to go eat in the car? I don't think any hotel claiming to be a "resort" should have such an insulting policy. Also the "deluxe suite" doesn't even have a mini bar, which was odd...

Despite the negative points, we still had a pretty great time; I'd definitely suggest checking out the neon Kiss mini golf next door if you decide to stay here, very cheesy but fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent a week here when visiting Vegas to participate in the ET Midnight marathon that was hosted by the Hard Rock hotel across the street. We chose Rumor because it offered a quiet alternative to the HRH (which is very loud!) and was close enough to walk to easily the morning after the big race - with aching legs!
The decor is quite lovely - rich purple and white although it is clear that this is a refurbished building - a few rough edges where the true age of the building shows. The room was exactly what the photos from the site showed - great linens, towels, very comfy bed and a beautiful pool area. Staff were friendly and helpful and we even got a note from housekeeping thanking us for the tip each day.
We were invited to use the pool at any hour (even though it was only officially open 9am - 9 pm) and that was nice since we took advantage of it in the morning when there were few people around. Lots of towels provided and very nice cabanas for lounging out of the sun - with privacy, fridges and sound systems. During the evenings there was typically a 'pool party' atmosphere and several nights it got quite loud but the rooms were sound-proof - we didn't hear a thing - would suggest a room that does not face the pool if you want to be sure it is quiet.
The location is about 1.5 miles from the strip - directly east of Planet Hollywood - the on-line maps don't seem to locate it correctly. It is an easy walk to the strip - but not in heels! There is a convenience mall across the street - a pharmacy (with some grocery options, booze), several restaurants (sushi, Johnny Rockets, sandwich place, Bavarian place) if you want to avoid the HRH noise. Rumor has an onsite bar and restaurant but we didn't eat or drink there - it is in an open area of the lobby and felt very exposed. Seemed to attract a younger crowd looking to hook up - they did have some happy hour type offerings that seemed popular - just not our thing.
Downsides - had to ask for housekeeping 2/6 nights we stayed there - they didn't seem to know we were there - missed our room - but the desk did provide replacement toiletries and fresh towels on the second night after we complained. The staff never did replace the right number of towels - so we didn't get facecloths or hand towels to replace the ones removed - minor inconvenience and we didn't bother complaining any more.
The rooms are cooled by in-room air conditioners and while the noise was not too bad, it just simply could not keep the room reasonable (never got to 85 degrees) even with the drapes drawn all day. It dripped a lot and we did notice that the hallways and lobby were very cool but the room definitely was hot and the air conditioner seemed over-worked.
There is nothing in the room that outlines the hotel amenities - like pool hours, where the ice machines are, TV channels. There is a menu listing - but a few pages on other services would be nice.
Despite these factors - I rated it 4/5 because it was a really good value for what it cost us, the room was lovely and the hotel felt (and looked) like an oasis. Loved the pool.

Room Tip: Pool view for fun, party time. Outside room for quiet - even with party going on, our outside room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was placed here by a timeshare company who wanted my money. However, I was more impressed with this hotel (Rumor) than I was with the reason I visited Vegas. My stay was 3days & 2 nites, very pleasant atmosphere, staff were very nice and helpful when asked questions. The decor is very trendy with a white theme throughout the hotel. I ordered room service each day from Addiction and was very pleased with the taste, price and serving size of the food. I ate once in the small restuarant area (Addiction) which was very clean and comfortable. Being a solo dinner is never fun because servers tend to forget about you, but Addiction service was very good and the servers were very accomodating. The hotel is also next to a few chain eateries and a neighborhood store. Overall, my stay at Rumor was very pleasant and quiet. I gave a 4 because when housekeeping came in to tidy the room, they forgot to replace the washclothes; however, no major deal because by the time I noticed I getting ready to depart and I usually bring my own just in case. Last note, the parking lot is very small, so valet parking is pretty much your only option. There is no charge for valet parking, but you should always tip the hard working college students for parking your car in 107 degree Vegas heat. I plan on coming back again. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I heard that this hotel was recently renovated, had new management, and is dog friendly, so I decided to give it a shot than my usual dog friendly establishment in Henderson. Upon arrival, the dogs and I were treated like royalty when I pulled up the valet. The staff was extremely professional, friendly, and polite and made our stay very easy. The hotel itself was older but I believe someone was telling me they did a bunch of upgrades. The layout of the hotel was simple and reminded me of the show, Melrose Place. The Valet (kudos to Tyler I believe) was very helpful as he brought in all my stuff (including two huge dog kennels) to my room. My room was a suite (I think they all are) and had 2 TVs, sitting area, excellent shower, and a huge California king for the dogs and I to relax in. This review would have received 5 stars if the room had a refrigerator. I was actually surprised they did not have one and I hope management looks into this and gets them in rooms in the very near future. My stay was extremely relaxing, the dogs loved the little dog area, and it was perfect for me because it was so dog friendly. I ordered room service once and it was one of the better cheeseburgers I had in a while. Centrally located right off the strip (across the street from the Hard Rock) this is a nice little gem in the desert to get away to. At night, they even had some excellent acoustic entertainment along with an art show which was a nice twist. I will definitely stay here again; as I was surprised we found this gem in the desert. I couldn't ask for a better hotel experience with the assistance of a professional staff.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a dog friendly hotel in Las Vegas this is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked only one night at Rumor, as we were only in town for one and a half a day. The rate was reasonable. The decor is modern and the hotel is decorated well. Upon check in, the desk was under staffed, and the wait in line was too long. Although our clerk did apologize several times, it doesnt fix the issue- Opposed to 3 valets outside parking cars. We were accommodated nicely in regards to a small Uhaul trailer we were hauling. The only issue we had with our room, was upon running a bath, and getting in-learning our jetted tup did not jet. At this point, there is only so much you can do, get out and postpone the bath, and call or be disappointed. The only other issue occurred at check out-we had an addition $30 added to our bill, upon checking, it was someone elses breakfast order. So that was removed. This hotel, although shiny, and hip-- is just average, and lack luster. Good concept- its just missing the mark.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our tubs are only soaking tubs unfortunately and do not provide the jetted experience that you were looking for. We’re glad we were able to clear up the billing error for you. We hope to have you back as I think we can prove to you that we are very much so on the mark. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

As a Las Vegas local, Rumor is my go-to hotel for staycations. I absolutely LOVE the property- the rooms are gorgeous, the pool is relaxing, and the food and drinks are amazing.
The rooms are great- modern style decor, rain showers, tubs, very nice. The pool is very nice, with great daybeds and cabanas. The food at Addiction is great- everything on the tapas menu is to die for, and the bartenders are always wonderful!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the best- I would recommend the deluxe room over the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Rumor Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind review! We appreciate our locals and LOVE the feed back you provided. We are always providing local discounts and encourage you to come to our events on Wednesday & Thursday! Hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumor Hotel

Address: 455 E. Harmon Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89169
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly St. Tropez, the hotel had become a relic amidst new developments. Today, it is re-imagined as the new RUMOR Hotel. Located where Paradise meets Harmon, directly across the street from the famed Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, the area is now home to some of the best bars, restaurants, nightclubs and gaming in the city. RUMOR embodies a powerful combination: chic, hot location, cool pool, zero attitude, modern rooms and unexpected amenities all in a boutique hotel setting. Featuring 150 suites, many featuring patios or private balconies, the two-story intimate hotel and resort does away with the impersonal casino lobby and instead opts for a cool ultra-lounge welcome with concierge-style check-in. Once checked-in to the room, guests are met with fantastic views of the swaying palms, distinctive wet-deck, the sparkling pool, seductive cabanas and the distinctive grassy knoll featuring both hammocks for the day and a DJ stage for night. While other hotels might have conference centers and ballrooms, RUMOR will use its unbelievable large courtyard and pools for amazing parties, fashion shows, corporate buy-out events and provide the perfect spot for couples wanting weddings with a twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rumor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Tropez All Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.