We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset House Motel

Save Saved
You added Somerset House Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset House Motel
294 Convention Center Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Paradise)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Mariposa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

This is not a fancy motel, but when in Las Vegas, we spend very little time in our room. It's an easy walk to the Strip. We found the room large and clean, with a small kitchen. The staff is very friendly. Built in the early 1960s, it is like an older house, somewhat dated in furnishings, but quite serviceable. We will stay here again when in Las Vegas, as the rate is a bargain and it's close to everything.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No coffee maker in room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
4
6
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed at the Somerset for 4 nights in March 2008. It is an easy walk to the strip, an easy walk to the convention center (and monorail), an easy walk to a good car rental place (Brooks). The Venetian and the Palazzo and the Wynn are all a 15 minute walk away. Same for the Fashion Show Mall. The other places on the strip can be reached by monorail or bus or a walk if you like.

The proprietors are fantastic and they give you personal service, the rooms are not modern but you get a stove, microwave and a fulll size fridge. No internet though, that would have been nice but it's ok without it.

Check in was a breeze, check out was a breeze. The place was quiet but not too far away from things. We sat in the lobby and talked with the desk clerks like they were old friends.

You can stay at one of those over priced joints on the strip or you can stay here and save a hundred bucks or more a day. No question about it, I'd stay here again.

One warning, avoid the Greek Casino joint across the street, at least avoid the restaurant- the food was lousy and the service even worse.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDAHO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We have been coming to Las Vegas for 10 years now....well 2002 we didn't go. The first year we had to go through an agency to book a room and they swore they only work with the best. They didn't the place was a dump! Year 2 we stayed at a motel somewhat better than year 1 but not much...YEAR 3 and every year after has been at Somerset! We love the location, the staff are wonderful people, and the rooms ARE ALWAYS CLEAN!! So if someone says their room was dirty I will call them a liar...the place is old and because it is old they work harder to keep things clean in their rooms and they all go out of their way to make sure you don't want for anything..these people really and honestly care about their customers. Its right off the strip so you are within walking distance to anywhere you want to go..its perfect.
If you want fancy then go someplace else as this is not. Its a nice clean place to crash, shower, dress and run. We usually get a room with a kitchen so we eat at least 1 meal there, the rest of our time is spent checking out whats new, visiting friends and family in and around the Vegas area.
So you decide as for me and mine we stay at Somerset...

  • Liked — location #1 friendly staff#2price#3
  • Disliked — if room is by elevator, its loud!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

The hotel was really cheap, and only a block or so away from the Las Vegas Convention Center. It was the perfect place to stay and be in walking distance to work.

The staff was really friendly and helpful.

The hotel is obviously really old, but it has been well maintained. The rooms were really clean, and mine even had a kitchen. The only drawback that I saw was that there are no irons, and no alarm clocks in the rooms. It's also about an 8 minute walk to the monorail station that takes you to the strip in about 5 minutes.

I will stay there again on my next trip!

  • Liked — cheap, close to convention center
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

This hotel/motel was great. perfect for low budget stays. i enjoyed it alot with my family. my kids and i really loved the pool, and the fact that it is not very far away from the strip. the wallgreens, ross, dennys nearby made it easy for me and my family to get the things we needed. it is a very great motel and i will stay there whenever i have to go to vegas. i give the somerset motel a 5 star ratting. probably nothing like the hilton, or the other fancy hotels, but beats the price of $100.00 (USD) and up. it is very great place.

  • Liked — The Pool, and the little laundry
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

Are you people serious? I would not take my worst enemy here. We were actualy afraid to touch anything . We unfortunately arrived at 1:00 am and had no where else to go. This the dirtiest, dingiest dive that I have ever been in. Was'nt expecting anything glitzy or fancy but clean would have been nice. We slept for one hour and left. If you are expecting Red Roof Inn quality, or similar, you will be greatly disappointed in this place. Have never left a trip advisor review before but felt the need to warn other travelers. Do not stay here!!!!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

There is a bar next to one side of the motel that plays loud music until 12:30 am (or it did so when we stayed there Saturday night 3/24/07). Their AC was down on the third floor we reserved; we had the option of 1st floor AC or 3rd floor no AC - we chose 3rd floor to avoid upstairs noise but no one mentioned the bar with the music next door. The area is a little creepy. When we checked out the attendant must have taken offense when I said "We're checking out and we're here to pick up the $10 deposit for the key" b/c she made several rude comments about how she knew that and "here's your oh so important $10." Geez. For one night in Vegas it's not worth saving $40 for terrible service in a questionable area. Look on Paradise Avenue - it's just a few blocks and much nicer places.

  • Liked — room rate
  • Disliked — creepy area
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somerset House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Motel

Address: 294 Convention Center Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Paradise , The Strip
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Motor Inn located 1 block from convention center or The Strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Somerset House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset House Hotel Las Vegas
Somerset Hotel Las Vegas
Somerset Motel Las Vegas
Somerset House Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.