We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 80s called...they want their pickled oak cabinets back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Hughes Center Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #91 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“The 80s called...they want their pickled oak cabinets back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While serviceable and clean, this Residence Inn is in desperate need of renovations in the rooms. The lobby area has been redone in the past few years but the rooms have mostly original hard goods - whitewashed oak cabinets with doors that don't close fully, lots of almond tile and cheap counters, with only flat screen TVs as evidence that any updating has ever been done.

While the look is dated and boring, the service is also in need of a makeover. There's a "manager's reception" on Mondays, Tuesdays and off Wednesdays that serves a bland rotation of burgers, hot dogs (honestly) and tacos, with an equally bland, humorless person standing in the serving well pouring beer and wine with a tip jar oh-so-conveniently spread out in front of her. In the 45 days I stayed, I was greeted by name zero times and greeted generically by the front desk about three times. When I checked out, the service maintained its 100% indifference, not even knowing or caring if I had need for more nights at the place.

There was a time when Marriott prided itself on its core hospitality values. These days, there are no differentiating features and no compelling reasons to select this hotel over others. For about the same price, you can get a better Marriott experience at the SpringHill Suites across from the convention center. For half the price, you can get greeted almost daily by the staff at the Candlewood Suites across the street, and stay in a room that was renovated only a few months ago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany L, General Manager at Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Denver Brian,

We appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel and the service that you received during your stay. I would like to mention that all of the hotel's public spaces which include the lobby were renovated within the past year. Last year, new quartz counter tops and stainless steel refrigerators were installed in approximately a quarter of the rooms. Additional improvements are being made this year and will continue until full renovations are completed in the guest rooms. Your comments regarding the service that you received have been shared with all of the associates to improve their performance. Service training is a continuous process here at the hotel as we strive to not only meet but exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We take great pride in demonstrating Marriott's service culture and sincerely regret that we did not personalize your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    35
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
35
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for a few years now. This particular stay concerns March 15-17. This property has everything. Free breakfast, free parking, free internet, quiet hotel for those that don't wish to get caught up in the party/nightlife of Las Vegas, wonderful staff, and usually a decent room rate. If you have any business or event to attend at UNLV, this is a good place to stay, as it is just down the road on Flamingo. On another note regarding the staff, my observation is that it's the same people working there stay after stay, and the time between stays for me here run from a couple weeks to six months, so that tells me the hotel is well run from a management level. The lobby and breakfast area was recently renovated. The guest rooms, while perfectly functional, could use a facelift as well, especially the bathroom area, as I can tell that they are slowly wearing as time goes by. Nevertheless, I plan on going to Vegas next month, and guess where I plan to stay? That's right, at this hotel. This place is one solid property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughesCenterGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear California Cameron,

Thank you for your review of the hotel which highlights our service. We appreciate that you recognize the same hotel associates on your repeated stays. Fifty percent of the hotel associates have more than 10 years of individual service with Marriott with many of those years having been spent here at this hotel. As you mentioned we did renovate the public space of the hotel this past year and look forward to upcoming renovations of our guest rooms as well. Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. It's nice to get away from the Strip and get some quiet time. The hotel is close enough to the Strip to walk...about one mile...and a very short drive. The hotel was clean and the service was great. The rooms have kitchens which is nice. Breakfast was nice.
I have stayed here a few times now and would recommend if you don't mind a short drive or walk to the Strip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronneby, Sweden
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay outside the strip. Several good restaurants just outside your door and within walking distance (or a quick taxi ride) to the centre of the strip. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a small kitchen and bedroom separated from the main room. Free wifi internet and TV in both rooms. The usual American hotel amenities are there too - wash room, gym (although a rather limited one with very few dumbbells), pool but also tennis/basket court and free parking just outside the door. The A/C is a bit noisy - sensitive sleepers might find this disturbing. The breakfast is less than average with a very limited choice of bread. Continental style for the rest of it. The scrambled eggs are however excellent. Friendly staff and well sound proofed rooms makes this a comfy place to stay. The also provides a free evening buffet (very limited but free) some nights of the week. Recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms with the lowest numbers on each floor seems to be furthest away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here for a conference at the LVCC (which by the way is a 20 minute direct walk away). I stayed with my wife and 2 kids. We had a fantastic 2 bedroom suite (lots of room for all of us).

The good things: the breakfast was really good, included in the price too. A great location, 10 minutes walk from the strip, 20 minutes from the convention center. Free parking. A really nice modern building but here's the best thing ... NO SLOT MACHINES, NO CASINO, SO SMOKING. Yahoo!, what a change compared to most Vegas hotels. Right next to the hotel was a brew pub and Bahama Breeze, so there were 2 great places to eat at night within a 1 minute walk. I am a Silver Elite Marriott member and for our last night we were using points, so they kindly allowed us to stay in the same room even though our points only entitled us to a smaller room. They were great. We were there in January and the pool was fully open; there was a fantastic hot tub and a reasonably warm main pool too.

Bad things: the hotel is on the edge of a sketchy part of town where I was hassled a couple of time by hobos while parking my car at the hotel. However please note it was very safe and I didn't feel threatened. Also I asked the hotel to replace the poolside towels because there were none left and they didn't bother (24 hours later there were still no towels). Also we phoned down to reception to get an extra blanket for the room and it never showed up.

Overall, when I next stay in Vegas for a conference or for business I will stay here. Way better than the casino hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As we checked in we were warmly greeted by Blanca at the front desk and got us a corner room away from elevator as we had requested. It is so refreshing to walk in the lobby without smelling that nasty cigarete smell that clings to your body for several hours. Our room was cleaned on a timely manner...bed very comfortable.....Buffet was adequate...we didn't find a 24hr coffee service at the lobby like the other Residence Inn...several good restaurant within 5min walk and a Starbucks across the parking lot....the only disappointment we had was the hotel did not have a recycling container.... so we took home all the recyclable since we drove to Vegas...also we didn't find any Vegas brochure in the room...our surprise find was the swap meet on North Las Vegas Bl....apprx 15min drive from the strip...overall our stay at the Residence Inn Hughes Center was great....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We checked in, and had water running in the toilet, as we headed out,someone was to go up and fix it. Several hours later, at 9:30 PM, I talked to the front desk, and they were up fixing it immediately, and it was fixed this time. Next morning I left a note, asking for several things that should have been in the room, and asked for another repair, and clean air filters and air ducts. When we returned after work, all were taken care of. Unfortunately, we were not left coffee (a morning necessity), and the front desk would not get us any regular, as it wasn't at their desk. They did tell me they would ask for more to be left in the room next day. The room could have been cleaner, drips down the front of the cupboards, dirty dishes, dirty air ducts and filters, empty packaging from previou guest, but we will be staying a month or so,so I cleaned what I could.
Hopefully housekeeping will get better. The breakfast was better than average, and the evening social too. We'll see.

Room Tip: higher floors for best views of the strip lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center

Address: 370 Hughes Center Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite hotel with residential type accommodations; located two miles from LAS airport, one mile east of the Strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.