We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold City” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Station Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Station Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Palace Station Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 W Sahara, Las Vegas, NV 89102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Mold City”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Please beware of the mold in this place. If you stay in the courtyard rooms go in the bathroom and look at the black mold in the corners. Peel back a small piece of the wall paper and you'll find more mold. Wanna see eve more? Go to you tube and search for videos by kalboziggy. These videos will show the disgust of this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    411
    297
    146
    227
See reviews for
200
425
148
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

It's off the strip. You'll see mostly locals and you will leave the casino smelling like smoke. As a matter of fact I could smell the smoke from my room. The restaurants in the hotel were very pricey and there are few options outside the hotel in close distance-walking distance.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Easy access to I-15 with adjacent interchange, and free parking garage on the west side of the property with covered entry to main building near the hotels front desk. Tower room was very nice and clean with a large television. Only down side was the "RESORT FEE" which was almost half of my room charge and that was without using or having to add the INTERNET USE FEE which when combined the two fees with taxes would have exactly doubled my one night base room charge....consider yourself warned! This property seemed to have a large ratio of "local traffic" vs. travelers in both the gaming area and restaurants.

Room Tip: Tower rooms upper levels will offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am usually pretty forgiving of economical lodging especially in Vegas, but the Palace Station is one of the worst hotels I've ever experienced. We stayed because of their surprisingly fantastic oyster bar and my penchant for playing bingo both of which were at this hotel. We wanted an affordable and low stress getaway.

The resort fee issue is a big problem, but the travel sites I visited warned me about this in advance. All we ended up using though is the Internet; the "gym" is part of the their low-end "courtyard" and there were so many suspect characters hanging out in the halls of that section that I was actually scared to venture much further to check out the gym. So it is very misleading to call it a resort. So if you like to use a nice fitness center, this is not the place for you. They don't even have it listed in their directory of guest services.

My main issue was with the horrible stale smell of smoke and lack of proper ventilation in our non-smoking room. The room reeked of smoke, and it made me sneeze the whole time, made my eyes and nose burn, and made me feel light-headed. Our bed was oddly situated with the head of the bed close up against a window surrounded by drapes. The drapes were full of the smoke. It was so bad I had to sleep with my head at the foot of the bed to avoid sneezing constantly. The bed is horribly uncomfortable too. My spouse and I kept rolling toward the sagging center of the bed. Although it was nice to snuggle in such an unexpected fashion, it took a bit of effort to escape from the sagging center of the bed when we awoke.

We were going to leave and find another hotel (which I've hardly ever had to do), but all decent hotels were booked because of the holiday weekend. The staff at the desk did try and help by providing an ionizer machine to filter out the smoke, but it did no good. And they could only switch me to a similar room. Given that the the whole floor reeked of smoke, I figured that switching would do little good.

If you travel a lot on business and are used to the basic amenities and fresh hotel room air provided by chains like the Marriott, Hilton, or even Holiday Inn Express, skip this hotel. Find one of those or upgrade to the Bellagio or another nice, true resort hotel. The "savings" is not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Palace Station. I admit I had my concerns, especially after my daughter, who had checked in prior to me, texted me and told me to bring my own pillows.
My concerns were un warranted, as were my pillows. Good news bad news.... there is lodging available in the "courtyard" rooms and the towers. AVOID the courtyard rooms at all cost. These rooms are VERY affordable, but resemble a Hostel. Great for teams and those who may be a bit less respectful of the property.
I however stayed in the towers. The rooms were nice size, lots of counterspace, great lighting and comfortable beds and pillows. The halls were quiet and I felt safe. The Palace Station had a GREAT coffee shop with wonderful, food, staff and prices. If you ate between 12:00 and 6:00 am they had a special menu with a yummy New york steak and eggs for $4.99. Cant beat that. The Banana, coconut, maccademia nut pancakes are a must to try and enough to share @9.99. The gift shop had a great selection and was very affordable.
I have been to Vegas more times than I can count and the Palace Station had the best return on slot play I have ever experienced. The location right of Sahara makes for easy access with no need to go down Las Vegas Blvd, which is usually a grid lock. All in all I would deffinelty stay at this propert again.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in the Courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

01/29/13

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel & Casino. This time we did have a better room but they are still charging $16.00 for the pool, gym and shuttle to the airport, none of which we used. They did away with the free wifi. Wifi is now $ for 24 hours and $$ for 48 hours. Mc Donalds has better wifi.

The first day there we had a ham steak skillet breakfast at Palace Station Cafe, it had a nice big piece of ham. The next day we went back for another ham steak, this time the ham was small and should have been cut up to put in omelets. It did not look good at all. One night we went to the Palace Station Steakhouse. The soup & salad bar was very good, the bread on the table was tasty, my steak also was very good but the veg's were cold, the broccoli was so OVER cooked you could hardly tell what it was, maybe left over from the day before, carrots were room temperature and hard. Now the best place there to eat was the Palace Station Buffet. The food was hot and to my satisfaction. Lots to choose from. The only thing is I eat too much at buffets.

I am sorry to say next time I am going to shop around.

Cap & Virginia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had to line up at the reception for half an hour, til I could check in, after being very exhausted.
from the trip there

In that time someone stole my newest electronic toy (500$)!

I had to report it to the securities, who had a very disgusting behaviour, took my id and refised givin it back at first.
the room looked great, but had a disgusting smell, even tho it looked clean.

Their employees are creedy and expect 10$ tips.
I planed 2 days but left the hotel and the city the next day for good, as a consequence to my experience there.
It is far away from everything and you need a 15$ taxi ride in order to get to the center, but taxis can be hard to find there.
the front is verry pretentious, but I was stuffed in a room in the rear house, was very hard to find, as they gave me kind of a map, instead of showing me the map.
NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Station Hotel and Casino

Address: 2411 W Sahara, Las Vegas, NV 89102
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Station Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel & Casino designed to evoke the atmosphere of a turn-of-the century train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palace Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Station Hotel Las Vegas
Palace Station Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Station Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.