We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added The Orleans Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 W Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89103 (Paradise)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Vegas Fun Special
Ranked #26 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Nikau
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spacious room, great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm not overly familiar with Las Vegas and was a little wary about booking into an 'off-Strip' hotel, but the proximity to family and price ($36/night) convinced me to give the Orleans a whirl for 4 nights. Fantastic choice. The decor is a little tired (lots of fleur de lis' and brass bedsteads) but I slept sooo well in my far-from-the-elevator room, and was delighted with the space. Not only two queen beds but a sofa, armchair, coffee table and desk.

At the price I paid I expected no extras and received none. Internet access was an additional $7.99 for 24 hrs for the 'slow' version - which was fine for my needs. Free wi-fi is available in the coffee shop downstairs though. My one room service meal from the extensive menu was quite good and very reasonably priced - they didn't burn you with exorbitant surcharges. TV channel selection wasn't superb - no HBO or other premium channels. The casino itself was cavernous and old-style. Quite fun - I loved the oysters at Big Al's and the breakfast buffet was actually very good for considerably cheaper than at other venues.

Did I miss the Strip action? Not at all. Here's what I discovered about LV: There's ample free parking at all casinos on the Strip and Fremont. Inebriated driving is severely frowned upon, however, so make use of the free shuttle from the Orleans if that's going to be an issue. Access into the Orleans was extremely straightforward - no negotiating heavy Strip traffic unless I chose to. And I was glad to have a rental car to pick up supplies at Albertsons down the road and hit the Red Rock Canyon.

I highly recommend dropping less than $50 a night to stay at the Orleans and saving those pennies for other LV pursuits ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,091 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,990
    1,441
    409
    171
    80
See reviews for
750
1262
307
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from our second time staying at The Orleans. Can't fault it. Close enough to the strip (free shuttle or a ten dollar taxi) and staffed by the friendliest people you ever wished to meet. Personal favourites are Ricky the pit boss, Michelle the bingo addict dealer and Erica who serves the best vodka and cranberry juices ever. Eaten in most of the eateries on offer and never had a bad meal. Comps are good, and close enough to the Irish pub for those people who want to catch the English football games. Can't wait to go back and will be looking to stay at The Orleans again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After spending 2 nights at Paris, I moved to the Orleans for an additional 4 nights. I find off-strip properties such as the Orleans provide better service, cheaper food and rooms and better gambling odds.
I checked in around 10pm on Friday night and I must have gotten too much sun while hiking around Red Rock canyon most of the day because I fell asleep right away so I did not do any gambling on Friday night.
The rooms at the Orleans are larger than most basic strip hotel rooms. They include a separate sitting area with a couch, coffee table and chair. The beds are very comfortable and the bath rooms are much larger than average and also provide a small window that opens to allow fresh air in. They include a standard shower/tub combination.
I attended Dana Carvey performance on Saturday night. I didn’t think he was anything special. I hit the blackjack tables after the show and playing between $15 - $30 a hand, I won $500 although it took 5 hours to do it. The dealers at the Orleans are always very friendly to everyone. They make $5 bettors feel as welcome as $25 bettors and are very helpful to new players.
On Sunday it Super Bowl party time. They had several parties throughout the casino and all had great drink specials and specials on your usual bar-type foods. I ended up winning $205 altogether but lost $300 at the tables before the night was over. I did have a once-in-a-lifetime experience while playing video poker at the bar. I was playing Deuces Wild and after holding 3 2’s, I got the 4th deuce for $250. On the very next hand, I was dealt 4 Deuces for another $250. I played for several more hours and received great drink service without losing any of the $500 I won.
Monday night I attended a Wranglers hockey game that is right at the Orleans arena. This is a great way to enjoy a night for $25. I had great seats and enjoyed the game.
The Orleans has some very good and affordable restaurants. I always go to the Mexican restaurant every trip for shrimp fajitas. For $15 you get more food than you can eat and I love the fresh chips and dips provided at the table. Al’s Oyster Bar is also a super place for a great lunch. I had the jambalaya and for a lunch portion it was very large but lots of flavor. They will adjust the spice level to each individual.
The coffee shop is above average and scores points with me for its late night specials. I tried the steak and eggs for $4.99 and it was excellent.
They also have a T.G.I. Fridays, Fuddruckers and Sbarro for cheap eats. I have had the buffet on a couple different visits and to me it is nothing special so I choose to skip it this trip.
The Orleans is about a mile off the strip behind New York – New York but there are shuttle buses that come by every 20 minutes to take you to Bally’s on the strip and if you rent a car, it is only a few minutes ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My son and I went to the Orleans for dinner at the TGI Fridays. In the middle of our dinner, a very alarm started to sound off and an automated voice came over the speakers saying that the source of the alarm is being investigated and they will notify us once it has been identified. The alarm and the automated vvoice kept repeating for over 5 minutes straight. It was very loud. I was told by someone at the casino that this has been happening at least twice a night for over 2 weeks now for no good reason and it goes through the entire building. I dont think that is something I would appreciate while trying to sleep in my room considering this was around 10:30 at night. The alarm finally stopped, but no one ever went on the speakers to tell everyone what the cause of the alarm was. It was un-nerving.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed here 4 times! It might not be modern, but we are in it on average about 5 hours a day! Great price on room, wonderful choices for meals plus so many things to do. You can go bowling, visit the movie theater or swim, just to mention a few. The room is large, clean and has a comfortable bed. Have to say the maids do an excellent job! We also enjoy the free shuttle to Ballys and the strip. The last night we were there our shuttle driver was serenading us. Had a great time!! We will definitely stay again!!!! The only thing I can suggest is to update bathroom fixtures. Our sink did not have a working plug.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor. If you are on 9th or 10th the elevator ride is quick. We had new carpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katwes84
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved it our first time and when we go back we will stay here! Not stuck up and very laid back ! Look for the dealer Beaver... He's awesome! We cannot wait to go back . Food is great! Booze is great ! Poker and tables and slots are great

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I checked in and they informed me that the room that I reserved (2 queen beds ) was not available. I insisted because I needed the extra bed. They moved me to a handicap accessible room with a view of a concrete wall. The linens had hair & eyelashes all over pillows & sheets, obviously they did not change sheets, sink had foul odor. Needeless to say, first & last visit to the orleans.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your recent visit to The Orleans was disappointing. There are times when we cannot accommodate every request that our guests have; we only have so many rooms with 2 Queen beds and when a large event is in-house bed types can become an issue. We apologize that your room had issues, we will review those problems with our Executive Housekeeper so that changes can be made to prevent a similar problem from recurring. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orleans Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Address: 4500 W Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#17 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orleans Hotel & Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Orleans Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
The Orleans Hotel And Casino
Orleans Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Casino
New Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orleans Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.