We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great rooms, great casino.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Orleans Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 W Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89103 (Paradise)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Vegas Special
Ranked #35 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Norwalk, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great value, great rooms, great casino.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The rooms are exceptional. The casino has a bowling alley, movie theater, arcade, and gym. There is free wifi in the cafe. It is very close to the strip. The Pros: large clean elegant rooms, low prices (in our case comped), free wifi in cafe, great gym, a lot of activities as mentioned above. The cons: no bingo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    1,530
    453
    178
    84
See reviews for
825
1,362
335
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had been reading many reviews here and other places online about how great the Orleans Hotel & Casino were. I got a decent room rate for 2 nights, Friday 12/21 and Saturday 12/22.

After a long, trying trip from the Orange County, CA area, delayed by traffic locally and also on the Interstate due to 2 seperate accidents, we got there and checked in about 9:30pm. Front desk staff friendly and efficient. So far, so good. Things went slightly sideways from there....

We got checked into our room, 1471 (long walk from elevator but I expected this), on first cursory look, it seemed decent enough. Closer inspection though, showed the room's age. The furniture was scuffed and the edges worn. Wall paper peeling slightly in a few places. What bothered me most though, was there were large black scuff marks in quite a few places around the room. This was a housekeeping issue, not age type thing. Even an old room can be kept clean! But, the carpet and bedding were clean, so that's a plus. There was also a flat screen TV, so not sure if this room had been renovated or not... Also, in the bathroom the shower head was not the cleanest I've seen, with some white/green calcium build up on it. This could be remedied by soaking in CLR for a short time. Toilet when flushed was very loud. Burned out light bulb over the sink/mirror. These things should not be overlooked by the housekeeping staff. (well, the housekeepers can't do anything about the toilet in all fairness). My wife was not pleased so far.

We went downstairs and played some video poker. This made her a little happier as she was winning. The bartenders did an ok job of keeping our non alcoholic drinks flowing. However, at the players club desk (Called B Connected), one of the ladies there was not very friendly, and almost downright rude. She was that way 2 different times we dealt with her. Not very customer service oriented so far, after everything I've heard about how friendly everyone there is.

The next morning, we ate at the buffet, got the all day pass for $24. This is a good deal if you plan to eat there all day. The food was very good, and the omlets got a thumbs up from my wife. However, the server was not up to par, very slow clearing plates and getting refills for us.

Later in the evening, we played blackjack for 4 1/2 hours. The dealers were very hit or miss on their friendliness. Most of them were very friendly and outgoing. We had one however that just sucked the energy away from the table, and it had almost everyone, including ourselves, cashing out. She stepped to the table and did not say ONE WORD to anyone! That's just plain rude in my book. Being a dealer is a customer service position and this dealer needs some retraining I think. I normally tip either winning or losing, but I didn't tip very much while she was there! I'm sensing a theme of non friendly people here...

The next morning we slept in, got checked out and checked our bags so we could play some more. The bell desk staff gets 2 thumbs up as they are friendly and helpful. We played more video poker at one of the bars, the wife won more, which kept her happy. Happy wife, happy life, I always say!

Anyways, in closing, I think we would stay here again to give the staff another chance. I know it was very close to Christmas and everyone probably had a lot on their minds. They do need to step up the customer service training though...

The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the casino is a great value to people like us who search out favorable gaming conditions, and the buffet food is good.

I really, really wanted to love this place from the glowing recommendations I've read here, but can only like it at the moment...hopefully I will get some decent room offers to entice me back and make me love it...

Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk, ask for a room close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had our Expedia Christmas party, Food was great, Great service .
Room was big very clean, Great price , easy check in; Coffee shop was busy due to NRF , But GREAT SERVICE, & good breakfast . will stay again & recommend to friends & family as a great value off the strip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from our trip to Vegas! We really liked Orleans. We made our choice to stay there due to the value, family friendliness, and low resort fee.

Pros: Our flight got in pretty early. We received good service at the bell desk. Went for champagne brunch (pretty good buffet) We were checked in at 11:00 a.m. Which was great. We really had fun at the bowling alley. My son loved the arcade. We really like the vibe of the orleans. Our room was clean and nice. I recommend Fuddruckers for breakfast if you don't want to wait for the buffet to open at 8:00. Chocolate shop is yummy. Gift shop is nice. Prices for food are much better than on the strip.

Cons: location, location, location. If you mostly stay in the casino to gamble etc. and you don't want to head to the strip everyday it wouldn't matter so much, but we are more the see the sights and shop kind of Las Vegas vacationers. So we waited on the shuttle ALL the time. We knew this going in but really didn't realize how much time it was going to take up. If orleans was on the strip I would definitely stay there again. It is just too far off the strip for us. We also waited and waited on engineering to come and plunge our toilet. The second phone call when I said it had been 5 hours since my first, they rushed up there and plunged it in 2 seconds and all was good. That really wasn't an issue for us, it was more the location but that isn't their fault.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The rates at the Orleans are very cheap, but I still expected basic services. We were at the Orleans for a Division II College Basketball Tournament. Our room was very dated, but well maintained and relatively clean. However, the hotel was under renovation and on the third night of the stay, the hotel turned off the water without telling us that this was going to happen. I couldn't get a glass of water in the night and our friend, who became ill was unable to flush his toilet and the only alternative the person at the front desk gave him was to go to the bathroom in the casino. He spent three hours in that bathroom.

The spa was closed during our stay, but the hair salon still offered services. I paid $30 for one of the worst manicures I have ever gotten and had to endure the bad attitude of the woman who gave it.

Another couple staying with our group booked a room for the night before they were due to arrive because they were arriving early in the morning. Although, they explained this when they made the reservation and were willing to pay for the night before they arrived, there were no rooms available when they arrived. They were put in a room in the part of the hotel that was being renovated and had to endure the sound of drilling throughout the day, then loss of heat in the room at night.

Positives were that they didn't charge for valet parking or the fitness center. The fitness center was adequate for a good workout.

Room Tip: If you stay here, book a room on the 21st floor. It is nicer than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed following your visit. During your stay, we did have an emergency situation that necessitated shutting down the water to make repairs. I am so sorry that you had to contend with this and please extend our apologies to your friend who was ill. Regarding the closure of the spa, we were remodeling the men's side, and we are happy to report that is completed, and it looks better than ever. Again, our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Please feel free to contact our Front Office Manager to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The rooms are big & beautiful with all amenities, i.e. safe, coffee maker, blow dryer, etc. The rates are among the lowest in town but the quality is closer to the highest. Great restaurants, shows, shops. A huge poker room & casino. Movie theaters, bowling alleys, childrens' activities, senior discount days. Above all, a staff of people who make you feel truly welcome.

Room Tip: Be VERY nice to the front desk personnel, arrive as early as permissible & verbalize precisely y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We always stay at The Orleans when we go to Las Vegas and these are the reasons why: lots of choices for dining, large and clean rooms, great room prices, many five dollar blackjack tables, very courteous and friendly employees, many email offers for those who have a card, movie theaters, bowling alleys, large liquor store, super pool, super entertainment, free shuttle to the strip, and so many other reasons!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orleans Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Address: 4500 W Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#17 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#78 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orleans Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1885
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vegas.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orleans Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orleans Hotel And Casino
The Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Orleans Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Casino
New Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orleans Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.