We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called Bay Area Bay area...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New York - New York Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Should be called Bay Area Bay area...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2004

Stayed here, BEWARE. Ask for a room AWAY from the roller coaster......i thought i was back home in the bay area and we were having an earthquake.....Not bad for 219.00 per night.....NOT. Room was small and cramped.....would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,980
    4,114
    1,465
    419
    245
See reviews for
1,954
4,151
328
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,084)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2004

Consistently to Vegas at least four times a year, we've stayed at most (if not all) of the major resorts on the Strip as well as many of the hotels downtown. We recently stayed at NY-NY due to a great casino rate we were offered, but I can only say it was okay. The location is terrible - Near the end of the Strip and seems pretty far away to me from anything of interest. The rooms are EXTREMELY basic - even TI, Harrahs, or Golden Nugget are better. Not many "nice" dining options - More of a fast food atmosphere. Not much shopping at all, and everything is quite a walk. For the money, stay at Mirage, TI, Harrahs, or Golden Nugget.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2004

We stayed at NY, NY in December 2003 the week before Christmas. We stayed in a spa room in the Empire tower that we got on an awesome promotion over the internet. NY, NY is an ok hotel...it was pretty clean except for some nasty looking brownish black stuff on one of the window sills (looked like dried blood)...and the wallpaper above the windows was really falling off. The rest of the room was clean though.
The room was very spacious and the hot tub was great! One thing that bothered us was that noise from the hallway sounded almost like it was in the room and you could hear people in neighboring rooms...water running, muffled voices, tv, etc. I don't gamble but my husband lost more money in the NY, NY casino than at any other casino in Vegas. He won nothing there at all...playing primarily slots...so gamble at your own risk. Overall NY, NY was ok and we would probably stay there again, but we have stayed in much nicer accomodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2004

I thought this was a four star hotel. The room was nice and clean, but so are Super 8s. Had a nice view of the roof. Played in the consino for hours...PERKS?...no one even brought us drinks. The biggest complaint is they have timeshare salespeople by the elevators so you are harassed each time you atempt to go to or leave your room. HOW TACKY! Nice for kids, but if you are over 21 stay away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2004

Stayed here last October for 6 nights. Never been to Las Vegas and upon arriving at the hotel was absolutely amazed!! No queue for check in, very quick. Room was located in the last building which was a bit of a trek of a walk to the room - and although the room wasn't quite upto to what the website said - however was still good quality. Great location , amazing casino's , shops, cafe's etc in the actual hotel. Pool was Ok, jacuzzi baths were boiling hot!!! Lack of a bar around the pool though.Good location, breakfast Ok, but other places better. Did quick checkout by dropping room key and card into box, glad we did as queue to check out was enormous. Overall may stay there again but would definitely go back to Vegas- FANTASTIC!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2004

We stayed here last April at the start of our Honeymoon. After a 27 hour journey actually to reach the hotel we arrived at 9pm to find a queue to check in. They said they would "upgrade" our room because it was our honeymoon (which had been pre arranged anyway by our travel agent!) The room we were given was HUGE but had a view of the parking lot and the a/c vents! As we were staying for a week we immediatly called the front desk for another room. They told us nothing was available for 4 hours. We just couldn't wait that long to sleep and went to bed. The next morning at about 5am we called them again requesting a room transfer they advised us to contact them after 4pm. I was not prepared to wait and went straight to the desk to ask for a room transfer. After a bit of humming and hawing the receptionist managed to get us a room on the 32nd floor which it has to be said was a fantastic alternative lokking right onto the strip. The rollercoaster (The Manhattan Express REALLY isn't a worry at all!) We did read reviews of trouble at the check in and our experience held this to be true. The rest of the stay was largely enjoyable. The walk with your cases at 9pm through a crowded noisey casino is a challenge! The pool is lovely but noisey because of the Roller coaster. The proximity to the other hotels around is great. We were a little dissapointed in the breakfast buffet served in the chinese restaurant, the breakfast at MGM was better.

  • Stayed April 2003
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2004

My husband and I just got back from a 4 day trip to Las Vegas. It was our 1st time there and we had a wonderful experience!! We stayed at New York, NY Hotel. The rooms were nice, but found the casino smaller than some of them on the strip. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff were helpful! We'd go back to LV again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2024
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York - New York Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.