We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New York - New York Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I would stay there again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First time staying at NY NY for our anniversary over the long 4th of July weekend. I liked it. I upgraded our room for $ 10.00 a night and got a HUGE room in the Chrysler Bldg on the 27th floor. It over looked Mt Charleston. Fourth of July evening we were able to watch a ton of 4th of July fireworks and it was lightning over Mr. Charleston...really cool. We had dinner at Gallagher's! totally great. I had the king crab legs ( you better be hungry...and have some cash!...very expensive, but HEY! it's our anniversary!), my husband had a steak and said that is was very tender! The room was nice and I thought that it wasn't too expensive ( although they should get rid of this stupid "resort" charge). I would stay again and eat at Gallagher's!

Room Tip: 27th floor anywhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary and appreciate you sharing the details of your trip with us. It is so great that you had a chance to enjoy a nice celebratory dinner at Gallagher’s. The fireworks are beautiful so I’m ecstatic that you were able to enjoy them during your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay in the near future!

Best Regards,

Lindsay Canell
Guest Relations
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,586
    3,735
    1,334
    384
    224
See reviews for
1,743
3,777
303
547
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First of all this is our second time staying here, the first time was great which is why we chose here again, what a Big Mistake, after traveling 18 HRS we were tired and I had reserved the room way in advance, when we got there the check-in girl was nice, unfortunately what I reserved was not what I got, I asked for no smoking and a 2 queen bed room, all they had was smoking and the room was disgusting, everything stunk and the commode was stained, I expected non motel like accommodations, we complained to the management and she made the excuse a concert and fight was in town, that is understandable but not what I booked and paid for, after going back and forth we ended up sleeping in the nasty room and we turned and saw the manager laughing at us because our un-satisfaction got us nowhere, they did put us in a non smoking the next day but no room credit was issued, the only good person there was Michelle and another lady who was not management that treated us with respect, we called the manager the next morning named Charles and he had a bad attitude as well, I told him I would tell the owner and he basically laughed and said I would be told he same thing, what a waste of money and time, the Hotel has gone down in appearance and Class, Dirty hallways, elevators and restrooms. Never Again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Guest feedback is extremely important as it allows us to take a step back and evaluate some of the practices that we have here. We would like to sincerely apologize for the service shortfalls you experienced during your recent stay with us. Customer service is extremely important to us here and we are extremely disappointed to hear about your negative experiences. I can assure you that what you experienced is not the standard here at New York New York. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you to discuss your situation if you could please send us an email with your contact information to the email below. We look forward to hearing from you soon and thank you again for sharing your feedback with us!

Best Regards,

Lindsay Canell
Guest Relations
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The room was comfortable but really needs to be updated. It was quiet and beds were comfortable. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Lots of stuff to do, you really don't need to leave the hotel. Pool was too cold! We were there in +47 heat and it was tough to get into the pool to cool off. Lots of choice of restaurants, most of which were really good. The Burger Bar and Fish & Chips place were delicious!!! Not impressed at all with Chin Chin. Service wasn't very good and it was very overpriced for what you get. The sushi was one of the worst we've ever had. Which was disappointing because we love sushi! Would defiantly stay here again! Had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I trawled and trawled for a long time looking for the perfect hotel to stay in for my first visit to Vegas, and finally settled on NY-NY. Needless to say, it was the perfect choice.

Friendly, helpful service, clean and adequate room, and most importantly, the location is perfect for access to the surrounding hotels, as well as further up the strip.

Not only that; the facilities and atmosphere within the hotel are brilliant. The casino area wasn't humungous like a lot of the other hotels, making accessing your room a lot more straightforward than having to walk forever.

I'm already planning my next trip, and will most definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We greatly appreciate the time you took the time to write such a kind review regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you found our property to be the perfect choice for you! We strive to provide great value to our guests and are glad to hear you found the room to be clean and comfortable and loved our location. We truly hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Las Vegas, you will make New York New York your home away from home again!

Best Regards,

Lindsay Canell
Guest Relations
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked a last minute vacation to Vegas and New York New York wasn't at the top of the list of places, but we are extremely glad we picked it! Great hotel! The Room was a regular park avenue room, up on the 38th floor facing the strip/airport, nice and quiet, check in at midnight was fast. I read about slow check in from some people, but if you check in at 4pm with 400 other people, it will be slow no matter how many counter staff they have working. Hotel itself is considerably better then Excaliber and Monte Carlo (two other mgm hotels for almost the same price!). As a bonus since our flight left very late, we did buy a late checkout of 6pm for $50 which rocked!

Negative point is the $24 a night (or whatever it is) over the top resort fee! $24 a day for wifi (which worked very very very very well in the room!!!) and the pool (nice pool, NOT an over the top Vegas pool like MGM across the street).. Get rid or lessen the resort fee and I'll come back, but next time, I will be looking for a similar hotel with a lower fee.

Pool nice, although nooooo staff would acknowledge that you can use your room key to use the monte carlo pool next door or MGM across the street.. you are allowed to use them, they advertise it, but very few staff know... Most said, "give it a shot".. decent pool, used it every day, great to unwind and relax, before heading out on the town for the evening.

Casino also fairly busy and well done, some construction going on during the day.

Best part of the hotel is the food! enough restaurants in the hotel to please anyone, unlike MGM across the street, there are restaurants with reasonably priced food! America's restaurant, bagel shop, burger bar etc... all reasonable, and of course the nicer restaurants, and bars to.

Like most MGM hotels, you can't ask for deals, don't even bother asking for free upgrades, or discounts on show tickets like other hotels, just doesn't happen. They do have deals for hotel guests, ie: 2 tickets to Zumanity for $99, which is good. Also it's a good show, although KA across the street is over the top, what an amazing show. You won't be disappointed by either show! That said, go to tixfortonight across the street outside MGM and buy tickets for attactions/shows..

Beware the cabbies will take you the long way from the airport to the hotel, should be $14 to $17, beware they will take you the long way and charge you $24

take Transit on the strip. $20 for 3 days, use the duece, it's slow, and the express bus if you want to get to the outlet stores past the airport or get to freemont fairly quickly, Buy your ticket before boarding, you cannot buy tickets on the SXT express bus, buy them at the machine at the stop! Awesome bus!!!

Great hotel, if you stay here, you won't need to go anywhere else for food and fun!

Room Tip: Get a room high up as possible, ask for room close to the elevator, and facing the strip. Late check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a spa suite from June 23 to June 26. Check in was fast and efficient despite a very long line at check in. The hotel would have received top rates but for two little glitches. First the view from the room was of the backside. We looked right into the parking garage. Not what we had expected from spa suite room.

The second glitch and the most serious one was the long, black hairs sticking on the shower wall. We thought the cleaning staff just had overseen the hair and hoped they would see it the next day and remove it then, but nothing was done. We then selected to remove ourselves. It was so nausiating and I still get freezes when thinking about it. I know we should have complained, but that is not in my nature.

The rest of the hotel was great. I was travelling with my 11 year old son, and he loved New York theme. The hotel was situated south on the strip, but for us that was perfect. Easy access going lang the strip by bus or just walking:-)

Would have got top marks if not for the hair in the shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We truly value guest feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at New York New York. We would like to sincerely apologize for the shortfalls you experienced with our housekeeping team. Our housekeeping department works very hard to ensure they are keeping the rooms at the highest value so we are extremely disappointed to learn of your situation. I assure you that the quality of service you received is absolutely not the standard here. We are thrilled to hear that your son enjoyed our New York atmosphere. We genuinely hope that you will return to New York New York next time you are in Las Vegas so that we can show you the way we strive to treat all of our guests.

Best Regards,

Lindsay Canell
Guest Relations
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff was great food was great overall very nice thank you so much New York New York. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Great rates and great rooms. The room service was excellent. We will be back soon thanks again New York. :-)




  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2024
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York - New York Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.