We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average... probably won't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added New York - New York Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Exclusive
Ranked #37 of 272 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just average... probably won't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at NYNY with our football team for a tournament because we thought it would be one of the more fun places to stay with kids... (Circus Circus is dirty and horrible), but the only thing different from most other hotels was the roller coaster. It was a good roller coaster, everybody like it. I realize it's the only roller coaster on the strip, but the price to ride it once is ridiculous. If you do ride it, it's worth it to get the pass to ride it all day.

The rooms were ok., but are about ready for an update. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, as long as you don't look behind the dresser for an outlet... dust was so thick you couldn't see the lamp cord. I expected a little bit more for the price of the room. (no refrigerator, no coffee maker), but this is pretty much the case on the strip. And they charge extra for an additional kid to stay in a room with two adults with two queen beds??? An extra $30 for a 9 year old? (Not that I paid it anyway, but still) . They charge a typical resort fee for a bunch of stuff you don't use except internet, but that's Vegas.

We have two kids and they like to play Playstation in the hotel room at night. The TV's do not allow a Playstation to be hooked up which is not cool. They specifically don't allow you to change the "source" so you can't access the HDMI port even though you have something plugged into it. For this reason alone I probably would not stay here again with kids.

The casino was clean and lively. We ate at one restaurant near the arcade, Nathan's, pretty good food at a reasonable price, although we had to clean off the tables ourselves before sitting down (workers didn't really care). Our friends ate at The Sporting House and said the food was really good and the atmosphere was cool. One thing we didi like was the location, because it's on a major corner, we found it easy to get to the side streets and freeway. Also, it's right across the street from the M&M World and a food court.

Overall the stay was okay, but I don't think we'll stay at NYNY again, because the rooms are getting old, and this hotel seems to be caught in between... no real compelling reason to stay there with kids, and without kids there seems to be better, nicer places to stay for the same $$$.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators, cause if you get a room at the end, it will take you 10 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Guest Relations Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed the roller coaster during your stay, it is a must if you are staying here! We appreicate your comments about the room and apoloigze it did not exceed your expecations. Also we are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Nathan's, its a great restaurant with a lot of options and a great value. We hope you will come back to New York New York and give our resort another chance to exceed your expectations. Please contact me should you need any assistance or have any questions.

Regards,
Noreen Stewart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,746
    2,942
    1,094
    332
    198
See reviews for
1286
2878
228
450
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

New York New York was a great place to stay. Stayed here four nights with the family. The location was great, customer service excellent and price was really good. We had previously stayed at ceasers the night before, but much preferred here with a more relaxed and happy setting.

Room Tip: Book a standard room and upgrade when you arrive. If there are rooms available, you generally get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed in the Empire Tower which is very conveniently located to check-in, valet, the bell desk, the lobby bar, the casino floor and America restaurant. The staff was friendly, our room and the casino were very clean, and it was a great value for such a good locacation. I've stayed at many locations in Vegas and the New York New York is by far the best for the buck!

Thanks, Jeff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Part of the MGM stable of properties, so there is good attention to quality by management. The restaurants provide solid dining experiences, but avoid the breakfast buffet at Chin Chin as the food quality and variety is abysmal there. Casino Hosts do an excellent job of meeting your needs. Casino air quality is poor due to cigarette smoke. Overall, this is a very dependable property and you will enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at numerous places in Vegas but prefer NYNY. The staff is extremely friendly the rooms and the hotel is very cleen, I would recommend this place to anyone. We also stayed there for my birthday in August and when we got back to our room I had a voice mail from the staff singing Happy Birthday to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen S, Guest Relations Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay, we greatly appreciate your feedback! We are so excited that we were able to make your birthday extra special! Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff, we take great pride in delivering exceptional service to our guests! We are also glad to hear of the exceptional job our housekeeping did and provided you with a clean and comfortable room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. If you should need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at guestservices@nyforme.com.

Regards,

Noreen Stewart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our stay at New York New York was great, our meal-party of 21 was excellant, I was caught up in the moment with my daughters wedding and overtipped by $240.00 they brought it to my attention, it was like a gift! We will go back, had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent five days and four nights at New York - New York and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Good food, great service, Awesome drinks! A lovely experience at a reasonable price! Come be a part of the New York experience - you'll be glad you did! I know we were and we can't wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York - New York Hotel
New York Hotel
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Hotel Las Vegas
Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#14 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, MGM Domestic, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Vegas.com, Venere, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York - New York Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.