We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigest Drawback - Smoking in the Casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Grand Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$75 Retail Gift Card
Ranked #43 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Peoria, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bigest Drawback - Smoking in the Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our first trip to Vegas - we asked lots of questions - the staff always had the answers for us. The entire staff was courteous, helpful, and usually with smiles on their faces. A special thanks to the employee who saw my husband accidentally drop a jacket ~ he picked up the jacket and brought it to him as we were boarding our airport shuttle. We used the concierge to make reservations for Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and thanks to their suggestion we used the shuttle to get us there.

Room was great! Yes, it is a HUGE hotel. Be prepared to take time to find your way around. But be prepared - in the afternoon/evening the hotel was smoking and in the morning they had used a ton of air freshener to remove the odor.

ALSO: We combined hotel & air. When we checked into the hotel, the hotel charged an additional $28 per night for their service charges that Allegiant never mentioned.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear lady_beach:

At MGM Grand, our dedicated team of service professionals is committed to providing friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable service. Our guests deserve a truly exceptional experience, so we provide beautiful accommodations, and the finest resort amenities available. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,163
    2,994
    1,115
    371
    230
See reviews for
1,516
3,400
290
998
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the MGM Grand in early January. The price we got on the room was unbelievable. Loved our room and the MGM casino. When we arrived my bags were lost by the airline and the staff at the MGM was very helpful. We arrived early so we had to wait for our room but we didn't mind a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Emily L:

Your comments are truly gratifying. At MGM Grand, we strive to provide our guests with an excellent experience at a great value. We also recognize the complications of travel sometimes create challenges that demand truly exceptional service. We are happy we could assist you with your lost luggage. We strive to exceed expectations with every guest, because your enjoyment and complete satisfaction is our goal, no matter the circumstances. Thank you for choosing MGM Grand. Please visit again soon.

Sincerely,

The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

For the value and the selection of restaurants you can't beat the MGM. We were able to participate in a product review study at Television City and were paid 100 dollars! Jackpot! The staff at MGM is exceptional. Keep up the good work MGM! We will be back in May for CHER!

Room Tip: I always ask for high floor, strip view with no PERF (screen) on the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear 850state:

We love your review! Thank you so much for your continued loyalty. No matter when you visit, there is always something exciting to enjoy. High profile entertainment, unbeatable service, and diverse dining venues help make MGM Grand the premier resort destination experience in Las Vegas. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to serving you again in May.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

After a few years of rooms that looked a little dated, the new StayWell rooms made me enjoy staying there again.
It seems that the whole hotel has been renovated and the restaurant options are to me one of the high points staying there.
Go to Wolfgang Puck and Tom Colliccio's restaurants, you won't regret.
Also if you need to go to the Las Vegas Conference Center, it is very practical that they do have a Monorail station inside the hotel.
The only down part is that, as I am always in Vegas for business, it is a little annoying to me that it seems they put up even more machines throughout the Cassino and that makes it hard to walk, very noisy and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Daniluck:

At MGM Grand, we continually strive to improve upon all facets of the overall guest stay. Recent updates to our accommodations have been very well received, as plush furnishings and modern décor make the in-room experience truly relaxing and enjoyable. For an even more pleasant time, the premium amenities of our Staywell rooms and suites take personal luxury to a whole new level.

We are also pleased you enjoyed some of our many exceptional restaurants. We offer dining venues to suit nearly any taste or budget. It is also gratifying to know you found our monorail access convenient to your business needs.

We take the concerns and feedback of our guests very seriously. Thank you for sharing your insights, and for patronizing our resort. We hope to serve as your destination of choice here in Las Vegas in the future.

Sincerely,

The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It was not the first time my wife and I stayed in the MGM.
In general it is a decent and huge hotel with reasonable room prices compared to many other Las Vegas strip hotels.
But this time ( early January ) we noticed some things which bothered us.

1) The Buffet needs variation. Even their Tuesday seafood buffet looks like the other every day buffets. Staff is friendly enough though.

2) By allowing to smoke freely in the casino MGM ignores their clients who hate smoking or worse, have a lung disease. MGM should at least make a part of the Casino smoke free.
I know it is the same policy as in the other casinos but sometimes it is beneficial to be the first to change.

3) After having booked a room it remains a gamble (lol) where the room is located. No way can you indicate your preferences.

4) MGM is difficult to reach by e-mail ( except to make a booking ) if you have a complaint or a cancellation. I had to cancel a booking one time and after searching the internet for an hour I found 2 telephone numbers. The first number I phoned did not answer but on the second number a guy answered and confirmed he was able to cancel a booking. It took me about 4 minutes before he reluctantly gave me a cancellation confirmation number. The system works in the end but why so secretive?

In general the hotel is not bad but improvements can be made with a little good will..

Room Tip: Try by all means to avoid rooms looking towards the airport. Also insist on high floor level rooms...
See more room tips
Green Features: MGM should have smoke free rooms and a more restrictive smoke policy in their casino
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear torugbene:

We appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns regarding your recent stay. We apologize for any communication complications regarding your reservation, and we deeply regret any disconcertment experienced as a result of casino air quality or food selection at our Grand Buffet. Please know we deeply value guest feedback, and will use your comments to evaluate and improve upon our performance. We hope for the chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a great stay at MGM! We stayed in one of the newly refurbished Grand rooms and it was fabulous. Very large and nicely appointed. The bathroom was huge and had tons of towels. It also included nice smelling shampoo/conditioner/body wash and there was also a hair dryer but it is hidden under the sink on a shelf. The beds are amazingly comfortable. It was like sleeping on a cloud! The walls/doors are very thin though so if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs. The resort itself is huge so be prepared for that. We did find that everything is VERY expensive, especially the restaurants, even the food court. There was one restaurant that wasn't too bad...I believe it's called The Avenue or something along those lines. We didn't see any shows at MGM but we did see the Cirque Love show at Mirage and it was awesome! All in all we had a great time but be prepared to spend a lot of money!

Room Tip: Ask for a King Grand room! They are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Krysv:

We are so pleased you enjoyed our newly updated rooms. Plush furnishings, modern amenities, and artistically styled in-room décor provide the luxury and comfort that make our accommodations popular, indeed. It is also great to know you found our spacious resort quite impressive, and our Avenue Café well suited to your budget and tastes. We do hope you will visit us again soon, and perhaps enjoy some our many entertainment options like Ka, our fabulous Cirque du Soleil production.

Sincerely,

The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Amazing trip. Treated like royalty. Will be booking mgm again
The host jamie was amazing and the food and gambling experience was great. We love mgm and love mlife rewards. Plenty of comps will be coming back



Room Tip: Very clean and quiet. Loved the shower and bed. Safe in room is great plus tv was big
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear MarcTomlinson:

For a truly fantastic experience, MGM Grand offers amazing resort amenities and service to help you enjoy the finest that Las Vegas has to offer. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that you could take advantage of our innovative and extremely popular M life rewards program. We value your loyalty, and appreciate your gracious comments. We hope you will visit again soon.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MGM Domestic, Vegas.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.