We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but looking tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added MGM Grand Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3799 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but looking tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The MGM is in a reasonable location with best access to the strip from its West Entrance but it's at the far south of the strip so not as central as some may like.

The hotel has some excellent facilities with a good pool area (but closing at 18:00) and many excellent restaurants but the options for fast food / light meals is less good and there are often extensive queues and prices are high.

The casino is very expansive and it made me feel like I was a guest in a casino as opposed to a hotel. - It can most definitely take a while getting to used to finding your way around.

Compared to some of the more recent hotels - the Cosmo, Bellagio, Wynn, etc - the whole place feels tired and in fact very dark. Our room had no view and was way down a corridor.

Overall, a reasonable place to stay but I think there are better and more central options for probably a similar price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Andrew G:

At MGM Grand, we constantly evaluate all aspects of our property, from the initial guest experience to the last. All facets of our service practices and the amenities we provide undergo a constant scrutiny that ensures an atmosphere focused on you, our guest. Your opinions are crucial to this end, so we thank you for bringing your comments to our attention.

Firstly, we appreciate your magnanimous description regarding our restaurants. Dining choices, whether it is a quick bite to eat or a high end gourmet dining experience, are an important aspect of every guest visit. We apologize for any delays in service that you did encounter at our food court. Timely service is important, and we regret these delays.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our Grand Pool complex. We strive to set appropriate hours for all of our venues in an attempt to maximize access and meet the popular demand of our patrons as needed. Summer approaches, so we will no doubt revisit appropriate operating hours to best suite the needs of our guests.

Your satisfaction is our primary objective. While we are located toward the southern end of the Las Vegas Strip, we provide convenient transportation options, including a monorail, taxis, limousines, buses, and shuttles, for the convenience of guests who wish to explore other areas of Las Vegas. Though our casino is indeed impressive, our hotel accommodations provide a welcoming respite of in-room luxury and comfort. Our service culture means all team members are prepared to attend to the needs of our patrons with proficiency and affability. And as we upgrade our facility, exciting new additions have already been added, with much more in the future. A stark renewal is well underway, and the results are already deeply profound.

We hope you give us another look in the future. Your observations will no doubt help assist our efforts to provide the premier resort experience you deserve.

Sincerely,


Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,885 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,278
    2,313
    857
    270
    167
See reviews for
1166
2648
232
805
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We checked in on Wednesday the 13th of March at 12:00 pm.for the PAC 12 basketball tournament. After waiting in line for 20 minutes to check in,we were told our room would be ready soon and they would call us. We decided to watch a game and were never called. When we went to the desk we were told our bags would be brought to our room. We got to our 14th floor room and realized that since only one person was working there we might as well run down and get them ourselves. It was 5:00 by the time we had our bags in our room. Our room was beautiful and spacious. We did most of our activities in the hotel...very convenient. Why no in -room coffee makers?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here with friends for my 21st birthday and it was amazing. Everything about the hotel is just like the name says GRAND! It's beautiful and has everything you need, restaurants, bars, starbucks, etc. You can literally get lost in this hotel and I did a few times haha. And the rooms are fabulous, I had a 2 queen suite and it the view was great! My other friends had a king suite which was just as amazing. The hotel is obviously right on the strip and close to everything. The only complaint that I have about it is there were not any refrigerators in either of the rooms, obviously if you're eating out every night you're going to wait to bring back leftovers and they didn't give you that option. No microwave either .. but those were the only down falls for me everything else was beautiful! I recommend this hotel highly! And will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The suites are pretty big! So if you stay in a standard queen or king you would still be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great place, but he $25 a day resort fee is forced upon the guest. It is not included in the advertised price of the room. Use caution when looking at the daily room rates. A $59 a day room rate will actually cost, with resort fee and taxes, closer to $100.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned today from seven nights at the MGM. This was our second stay, the first in 2006. Check in quick and easy (Sunday 10th March 3 pm). Room was a Grand Tower King with a strip view. Bed was so comfy, room was GRAND. Joined M Life the day we arrived and used on machines, tables, Starbucks etc. Pools fantastic, weather HOT HOT HOT. Hotel was very busy as there was a Basketball Tournament on during the week. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, one of our party uses a mobility scooter and we had no problems getting about. Gambled mainly in the MGM and other MGM hotels - New York New York, Monte Carlo, Excaliber, Luxor, Bellagio and used our M Life cards in slots and on tables. We were amazed when we checked at the M Life desk on Saturday 16th March where we were told we could have had our room comped for the week if we had booked with the hotel direct. We did however receive four Breakfast Buffets for free and around $150 of free drinks in one of the bars. We thought we would only have enough points for a Starbucks coffee! We still have enough points on the card for our next visit!!!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was unbelievable and the service was even better. Car service - Rolls Royce & Bentley; In-room dining - lobster eggs Benedict; Room - 2 stories of perfection, Bathroom: Big as a house: shower/tub - UNBELIEVABLE!!!! Perfection all around. Can't wait to return!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time in vegas, went for my friends birthday. Choose MGM because of the value and the fact that its MGM. Everyone who worked there was super nice, really polite. Room service is really exspensive but delicious. And the best part was Tabu Ultra Lounge, really friendly staff and the best nightlife experience. Bottle prices aren't as much as other places on the strip and the DJ plays a mix of everything and its just steps away from the elevator so being super drunk isn't a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, MGM Domestic, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.