We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but noisy...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added MGM Grand Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3799 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston / Vineyard Haven
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spacious but noisy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Another visit to MGM Grand, renovations done, same very spacious spotless room, extremely comfortable, great marble bath. We were invited guests so the room was comped, in the South Tower...all 3 stories of it. Actually a great location, much closer to the casino and not the long corridor walks and busy elevators of the Grand Tower. Excellent quick and maddeningly expensive room service; consider it a treat. Airline lost our luggage for a day so Housekeeping sent up a generous collection of toiletries. ONLY drawback, our room overlooked a service road into the hotel and we were treated to the rattle and bang of trash carts and beer bottles every 15 minutes until about 1am. All even-numbered rooms in south tower face this road. Ask for an odd-numbered room! Check in, concierge, phone checkout services excellent. We had fun.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear mjant45:

One of the crown jewels of our “Grand Renovation” project is our newly refurbished rooms and suites. They offer the finest in modern amenities for our guests, and we couldn’t be prouder of the result.

Of course, optimal facilities are nothing without a dedicated hotel staff committed to providing exceptional service. From our meticulous Housekeeping employees, to our industrious and personable Concierge department, everyone here at MGM Grand recognizes the importance of quality customer service.

Unfortunately, city sanitation vehicles do make their rounds collecting refuse. I regret if this necessary process in any way impeded the enjoyment of your stay.

Thank you again for your kind words and patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,268
    2,299
    854
    270
    165
See reviews for
1158
2637
231
803
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockmart, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first time to visit Vegas, and we choose the MGM for the rooms that were on line compared to the value. We walked right up for check in no waiting on early weekday visit. Was offered a room upgrade for a small $20 night fee and WELL WORTH IT!! OMG our room was AWESOME!! Strip view large king room with sofa coffee table, large bathroom. Exceptionally clean and I am VERY picky!! We loved the controls for the shade and black out curtains the nice marble ledge along the window where I took several photos from our room:). I only gave a 4 star as the internet was on/off during construction and the ablility to get out/in the hotel depending on which side you came in on was difficult as one time we could use an entrance the next time we went to that door it was closed (this happend 2 different times , in 2 days at 2 different entrances) UGH. It was like tring to find your way through a maze without a map on which door you could use at what time and how to get back inside. Also upon arrival never been to vegas there was no directions on how to approach the parking area we had programed in the gps the address which took us to the main entrance front strip (no valet or parking there) so had to just drive around until we found were the parking was this was fustrating with all the people walking along vegas strip and trying to turn, then one way streets etc. Maybe in the confirmation give directions to the self parking and Valet parking. We did find it after 30 minutes driving around the block and construction being blocked on roads. This hotel is towards the end of the strip so alot of walking but we managed ok. Went to use the pool but it was closed for the Tropicania photo shoot they were doing sign said will re open next day (when we were leaving) ugh no pool or even a photo of it one of the nice things I wanted to see was the pool area as I was sent an email before my trip saying it was going to be open during my stay?? Was not told this upon check in so this was a bit disappointing. But again the room was AWESOME!! Slept great in comfy beds, heck the first night we had the vegas lights shine in for the "experience of being in Vegas". The buffet was awesome sooo many choices of food (we ate during breakfast) the buffet was included in our room package) but I would still recommend it. So many choices not just your plain basic breakfast. Server was excellent and very tenative. The TV check out was not working , I called guest services to check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Terri2south:

Although I regret the challenges encountered due to the vestiges of our renovation project, I am thrilled to learn that ultimately you enjoyed your stay here at MGM Grand. We put a lot of effort into the presentation of our newly remodeled rooms and suites on property. Comments like yours are proof positive that our work is being met with approval and optimism.

Thank you for choosing MGM Grand as your destination choice. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The greatest staff ever! Everyone was so helpfull and friendly. I can hardly wait for my next trip to the MGM. Our room had a great view and we'll ask to get that room again in the future.The games were great and easy to use.




  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Greg W:

It is so gratifying to know that our service here at MGM Grand was able to exceed all expectations. We pride ourselves on offering unparalleled customer satisfaction through personalized interactions with every guest on property. Feedback such as yours confirms that our commitment toward this goal is being met with great public support and enthusiasm.

I am also thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your newly remodeled room. As one of the centerpieces of our “Grand Renovation” project, we have put a lot of effort into revitalizing our rooms and suites. The reception from our guests has been overwhelmingly positive, and we find this most encouraging.

We can hardly wait to see you again, either, Greg!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the mgm for 4 nights and 5 days. Everything was great. The food, the staff, and of course its location right on the strip. I think we overpayed for our room though, you can certainly get it cheaper in other casinos. The rooms are small. But we were barely there because its vegas! Overall i gave it a 4, it would of gotten a 5 but because of the price. Its a beautiful hotel and casino you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Michael B:

Your genuine and complimentary remarks honor us. At MGM Grand, we do our utmost to cultivate a culture of service that is second to none. This is apparent everywhere you look, from the efficient and courteous staff at our many exemplary dining establishments, to the friendly smiles that greet you on our casino floor, to the expedient service from our Housekeeping and Bell Services employees. Affability is infectious, and when you have a great time at MGM Grand, so do we!

Thanks again for the kind and encouraging review. We eagerly anticipate your return to MGM Grand.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ok so I know this is Vegas and I love hip hop even like techno but must you blast the music in every single section of the hotel and every one of your 5 pools? I have stayed many other places in Vegas where I could find at least a small quiet space. Not here, not even outside on the grounds- NO green space whatsoever. You know what else is not here? Service or courtesy. Locked myself out of my room one evening around 6pm had to wait 30+ min for security to come let me in. Got kicked out of the pool area twice for doing yoga with not even a mention or suggestion of an alternate place that I could do it. And my room is so tiny that I cannot roll out my mat there and practice. Seriously. Look at my other posts, the're positive. I'm one of those that just comes on here to post the bad but there's just too much here that I couldn't not warn my fellow travelers. OH, and to use the refrigerator in the room is $25/DAY!!! AND no coffee maker, nope, not even available. MGM Anything But Grand.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear JoyMontes:

It is truly disappointing to discover that your visit to MGM Grand was anything short of transcendent. We will certainly take your comments to heart, and reexamine those areas highlighted in your travel review.

We thank you for your constructive remarks, and hope to be afforded another opportunity to serve as your home away from home whenever you return to Las Vegas.

Respectfully,

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The rooms are terrific, updated since we last visited. Nice amenities, and upper floors are better to avoid street noise. The variety of restaurants are attractive as well. The casino is full of fun, great variety of games, and the nightlife is pulsating, if that is your thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear PerryMSmith:

We are so glad you had a great time during your visit to MGM Grand. As you discovered firsthand, the updated rooms and suites are but the latest in a long list of unique and luxurious attractions located on property. At MGM Grand, our goal is to treat each guest to the very finest in service and amenities. Encouraging reviews such as yours reaffirm that our endeavors are being met with a high degree of success, and inspire us to achieve even loftier accomplishments ahead.

We are grateful you selected MGM Grand as your travel destination of choice, and look forward to your return with pronounced enthusiasm.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The MGM Grand is in a great location on the strip. However, the restaurants are just ok and they should be outstanding for the amount of money you pay for food and drinks. The KA show by cirque de solei was excellent. Would highly recommend it. Front desk is efficient but very inconsistent. They tried hustle us out of an extra $20.00 to check-in early. First the room wasn't ready for check-in, but for $20.00 we can check-in now. I thought the room wasn't ready. Running a hustle at the front desk. Game on!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori P, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Rey X:

It is unfortunate to learn that you left MGM Grand feeling indifferent about our restaurants. We attempt to provide a wide array of culinary offerings in order to win over both discriminating budgets and sophisticated taste buds. As part of our continuing “Grand Renovation” project, you will find even more additions to our list of eateries in the coming year. Once completed, we hope you will find something that exceeds your expectations.

I also apologize if our Front Desk staff failed to adequately explain the protocol regarding our early check-in fee. To clarify, we have a select number of rooms available prior to our standard 3pm check-in time. If one is available, and the guest is amenable to a nominal fee, we can register them early. I regret any confusion this produced as a result of communication shortfalls.

Of course, I’m glad you enjoyed our Cirque Du Soleil production show, Ka. MGM Grand strives to live up to its reputation as the Las Vegas entertainment authority by providing premier hotel accommodations as well as renowned attractions and entertainment. Ka is a great way to enjoy all the majesty and breathtaking aerial artistry that Cirque Du Soleil has become infamous for the world over.

We are grateful for your patronage, and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Manager of Guest Experience
MGM Grand – Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MGM Domestic, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.