We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November with 3 Vegas Virgins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Grand Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$75 Retail Gift Card
Ranked #43 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Odessa, Texas, USA
1 review
“November with 3 Vegas Virgins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I brought three 20-something Vegas Virgins with me in early November, 2012. We stayed at the MGM, saw a couple of great shows around town and ate at some outstanding restaurants. The girls hit the town every night while I tried to pay for the trip at the tables. Had my usual luck.
I've stayed at the MGM several times and this time we were on one of the refurbished floors. I've always been very pleased with all aspect of the property; rooms, staff, ease of getting around, etc and this trip was no different. The price I got thru the M Club made it an easy choice for trip and I can assure you, speaking for myself and my guests, we had a great time. From the day we arrived until we flew away it was a great trip and it always starts with staying at a great hotel. MGM fits the bill. 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,178
    3,000
    1,116
    373
    234
See reviews for
1,523
3,412
291
999
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After reading the reviews for the MGM Grand here on Tripadvisor, I worried about my November 2012 visit. The site of a 5 day teacher conference, the hotel was the recommended lodging. The MGM Grand was a great experience. I did follow tips here online that helped:

1. check in to the hotel at the Las Vegas airport. The booth is located between baggage claim carousels #1 and #2. This saved a lot of time. The check in line at the hotel was very long on a Thursday morning. No so at the airport.

2. After checking in at the hotel at the airport, I was offered a shuttle to the hotel for $13 round trip. Great deal. Worked well.

3. The rooms have two sets of blinds: a cream colored shade for the daytime, and a room darkening shade for night. You'll need the room darkening shade due to the hotel's green glowing lights all along the outside of the hotel. The electronic controls for the shades are beside the room's closet. There was no information about the shades anywhere, so the tips here online about them gave me a head start to find the controls. The rooms get blissfully dark when those shades are down.

4. The food court has a pizza restaurant (Bonamo's?) that offers great breakfasts in the $5 to $8 range.

5. The morning I was going to check out, a hotel email sent me check out information and electronic receipts I could print. This made check out seamless and fast.


Would I stay there again? Yes !

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay. Rooms were nicely appointed and beds were very comfortable. Food was excellent with wide variety of restaurants to choose from. Great location, easy to get in and out. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The MGM Grand is a huge, sprawling property whose casino seems to go on forever. There are over a dozen restaurants, theaters, clubs, shops, etc. The rooms are fine, with either a strip or mountain view. You are right on the strip so you can visit many other hotels/casinos. I was here for a convention and it took about 20 minutes to walk from my room (near the end of one of the long hallways) to the convention center. Ask for a room near the elevator to save mileage. Rooms themselves are well-appointed, clean, and roomy. Unless you are doing well at the casinos, though, many of the resturants are quite pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Check in and check out continues to take a long time. The front desk person who checked us in was not friendly and did not make us feel welcome.
Wolfgang puck had excellent food and people were friendly. Service was a bit slow. Studio Cafe also had great food but was a bit slow. Diego was the best. Super food and fabulous service. Valet was terrific. Fast, friendly, and used caution and concerned for safety in their area. In a couple of the lounges, the attention and quick service were given to the younger guests and at times ignored the middle age and older guests. This has happened before to us at the mgm and looks like this continues.
Overall, it was an average stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is immense and it is easy to get disoriented. There is a full range of services within the resort and if you want a place you never have to leave, this is for you. If you want something a little more intimate with some peace and quiet, stay away. The room was good size and all basics were provided. Sound-proofing was excellent, and no noise was heard from hallways or adjacent rooms throughout a 3-night stay. All the public areas of the hotel had loud intrusive music above the noise of the crowds and the jangle of the casino. The public areas, registration desk, concierge desk, casino were all quite crowded due to the size of the place. There are several very good and expensive restaurants in the complex. Unlike Vegas of old, there are virtually no freebies anymore--no free coffee in rooms, no free gym, no free drinks in casino. Staff were very nice and friendly. Again, good place if you want a lively, nonstop, crowded, party atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator. The hallways are very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the MGM Grand in Nov of 2012. Generally, our stay was very nice and the staff at the hotel was absolutely great. I have stayed at many properties in Las Vegas and would characterize the MGM Grand as a good place for anyone in the 20-39 age group. We got a great deal on a Spa Suite (part of the Grand rennovation) as we typically stay at the resort where we can get the most for our dollars.

Based on the services we used during our stay, I would say that the pros of the MGM Grand are: an active nightlife, many great restaurants, exceptional staff, and a fast valet service. On the other hand, I would say that the downsides to this hotel are: 1) check-in...a 25 minute wait in a long line to check in on a Sunday afternoon (would hate to see what a Friday evening check-in looks like) and 2) some issues with hot water in our suite.

I have now stayed at both MGM Grand and the MGM Signature (non-casino) hotel adjacent to the MGM Grand. In my opinion, the Signature is a better $$ value.

Room Tip: I would only recommend those rooms and suites that have been through the "grand rennovation.&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MGM Domestic, Vegas.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.