We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegas Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Vegas Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here after a rustic week of touring National Parks. The hotel felt luxurious from the moment we stepped in the lobby. Rooms were spacious and well-appointed w/ huge bathtub w/ tv (kids loved!). We stayed here for the pools. Kids loved both wave pool & lazy river (although kind of short compared to other resorts (not in Vegas). Only problem was that all lounge chairs were in the sun. To get shade you must rent an umbrella ($200/day) or cabana (very pricey).

It's at the end of the strip, which we liked since we were here w/ kids. Plenty of restaurants on property. When going to other resorts use the tram to get further down the strip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,805
    2,729
    1,150
    474
    391
See reviews for
1,787
2,846
348
1,718
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,961)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, Usa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because of the pools and it's family friendliness. Traveled with my husband and 9yr. old daughter as well as my sister, her husband and two nieces which they stayed at a room next to ours. We requested rooms in a higher floor and we were placed on the 30th floor, which we loved the views of the pools and the property. The room was very nice, with great closets and bathroom and a very comfy bed. Even though we were down very early at the pools, when it wasn't as hot, I really wish they would stay open longer, say 10. That way we cougears shop and rest and come back at sundown. We had a great time, just wished we could of stayed another day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we checked in I asked for a view of the strip and the attendant delivered! Everyone in the staff I spoke to was very friendly and very helpful. The room was cleaned everyday and they did a great job. The pool would have been great if it wasn't so crowded and so hard to find a lounge chair. Also, it is very far from everything else on the strip but the free Tram does help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Samba265,

We were thrilled to read your 4-star review of our hotel! It’s so pleasing to hear about the wonderful service you received from our staff throughout your visit. Guests like you make all of our efforts so very worthwhile, and it is our greatest pleasure to provide our guests with the utmost excellent stays. We hope to welcome you back to THEhotel at Mandalay Bay during your future travels!

Kind regards,
Tosha Tanner
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guests@mandalaybay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Vegas and second time stayin at the Bay. We stay there due to the UFC Expo being held at the Bay's convention center. The rooms are nice and clean, but I will say the walls are a bit thin as we could here our neighbor's conversations. We were there for July 4th weekend so there was a bit of a wait sometimes for an elevator. The pool was excellent and was one of my favorite things. Room service food is pricey , but is VERY good ! Love that the casino never seemed too crowded and is spaced out well. Yummy places to eat at the Mandaly Bay Shoppes. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear CzPach29,

We thank you for this excellent review and also for joining us for the UFC Fan Expo and 4th of July! We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay! Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms, beach and the great dining options at our resort. We enjoy providing exceptional amenities and options for our guests. It has been our pleasure to host you and look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,
Tosha Tanner
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guests@mandalaybay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I and two grown kids stayed here five nights over the July 4th holiday. We had adjoining rooms and both rooms were very nice and well above average for Vegas. The bathroom was one of the best of the hotels I've stayed in in Vegas. His and her sinks, roomy shower, really well done. The rooms were not only clean and new looking with his and hers closets but had lots of electrical outlets well positioned for charging phones, pads, etc. This is not always easy to find in hotel rooms. WiFi in the room was "free" though you do pay a $25 a day resort fee. The signal was good and strong and worked in the casino and all common areas too.
One of the reasons we chose to stay at this property was the pool area. We saw pictures of an open sandy beach by the wave pool. Just like the picture? Not even close. Every inch of sand was covered by lounge chairs. I don't think I could have sat on sand if my life depended on it. There is not an inch of space between loungers. There is no shade at all by the wave pool; pack sunscreen. To rent a shade umbrella and two lounge chairs by it runs $50 for the umbrella and $100 per chair! The wave pool itself is pleasant enough but a wave comes once about every 4 or 5 minutes. They do not run continuously like a beach. The lazy river is nice enough but be aware that it's crowded. Over the 4th it was VERY crowded. What it's like on other days I can't say but this holiday it is was packed tight.
The casino is quite nice with an upscale feel and open as most casinos go. Most of the hotel and casino staff was very friendly but some of the dealers at tables seemed very cold; this is true though at most casinos.
We ate at several of the restaurants in the property and the food was always good but it's definitely more pricey than others like Paris, Luxor, etc. Plus many of the restaurants are rather gourmet with limited menus, though if you go to the attached mall which runs to Luxor you can find some less expensive places. We tried their champagne brunch on Saturday which runs about $30 a person. I have no complaints about that. Lots of everything to eat including crab legs, shrimp, roast beef, and tons of other things. I thought it was all quite good. "Mix" is a club and restaurant on the top 64th floor. Great views from up there and you don't need to buy anything to go up and take a look. The pub grub there is really good, though kind of pricey. I'd recommend trying it.
Lastly if you're without a car remember that Mandalay Bay is at the end of the strip and so you have a really long walk to get down to the center of the strip. You can shuttle to Luxor and Excalibur quite easily though. Past those properties and you'll need to walk or taxi to get to another property and/or shuttle.

Room Tip: Rooms can be a long way from the elevator. If you have trouble walking request a room close to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a room over looking the pool area, room was clean and had plenty of room, I loved the bathroom area...separate shower, large soaking tub, and large vanity with a flat screen t.v

The pool area was huge, we stayed mid week and although it was busy we were always able to find lounge chairs around whatever pool we went to

The only neg was the Buffett, it was horrible, But then again it's a Buffett!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed in every MGM property on the Strip. They try hard to put this hotel in the upper echelon of their resorts, just under Aria and Bellagio. While the common areas and variety of restaurants is amazing, the hotel is severely understaffed. Every phone call took 5+ minutes to be answered. After waiting eight minutes to get an order taker for room service, we were told that it would take "well over an hour" for our food. How is that acceptable? Shouldn't they expand their kitchen or hire more runners if that is the case? There were long waits for bellmen and after fifteen minutes on hold for the concierge, I finally gave up.

Also, one incredibly annoying feature of this hotel is the elevator system. Unless you are on one of the "penthouse" floors, there were oftentimes very long lines for the elevators. People literally queue-ing up to get in an elevator. This is not indicative of a luxury property. I'm not sure if some of the cars were out of service or not but having to wait 10-15 mins just to get into an elevator is unacceptable.

The pool is as great as many people say. The one downside is that you have to get there unbelievably early to get a lounge chair. Otherwise you need to get a cabana. It just gets very, very crowded.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear JustinBrandonLA,

It saddens us to hear about the difficulties you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Our management staff does their very best to ensure we have the appropriate amount of staff to assist our guests at all times to keep wait times to a minimum. We apologize that you had to endure the lengthy lines and waits throughout your visit. We understand your sentiment after your stay. However, please know that our guests are very dear to us and we would be absolutely thrilled to welcome you back in the future to provide you with a great, flawless stay as always intended

Kind regards,
Tosha Tanner
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guests@mandalaybay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Address: 3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Bay Hotel Las Vegas
Mandalay Bay Resort And Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.