We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Four star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times. It is a decent hotel by Vegas standards but with very little for excitement. It is at the end of the strip so be prepared for a lot of walking. This trip I was shocked when hotel staff entered my room twice without knocking. This is a huge nono and I was not given any form of apology.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for choosing Mandalay Bay to host you during your previous visit. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced due to the unannounced entries into your room by our staff. You are correct, this was definitely unsuitable behavior, yet very uncommon and we will address your feedback with the appropriate staff. On another topic, we are pleased to inform you we are making several exciting changes to our property. Opening this April is our new nightclub LIGHT, the first-ever nightclub turned on by Cirque du Soleil. Following the launch of LIGHT, in May 2013 will be the arrival of Michael Jackson ONE™ by Cirque du Soleil. We also will be adding several new restaurants, upgrading existing restaurants and making modifications in our casino. Thanks for you feedback. We certainly hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Mandalay Bay very soon.

Kind regards,
Tosha T.
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guests@mandalaybay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,314
    2,449
    1,063
    441
    377
See reviews for
1,650
2,523
305
1,520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at Mandalay Bay on March 9 and 10, 2013. Traveled as a family vacation starting in Las Vegas and driving through Arizona.
- resort is vertical and easy to maneuver; 2 entrances so you can bypass the casino if needed;
- central elevator area to find rooms; room is spacious with very comfortable beds and pillows; soundproofing is good; bathroom is large with 2 sinks, large bath and separate shower area.
- finding food: we only ate at the small cafe for breakfast which was good
- shark reef: excellent; well built and interesting - Disney level attraction
- pools: excellent; sand beach, wave pool, small lazy river, 2 smaller pools, hot tubs - all heated.
- shops: many shops - a mini mall in the lower level
- tram: there is a free tram which runs from M.Bay to the Luxor and Excalibur, which is nice. The tram is okay but not like the smooth ride at DisneyWorld. It does save on the dreaded street walking though. Beware of walking the strip - the sidewalks wind around and up to walking bridges. Wish we would have known this prior. We did a lot of walking. We took cabs also but those were around $25 each time we went up the strip. They (the city and casinos) really need to spend some of their wealth and build a tram all the way up and down the strip. It is much needed.
- Families: do not go on the strip at night - too many creepy characters and men handing out naked prostitute photos everywhere - just awful and not good for kids to witness. But it is legal in the great state of Nevada. There is a lot for kids to see though but rent a car and be in control of what they are seeing.
- Loved the Caesar's Palace Forum Shops - my 13 year old loved it as well.
- Loved the Stratosphere - amazing at the top
- Liked the Stratoshere Roxy's restaurant - the waiters sang old songs while we ate

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, england
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay here after 2 nights at Treasure island. We wanted to spliot our 'strip' time between each end of the strip.
Checkin was quick and easy and whilst waiting we were given a bottle of water which was a very nice touch. Our room was beautiful a huge window, large room with very comfortable beds and a large bathroom with a big bath and seperate shower with lovely products. The room and corridors were all very clean and well maintained.
We could see the stalled structure of the observation wheel on the wasteland at this end of the strip from our window. However, the wheel at the Quad appeared to be well on it's way to being completed.
We weren't huge fans of the Casino here it appeared to be under some kind of renewal, as there were banks of slots missing and at the sides stacked slot machines which weren't in use. Which gave it a rather dishevelled feeling. Also the drink service was really bad, so we rarely used our home casino, preferring to go further onto the strip. Hopefully when the refurb has finished it will return to the very nice casino it has been in the past.
In all the staff and property are very good and we will definately stay again.

Room Tip: High level strip or Mandalay Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We thank you very much for this your review. It thrills us to hear that you enjoyed the amenities within your accommodations. We regret, however, the difficulties you encountered during your visit in our casino due to our renovation project and the service you received from our beverage servers. We will certainly share your comments with the departments involved. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for providing your valued feedback. We hope to see you again soon at Mandalay Bay!

Kind regards,
Tosha T.
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guests@mandalaybay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

From arriving to leaving this was a fantastic experience, we came her for my wife's 50th & there was 6 of us we enjoyed our stay immensely. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, restaurants we used excellent service good quality food. The whole experience of this hotel for us was great & will be our first choice when we come back to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino made our trip to Vegas a good experience. The rooms are clean. Beds are super comfortable. The service of all the staff is polite and helpful. I would recommend this resort to everyone. In fact I liked it so much I am having my granddaughter's 21 birthday there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not expected. Hallways littered with room service trays. Strange smells in hallways and room. Room very worn. Furniture damaged everywhere. Way over due for a renovation. Weird window in bathroom. Poorly designed and poorly decorated. Skip this hotel until they renovate. Better options everywhere. Location is very secluded and the rooms are not worth the walk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We offer our genuine apologies for the several service shortfalls you experienced during your latest stay. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams work intently to make sure all of our rooms are thoroughly prepared and well maintained. We deeply regret the improper state of the accommodations you were assigned. We hope to find out additional information surrounding these very unusual instances, and we hope you can assist us in this process. We look forward to hearing back from you and we will work diligently to host you again in the future. Thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Tosha T.
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guests@mandalaybay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Each year I am able to stay here for my company meetings. The rooms are huge. They include a massive Jacuzzi, separate shower and separate w/c. The hotel is clean and very well taken care of. I have never experienced a single issue. The casino has something for everyone, the restaurants are varied and top notch. This hotel connects to the Luxor by way of a mall which has lots of great shops and restaurants. And with the tram you can easily connect to the rest of the strip. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Address: 3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Bay Resort And Casino
Mandalay Bay Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.