We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, big rooms, but ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Quiet, big rooms, but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms were big (especially the bathroom) and quiet, but I did not find the maintenance and cleanliness to be up to the standards I would expect at this hotel. It was obvious that under the beds was cleaned very often and the bathroom was never cleaned very well during the stay. I also had to bring several maintenance items up (e.g., no light switch on a lamp, non-working phone, non-working TV remote). With the exception of the phone, the items were fixed quickly (the phone was never fixed). The location on the south end of the strip is good because that means there isn't as much traffic through the public areas as other hotels. The public areas do like nice and there are good restaurants here. Use the monorail to aid in getting down the strip (at least to the Excalibur). Convention space is good, but can be limited if your convention is big.

Room Tip: Request a room looking to the north. That way you will get a view of the mountains to the west and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We would like to acknowledge the concerns shared with us. The condition and cleanliness of your room is not indicative of the manner in which we aim to manage our resort. As a resort, we uphold very high standards for the preparation and maintenance of our guest rooms. We regret that these standards were not reflected in the accommodations you received. Thank you for your review. We hope for another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guestx@mandalaybay.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,799
    2,723
    1,150
    474
    391
See reviews for
1,786
2,842
348
1,713
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is not as noisy as some hotels (ie new york new york),
which we quite liked. hotel very well laid out, lots of dining places
and a buffet bar which was good value for your dollars.
rooms, we had a spa suite, which gave the extra space.
The only problem when windy, this can sound like an aircraft
waiting to take off, and actually woke me up.

Room Tip: all rooms seem quite good, the suite give more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Mandalay Bay is a very comfortable hotel. The accommodations here are very generous for the price. The rooms, casino, and pool are very well kept and the spa is one of the best on the strip, second to possibly Aria hotels spa. If you plan on staying at Mandalay Bay, try and make sure to still venture down the strip. There is a lot of action around Mandalay... Luxor, Excalibur, etc which are easily visited by a free tram or people movers, however so many people just get stuck at the tail end of the strip do to the location.
The Pool: Hands down the best pool I've visited. If you plan to go on the weekend or peak season be prepare for a fraternity type of environment with random drunk altercations that usually dont get any further than yelling.
Ambiance: the hotel checkin area is a Kodak destination in itself... Beautiful aquariums and decor are all throughout the hotel and casino.
Be sure to check out the shark reef while you are there. The reed is really only about an hour or so experience so be forewarned not to be too disappointed when it's not like a huge aquarium exhibit... It's Vegas :)
Great for families!!! Especially on week day visits or off season get aways!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed 5 days in November, with the pool area being closed. Still had to pay an additional "resort fee", even though no resort facilities was in operation.

The marginally more expensive THEhotel in the same complex would have been a better choice between the two of them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Social, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize you were unable to visit Mandalay Beach during your stay as it is currently closed for the winter season. We would like to clarify any misunderstanding you experienced in regards to our resort fee inclusions. Our inclusions are an attempt to enhance our guests overall experience by bundling the amenities they use most often. These features include in-room internet (both Wi-Fi and hard-wired access), cardio room access, local calls, 800 Calls, outgoing faxes, boarding pass printing, and a daily newspaper (located in any of our convenience stores, every day of the week). Mandalay Beach is not affiliated with our daily resort fee as it is an exclusive amenity we provide for our guests. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Guestx@mandalaybay.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stay here almost every time I go to Vegas. For business or pleasure they have everything we need. When I bring the fam on business trips, they have the best pool in Vegas. The rooms are always clean and updated with the latest TV's and electronics. The beds and very comfortable. But most of all, they go out of their way to treat everyone well. I recommend Red Square and Ri Ra, both outstanding. The Asian place not so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice rooms and very clean hotel. Lots of restaurants but limited mid-price food offerings - walked over to the Luxor to get basic fast food.Really nice pool area. Nice Casino and not too smoky.
Long walk from the hotel area to the conference area. Aquarium inside the hotel takes about 15 minutes to walk through - not really worth the money.
Check in at 11pm took 45 minutes. Check out was fast. Would probably not stay here again because it is too far down the strip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week beginning of nov it was great. Rooms are comfortable got one on the 30th floor with a great view. The great plus here was the pool which is a great place to relax for a while to get away from the hustle and bustle of Vegas. It is not ideally situated though as it is a bit far from the strip. There is also a great array of restaurants that will satisfy any budget and any taste bud. The casino is nice too although the minimum bets here often reach $15 if you don't play weekday mornings. I especially recommend this hotel if you're travelling as a couple or as a family.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Address: 3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Vegas.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Bay Hotel Las Vegas
Mandalay Bay Resort And Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.