We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Area More For The Young Crowd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Pool Area More For The Young Crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

First the positives: Our room on the 24th floor was elegant and quiet. Overall, the hotel is very pretty and the staff very good. Now the negatives: The biggest for us was that we were anticipating a nice, quiet, relaxing time by the pool, with a good book. Instead the pool area was like a small water park. The beach chairs are packed like sardines, the music is loud, the average age is under 30, loud helicopters continually fly by, and the shaded areas are minimal. The hotel has side-by-side pools, but one of the pools was closed. It didn't open until the other pool was filled to capacity. Our pool area was so crowded, you literally had the next person inches away from you. Not a good scene when you are trying to relax and read. There were several smokers nearby, people talking loudly, and music blaring. Another bizarre thing for a destination hotel is that the pool area closes at 6:00 p.m., so forget going to the pool in the evening. If your idea of spending time by the pool is to relax and enjoy peace and quiet, this hotel is not for you!
Check-in - When we arrived at the hotel, there were probably about one hundred people in line. It took 25 minutes standing in line to check in and we were informed that the king non-smoking room we had reserved was not available. The hotel adds an automatic $25 Resort Fee for each day (even though we didn't arrive until early evening) The room has super expensive snacks and drinks in the mini-bar, but no coffee maker!
Location is also a negative. The Mandalay Bay is at the end of the strip. There is a free tram that takes you a few blocks, but we recommend getting a city bus ticket or else you will be doing a lot of walking.
And lastly, if you take a shuttle from the airport, expect to get an unofficial "tour" of Las Vegas as everyone gets dropped off at their hotels. Our shuttle trip from the airport to the hotel took an hour and a half. Viva Las Vegas - not so much!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 24th floor and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,439
    2,522
    1,088
    453
    380
See reviews for
1,676
2,611
316
1,586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Bad impression, horrible experience. Pretty place and all but the service is horrible. Check in to a used dirty room, call many time but no body come to clean it. I waited the whole day, and some body finally come, but i still dont feel comfortable staying with the feeling of somebody stayed there. Then they didnt inform us clearly what time we have to check out. We went out and come back, they lock us out of our room. Then we have to pay them amother 50 dollars for check in again to get our stuff. I was so upset. Next time, i wouldnt definitely come here because of this bad impression. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
First, please accept our apologies for the unusual difficulties you experienced during your stay. We would never assign our guests with a room type that has yet to be serviced, and we apologize if we had received miscommunication surrounding the cleanliness status of the room. Again, this rarely, if ever, occurs; your comments have been expedited to our Housekeeping and Front Desk team.

Please know that the checkout time is stated by our Front Desk Agents during check in. More, the time is also listed on the registration card signed by all guests prior to receiving room keys; guests must sign next to the stated check out time to acknowledge their understanding of the stated time. We also list the checkout time on materials found in guest accommodations and collateral handed out by the Front Desk (room key folder). We apologize if you had not been aware of the 11:00 a.m. checkout time. We do ask our guests to reach out to our Guest Services and Front Desk team at any time if they have questions or requests, such as requesting a late checkout.

We appreciate your feedback for the knowledge you bring to our attention will allow us to make the appropriate operational improvements. Thank you for allowing us an opportunity to address your concerns.

Kind regards,
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

You can't beat this hotel for the pool area. They have a great beach area, wave pool, and a lazy river as well as regular pools. You do have to purchase the tube for the lazy river but can go in it without a tube if you wish. You have to use your room key to get into the pool area so it would be difficult to bring in others who are staying at different hotels. We were upgraded to The Hotel. It was nice but farther away from everything including the pool and the bathroom was not as nice as the bathrooms in the regular hotel. The room seemed smaller overall. Check out was much quicker than the regular hotel. There is a restaurant/bar on the top floor of The Hotel that I recommend going to. They have limited happy hour specials and spectacular views of the city. The hotel is at the end of the strip so it is quiet at night. You can get a $7 bus pass to go to the heart of the strip - pass good for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback! You have passed on some great tips and suggestions to future travelers! It has been our pleasure to host you, and we certainly hope you will join us again soon at Mandalay Bay.

Kind regards,
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I say better than expected because I had read so many negative reviews about this place before arriving there that I was almost afraid to go! We arrived from the airport, feeing that we were amost guaranteed a 'half hour' or 'hour-long' wait, only to find... zero wait. We were immediately served by a very pleasant clerk who took time with us and made is feel welcome. OK, on to the elevators. We were expecting '20 minute waits or more', and encountered no waits at all. The only elevator wait was on a Saturday late morning when we waited maybe 10 minutes to go down. So much for what you read in reviews.
Or room was a standard room with 2 queen beds (which is what we asked for). The beds were comfortable, and the room overall was clean and well serviced during our stay. The only thing that really annoyed us was the lack of coffee maker in the room. I was ready for this--I brought with me a small immersion heater, mugs, instant coffee and tea bags. It's a real cheap trick for a hotel not to provide a coffeemaker in the room--every cheap motel on the roadside has a coffee maker. We also didn't ike the $28 'resort fee' but since we had a rental car, it sort of acted as a parking fee, though there isn't really a parking fee, any where in Vegas. The wi-fi was fine, worked well. The candies for sale on the weight-sensitive desk, and fully stocked and overpriced minibar were also expected, and ignored. $8 candies? Come on guys.
But overall it was a pleasant stay. Every single staff member that we encountered greeted us with a smile and friendy greeting. The main floor and casino has easy to read signs directing to the various areas (self parking, tram, the various restaurnts, elevators, etc.) whch is good since it's a huge place. The buffet was worth the $ and a step above in quality,the nearby buffets at Luxor and Excalibur. The pool area is busy but we were able to find chairs at 3 pm--it is hot though and there's no shade unless you pay for it, but we accepted that and just didn't stay too long.
The thing that may make us choose a different place if we return to Vegas, is the distance from the main area of the strip, you really need to take a tram to get anywhere, and it's a longway from , say, Bellagio or the Fashion Show Mall. I also wish they had publicized their MLife program more-- we saw it mentioned but didn't really know the benefits of it.
Thogu we've travelled quite a bit, this was our first trip to Vegas, and we really enjoyed our stay at Mandalay, and would recommend it. It was clean, friendly, fun, high quaility. We'll always have good memories of our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our family 6 adults, 4 kids under 10 stayed over spring break. I guess for Vegas it is family friendly - large wave pool and lazy river. Really not too smoky, places to walk around and see the sights during the day. There is a nice ice cream place, but you have to walk through the casino (don't advise that with kids in the evening). The aquarium there is small but nice for a cold day. It is far enough removed from the main strip that you can avoid that chaos rather easily.

Unfortunately the pool was so busy we waited in an hour line in the morning to even get to the pool and it was standing room only - leading to a very expensive cabana. Over an hour in line to get lunch, limited options. When we checked in there were dirty room service dishes outside the door to our suite. Still there the next day so we called - still there the next day. Talked to the maid, "not her problem", called room service ("OK")... eventually they were removed. It almost became a joke. The room itself was nice. Of course food, drinks (and everything in Vegas is expensive), although the flight and room package was reasonable.

That said, kids had a great time watching the lights, playing the arcade games at nearby places, lunch and snacks along the strip, pools, and aquarium. Adults took shifts so anyone wanting to go to the casino could. I guess if you take kids to Vegas this is the most child friendly place on the strip - certainly lots of families there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The room furnitures are getting tired, there is no courtesy coffee or tea in the room, you'll be charged 18$ resort fee a day for Internet use. Casino is like all other casinos and restaurants are expensive, the food was average but the price tag is above all expectations. So, as a resume, if you like to say you've been in an expensive place, you won't be deceived. But if you expect perfection, detail care, outstanding service, and the high quality you deserve when you pay 400$ a room on a Satursday evening, than this place is far below expectations. They can improve for sure, they can charge for ice cubes ;-)

Room Tip: Avoid any room on the strip with MacLarran airport view, else you will ear the plane !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB_Guest_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We thank you for your feedback. Thank you for also allowing us to host you. We are endlessly grateful for our dear guests that travel from both near and far destinations to stay at our resort. Regarding our restaurants, we’re very proud of our on-property dining choices. From unique international cuisine to American favorites to fine dining selections crafted by internationally known celebrity Chefs and Sommeliers, we feature an unmatchable selection.

We’re also excited to share with you that we will be remodeling our THEhotel and Mandalay Bay room towers over the next 2 to 3 years. During our hotel room remodel project, we will also be adding new restaurants to our property as well as a new night club. By the end of 2012, we will have also completed the implementation of a full-service food court featuring affordable dining options brought to you by some of the most well-known quick-eats brands.

Most of all, we continually fine-tune our processes and attention to detail in every department on property. Your comments motivate us to continue with our wholehearted efforts to improve and evolve as a premier resort. Thank you for your patronage.

Kind regards,
Mandalay Bay Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Mandalay Bay for the Photoshop World conference in early September. My favorite part of this casino/hotel is that it is light and airy, and doesn't smell smokey. I went to some neighboring properties while in town, and they seemed darker and smokier. I really liked the Irish Pub, and the Sports Book was a good place to get a sandwich. I'd like to bring my wife back sometime for an actual vacation, and enjoy the pool!

Room Tip: My room overlooked THEHotel and I could see a little of Luxor next door. It would be more fun to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino

Address: 3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Bay Resort And Casino
Mandalay Bay Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.