We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Station Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Main Street Station Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Main Street, Between Fremont Street and I-95, Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Vegas Fun Special
Ranked #55 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Incredible value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The good points, clean reasonable sized functional room, 2 queens, TV, aircon, free wifi in most public areas, free parking on site. Minor niggles, no fridge in room, noisy aircon unit (but it was 110 F outside!), no wifi in room, no tea coffee making facilities in the room but these are very minor niggles bearing in mind the deal I got on hotels.com. I actually booked this hotel expecting the worse and prepared to stay elsewhere and parking the car here, my theory being 3 nights here included free parking and was cheaper than 3 days parking at one of the strip hotels. I was pleasantly surprised. The deals you can get at this hotel can put you off, I asked myself why it was so cheap and having stayed there I still do not know why. We ate at the Triple 7 restaurant / brew pub and enjoyed their local beers. We had breakfast at the Garden court buffet. Both are highly recommended. The hotel is only 2 minute walk from Fremont Street Experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    309
    90
    30
    9
See reviews for
125
272
87
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This casino/hotel is located right off the end of Freemont Street, which makes it a better choice for families and couples that don't want as much of the "adult only" Vegas surroundings. The rooms are showing their age, with a little peeling paint around the tub, but they are very clean. We use this as a stop off on our 2 day drives to see the family, and it is a nice room at a decent price.

Room Tip: Fireworks shoot over Freemont Street on the 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We all know that everyone travels to "Vegas" to gamble, but what we need to understand is this, that while gambling is on all our minds, there is always a little of something else one is looking for. The list of reasons for some could vary, from taking in a few good shows, doing some off the Strip sight seeing, a little shopping here and there, or looking to be pampered by some of the best hotel, spa and resort casinos found in Vegas. Then, we have those who strictly visit for some good ole' fashion hard core gambling--the one's who dream of raking in as much as possible when a "hot" roller steps onto the "crap tables." You're not going to find this up on the Vegas strip, nor will it be at some of those beautifully placed hotel casinos situated on the out skirts of Vegas. If you're looking for some real serious good crap table gambling, you better jump on your car and head straight to downtown "Fremont" street where all the action is. And for this type of gambling, hands down, we always head straight to the Main Street Station Hotel & Casino and its sister "Boyd" hotels, the California Hotel & Casino and Fremont Hotel and Casino. But, let's just concentrate on the Main Street at this time. Of all the Boyd hotels downtown, the Main Street is the newest of all 3 properties,
and conveniently adjoined by a walkway to the California hotel. The casino's high ceilings, wooden panels with a touch of stain glass windows here and there and spaciousness, is not a bit overwhelming, but offers a comfortable atmosphere to maneuver about without getting lost. The rooms too, are nice sized, adequate as far as comfort goes, but may be lacking when it comes to the savvy technology offered by many of the 4 & 5 star strip hotels. But, at this point, who cares, we're here for some good crap table gambling and here to make some serious money. The Boyd hotels are mainly frequented by Hawaii visitors who call Vegas their "9th" island away from home, and who also come to do some serious gambling being that Hawaii does not offer gambling. The buffet offers some great eats and variety at a very reasonable cost too. It really doesn't matter what restaurants in the Boyd's hotel one chooses to eat at because the food is still great and still quite inexpensive. There is one thing you should all know about those who travel from Hawaii to play the crap tables, they'll surely cheer you on to the very moment you release that pair of dice, they'll wait patiently as you set up to make that winning throw, and they'll give out some high five's and maybe even a little dance or song after your number hits. Hands down, they have some the best & longest rollers I've seen so far. You only see this type of action at the Main Street, California or Fremont hotel. You'll even see "golden arm" plaques upon the walls at the California hotel for those who hold the dice for more than an hour plus, and believe me, these hawaiians hold them dice for a long time.
If you're an avid craps table gambler, don't lose out on being there during those frequent and special moments when the dice is rolling hot, hot, hot! For those who work the machines only, you'll find a lot of variety and some very good poker machines too. Don't forget to sign up for the Bconnected players card which can be used at all Boyd and Coast properties. The comps are very generous when it comes to rooms and food for players. So, the next time you go to Vegas & want to do some serious gambling, head on downtown, it may not give you the glitz and glamour that the Strip does,
but, you're more likely to leave Vegas with some money in that wallet of yours. Happy Gambling!

Room Tip: Groups from Hawaii fill hotel up fast, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

It would be a mistake to go to Vegas stay on the strip and not go 'Downtown' This place is less than a 5 min walk from Freemont St and is definantly worth it. The beer is good quality and the prices are very reasonable. I ate the Pizza which was very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had the pleasure of gaming, eating and staying at Main Street, downtown Vegas. A Boyd property, it is a throw back to the old days in vegas; decor was great, gaming fair, and food reasonable and good. The rooms were average with old tv's; would give them a slight "ding" for that; suggested they put in new falt screens!! Otherwise just a room, which is what most people want in vegas. Easy walk to the canopy covered Freemont St.
If you are looking for a fancy room, stay elsewhere; if you are looking for good food, good gaming and old time vegas atmosphere; try this proiperty.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I stay at the Main Street Station twice a year and just love the place. My mother-in-law and brother-in-law came with us in March. The rooms are nice, and the people there are very friendly. The atmosphere is comfortable. The machines are looser downtown as well. At the MSS you get a scratch card worth $2-$5000 any time you get 4 of a kind or better!! Also, the brewery makes great beer, and it is not expensive in the casino (drinks are comped if you are playing!!) the 777 brewpub also has sushi. If you want to go to the strip (we don't) the MSS has a free shuttle. I could go on and on, but you get the idea. We love it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Holly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Everything about this place is awesome. The dealers are very, very nice and will help amateurs not make mistakes. I like the fact that the blackjack tables have lots of $5 minimums. You won't find this on the Strip... I promise. I like the fact that beer and liquor flow to the tables continuously. It wasn't good for me because I got way too tipsy, but it makes losing (and winning) more fun.

The food is great. We ate several times at the 777 Brewery. Good beer, sushi, burgers. The calamari is a must order. Big pieces and good dipping sauce.

The rooms were about average. Nothing fancy, but very clean. I didn't have any issues with noise. Overall, MSS is a good value for you dollar.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Main Street Station Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Station Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 North Main Street, Between Fremont Street and I-95, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#60 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Station Hotel & Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian architecture & ambience - 1 block north of Fremont St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Main Street Station Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Station Hotel Las Vegas
Main Street Station Hotel And Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Station Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.