We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3000 Paradise Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly LVH - Las Vegas Hotel & Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Overall, a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I have stayed at the hotel before and knew much of what to expect. This is classic LV and the way it should be, instead of a family theme park. The rooms are nice, but the housekeeping did leave something to be desired. The sportsbook is amazing and the staff at the pool bar are great, especially Joey. I will return here on my next trip to Vegas.

  • Liked — Pool Bar
  • Disliked — Manilow Store
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    1,264
    1,190
    724
    598
See reviews for
613
1,215
370
1,231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,096)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

Just returned from 5 nights at the Las Vegas Hilton where I was staying for a trade show at the adjacent conference centre.
The hotel was perfect, 5 minutes walk to the conference halls and I have to say I prefered staying off strip - just too tacky down there for my liking.
I stayed in a refurbished room on the 3rd floor of the North Tower. The room was large, the bed was ridiculously comfortable to the point I didn't want to get out of it. Cleaned twice a say and was very clean, which surprised me based on other reviews.
I ate in the buffet restaurant next to the sports book in the casino which was great at $17.95 for a massive selection of food and free beer, wine and sof drinks,.
The casino is huge and friendly (unlike some of the others) with plenty of cocktail waitresses, I am now addicted to thw Wheel of Fortune slots - a shame we dont have them in the UK.
Every member of staff I encountered was friendly, cheerful and seemed interested.
Would not hesitate to stay at the Hilton again.

  • Liked — Rooms, staff and Casino
  • Disliked — Checking Out
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

My DW, sister-in-law & her boyfriend stayed at the Hilton from Saturday, May 24 2008 to Monday, May 26 2008. The Hilton was a very nice and from what we saw, a well kept property. We walked to Circus Circus, Slots of Fun & Riviera from the Hilton with no problems. My DW and I stayed in Room 2409 in the Central Tower overlooking the pool, convention center & strip. We had adjoining rooms with my sis-in-law & bf. but for some reason, our room was bigger and included a vanity area with stool and a larger seating area for the same price. The room contained a large flat screen TV, a small safe (not large enough for a laptop), ironing board & iron & there was no fridge. The bathroom contained Soap, face wash, shampoo, (no conditioner), lotion & a shower cap, hairdryer with extra TP & tissues in the closet & on the shelf above the toilet. The bathroom was clean & large enough although the shower head was low. The water in the room was $4 a bottle so be aware. The vending machines down the hall consisted of soda & snacks which operated with coins, bills or debit/credit cards. There is a 24 hour gift shop/snack store in the hotel on the first floor just past the Star Trek casino area which sold souvenirs, sodas/
water/beer/liquor, assorted food items & cigarettes. There is also a ice cream/breakfast/lunch/pizza hut called Perk Place further along past the wedding chapel that sold awesome croissants for $6.95 plus tax which included juice or coffee. Made when you order it and very tasty. Just past this was an exit & to the right was a "scenic" elevator (a glass elevator that affords you a view of the outside but it has no observation area just a regular elevator that people ride up & down on) do not bother, go to the Stratosphere for a view. There was also a video arcade down this hall but we never saw it in operation (in the morning when we were around there that is, don't know about during the day). There was also a Barry Manilow shop that I happily by-passed (could care less about him, sorry). Our favorite place in the hotel was Quarks bar & restaurant while drinking a Warp Core Breach (WCB). This was the best drink we had in Vegas hands down & the most fun drinking it as well. The Full size WCB in a giant fish bowl glass & metal frame ($30) contains 10 shots of liquor & other ingredients & the Mini WCB ($15) in a large fish bowl glass contains only 5 but they bubble & smoke from the dry ice in them & look cool & taste even better. We had pizza for lunch there $15 but it was great although a little small for 2 people if you are really hungry. We encountered a Borg during the time we waited to get our room, his name is #3 & he was the best character we saw on the trip. All of the characters would talk to you (in their own way) and pose for pictures with no problem. I am not a trekkie but we had a blast talking with them. There was also a Klingon, and 3 other characters that I can't remember the names for. This is a must do if you stay here (& even if you don't). The entrance to the Mono/Rail is through the Star Trek area & was $9 per person for a 24 hour pass & worth every cent. There was entertainment at night but we only saw a small part of it as we were busy trying to see all of Vegas in a few days. Check-in was easy (no line at all)& our room was ready around 2pm, so if you get there early as we did (11:30am), use the bag check service desk to the right of the front desk & this was very convenient & worked well. We picked up our bags & went to the rooms after a short time spent wandering around the hotel, casino & Quarks Bar for lunch. This may seem a long time to wait but it went by so fast as there was so much to see plus lunch to eat & a WCB to drink. Check-out was easy & fast. We printed boarding passes at a computer provided for this near baggage check for $3 to save time at the airport. The taxi ride from the airport was $28.40 & took about 20+ minutes but we found out on the return trip with an honest cabbie that the ride takes half that time & therefore half the fare. If you get in a Ford Explorer cab with a toothless driver, get out & wait for another one, he is crooked. Paradise Road goes straight to the airport by the way but we didn't realize it on the trip in. The only draw-back we encountered was my sister-in-law bought a sandwich from the 24 hour shop & neglected to check the expiration date & paid the price that night around 4am. Needless to say they were mad at the hotel for this (I don't agree, you have to check the date on stuff like that, or not buy it at all in my opinion). This was a great hotel/casino & a great time.

  • Liked — Quarks Bar
  • Disliked — I didn't win big
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

You come to expect some kind of standard from a Hilton, but this place was disgusting. I know we were in Las Vegas, so I wasn't on a culture trip, but at least give me a clean room!!!

Rooms were mukky, staff were very rude and the place was just full of terrible places to eat, selling cheap low quality food.

Vegas is the place to gamble and staying here was certainly one were the house won!!!

Avoid!!!

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

I've stayed here off and on for 20 years and it continues to rate as a great value and fine Hilton property. The newer rooms in the North Tower are as up to date as any on the strip -- I stayed at the 4 Seasons in Jan. for business and it was no cushier -- and you can get in and out of the place if you have a car much more easily than other venues. The Buffet -- included for breakfast if you're a Diamond HH -- is still excellent, though service was spotty the first day. The spa is old Las Vegas, but for me was fine, though the audio system for the TV was not working.

We saw Menopause, which plays in the Shimmer Cabaret -- skip it unless you've experienced menopause or want to be around women who have. I'm at a loss to know why it's run for 3 years.

The front desk was very friendly -- I was very pleased with my stay. And the on-line rates are hard to beat.

  • Liked — size of hotel
  • Disliked — spotty buffet service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

I stayed at the LV Hilton from May 23-30. I had to be next door at the Convention Center from the 26th-30th, so my wife came along for the first few days of the trip and we decided to try out the Hilton.

I have to say the reviews I read prior to checking in had me worried. After staying there for a week I can say it wasn't that bad a hotel. Make sure of two things to make your experience more positive, reserve an upgraded room AND sign up in the Hilton Honors program. There was a special line for Honors members for check-in that took no time at all. The "regular" line wasn't bad when I arrived, but throughout my stay there were times when it was rather lengthy.

When I made my reservation I had reserved a Superior Strip View room for the first 3 nights ($159/nt) and downgraded to a standard room ($139/nt) for the remainder of my stay. The woman who checked me in told me I could stay in the Superior room for the length of my stay so that I wouldn't have to change rooms. I also was given my original booked price. The Superior room was nicely furnished and appeared to be recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff was great. The only shortcomings were the poor reception on the TV and the tub would not drain. We called the front desk and the drain was fixed quickly, but the TV never seemed to clear up. This room was worth the extra $ and I would suggest the North tower strip view to anyone.

Co-workers joined me on the 27th and they had reserved standard rooms. Upon inspection they were more on the level of a Motel 6 than any other Hilton I have stayed in before. Despite having non-smoking rooms they smelled like a casino and the furnishings were well below par. I would not have stayed in one of these rooms for $139/nt. After complaining to the front desk, they were offered remodeled rooms for the same price which they gladly accepted.

The casino is average at best, not really a place you would want to spend much time.

The pool was OK, the "Cool By the Pool" 2 for 1 drink special helped, but the scene was rather poor.

We ate at many of the restaurants and had no real complaints. The buffet wasn't worth the $17.99, so I would suggest passing on it. The Paradise Cafe is good for breakfast.

As far as location is concerned, the Hilton is definitely off the beaten path as far as the strip is concerned. However, the monorail is extremely convenient and can get you up and down the strip rather quickly. A 3-day unlimited pass was $40 and well worth it. It was easy to go where we wanted to without having to pay for a cab and sit in traffic.

Overall I would say as long as you upgrade your room you should be OK. It is an older hotel compared to others in Vegas, but if the price is right then I think it's worth it.

  • Liked — Beds, view
  • Disliked — Main elevators (look for "Scenic" elevator in North tower, never a line)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We only stayed at the Hilton for one night. We had a room reserved at the MGM Grand for the rest of our stay and only stayed our first night in Vegas at the Hilton because we were able to stay for free using hour Hilton Honor points. The hotel is off of the strip, however we did get a room with a view of the strip. You can't see much of the strip, but we could see some of the strip. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful we were able to check in at noon. The room was clean and a good size. There is a safe in the room, but there is a $3.00 a day charge to use it. The beds were too soft and I did not find them very comfortable. The pillows were very flat, which would not have normally been a problem if you could have more than one. When we called the front desk to ask for additional pillows we were told they were all out. The bathrooms need renovated badly, the shower head was just about ready to fall off of the wall. We called for towels and they never arrived. I eventually found a member of the staff walking in our hall and was able to get some towels from her. One nice thing about the hotel is that it is on the monorail so it has easy access to the strip for a price. I would not stay again at this hotel unless I was able to get a really great price.

  • Liked — front desk staff
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino

Address: 3000 Paradise Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly LVH - Las Vegas Hotel & Casino)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unparalleled value, comfort, and variety at the Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino, a premier off-Strip hotel in Las Vegas, NV, steps from the Las Vegas Convention Center. Offering a unique blend of sophistication and attraction with incredible restaurants, endless entertainment, and the world's largest Race & Sports Book in town, the Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino is ready to excite, entice, and engage all of your senses. Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino boasts some of the most affordable rooms and suites, all while providing direct access to Las Vegas Blvd. By way of the monorail from their convenient off-Strip location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lvh - Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Lvh - Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Hilton Hotel Las Vegas
Hilton Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.