We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Staff +++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8669 West Sahara Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89117 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express The Lakes (Las Vegas))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #21 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Seattle, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location & Staff +++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We travel to Las Vegas yearly to visit our son in the area. This hotel has always been our #1 choice for hotel accommodations. The location is very convenient as it is right across the street from our son's home, as well nearby grocery and eateries. My husband and I have always thought the property was beautiful, but are now even more impressed with some recent changes that it has undergone. The rooms are clean with many updated amenities ( 1 cup keurig machines were a wonderful touch. ) Most importantly I must commend the staff on such a positive, friendly, and professional attitude throughout our stay. Unfortunately I do not remember exact names but everyone from the cleaning staff to the front desk team were wonderful. Thank you all!
Barb & Rich

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete such a wonderful review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    48
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
61
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Where to start?

First, this establisment needs a thorough review of Fire Safety Standards. The cleaning. Perhaps that should be scrubbing and washing. I can not beleive this kind of estabvlishment exists in a major metropolis like Las Vegas.

We were on the lower level. The door to the parking lot is electronically controlled. A push button next to the door lets you out. Late at night, I went out to the our vehicle to get someting that we had forgotten. The electric button did not work. I went to the totally disinterested front desk to tell her. She said she woukd get maintenance to look at it. Stupidly, I thought this would happen.

Early next mornig, I went to our vehicle and the door still did not work. I wonder what LVFD would think?

Whether it was examined, I do not know. But the door was inoperable. The only way off the lower level is up the stairs. A fully occupied lower level trying to exit the building in a fire alarm?????

Next, this is a very much older establishment in need of a complete refit. Our telehone had a short-circuit and rang all night. A trip to the reception yielded "take the phone off the hook". Well, that didn't work. It continued to ring every n15 minutes to every hour.

The toilet wobbles when you sit on it and beyond reseatting it, a good amount of caulking around the base would be required.

The stairs to the main floor and breakfast room are filthy. The carpets are disgusting and the handrail, which may have been white paint at some time, is a lovely shade of brown. Wash your hands if you use the handrail..

The breakfast area with seven tables was second smallest of all on our trip. We left without eating as the number of rooms couldn't possibly meet the rush.

This establishment is touted as having easy access to the Strip by other contributors. It took us ten minutes by car to get to the Strip. If you are walikngh, you better be a marathon runner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Trafdlo,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It is regrettable that your experience here was unpleasant. The issues listed in your review have been taking seriously and are currently being addressed. The property recently underwent new ownership and is in the process of many new renovations. The Hall way and stairway carpet is in the works to be replaced, as we just finished replacing all of our guest room carpet this week. The exit doors do you require you to push and hold down the exit button if the sensor does not operate. The staff here knows this is a big inconvenience for our guests, and are also working to have these replaced with upgraded panic bar doors. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on trip advisor, and look for forward to a second chance to better exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed at the BW in West Las Vegas for the past two years. It is always quiet as well as very clean. They are pet friendly. The staff is friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The pool is indoors and open 24 hrs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
The Best Western Plus staff and I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family during your recent visit to Las Vegas. It is very wonderful to hear we were able to exceed and all your expectations, we look forward to serving you and your family on any future trips. Thank you once again for all of your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I were in the area visiting our son and found this hotel to be centrally located for all our activities from Red Rock Canyon to the strip. The facility sits back off the road so noise isn't a problem and is probably about 75% there to the next remodel but was very serviceable for our needs. The area appears to be very safe for walking and many restaruants are nearby. The morning breakfast is above average and has a variety of items to choose from with menu changes each day. The staff is very cordial especially the young lady working the night shift and the breakfast folk. Vegas drivers go fast until they hit something and use their horn regularly so those used to driving in more laid back settings should get used to what might be called rudeness in another setting. All in all I found everyone very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel thru a business where I was attending a seminar. All I have to say is WOW! The staff at this hotel is so pleasant and made me feel very comfortable. The area surrounding it is very safe with many dining options within walking distance. My room was very clean and spacious. I did not have a chance to grab any breakfast but it did smell quite delicious. From the checking in process by Luli to the checking out process, everything was great. I will be attending many more seminars in Las Vegas and look forward to many more great future stays!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Somewhat aging Best Western hotel. Rooms seemed clean but my room which I did not ask for, was a handicap bathroom. The shower valve placed off to the side for easy wheelchair access was about to blow off the wall. Obviously broken as it was dripping, I took a shower that evening and was praying I could manage to turn it off before shooting out of the wall. I mentioned it to the staff in the morning and came back late that evening and nothing was done. I mentioned it again with a little more emphasis to a different staff and it was finally replaced after two nights into the stay. How could you do that to a person that was really in a wheel chair or handicapped? Inexcusable!
Also breakfast room is tiny and very cramped even for a few people. With more than 4 people it's extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We needed two rooms (each with two queen beds, because we were 5 guys).
We arrived at the hotel a bit early (about 2pm), so we had to wait a little while to get to our rooms.
The staff was friendly. They told us, that we could use the pool in the meantime, if we wanted to.
After about half an hour our rooms were ready. The rooms were pretty spacious and very clean. Nothing to complain about.
We went to the Outback Steakhouse (which is just a few steps away) for dinner.
It's always convenient to have some restaurants in walking distance to your hotel.
Dinner was great by the way!
The breakfast next morning was quite basic, but they had pretty good cinnamon rolls (tasted almost like the ones at Holiday Inn Express).
You can't go wrong with this hotel, especially if your rate is under 80 bucks per room !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West

Address: 8669 West Sahara Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89117 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express The Lakes (Las Vegas))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Las Vegas West is located near the Summerlin area, 7 miles from the Strip.We offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, an LCD television with cable television and in-room movies, a coffeemaker, a desk, room service, a microwave, a refrigerator and much more. We also have suites with a hot tub and kitchen. Complimentary full breakfast is served every morning from 6:30-9:30am.We have an indoor pool and spa, fitness room, business center, guest laundry and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Las Vegas West Hotel Las Vegas
Holiday Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Vegas West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.