We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more topless Pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Vegas! Rooms from $35
Ranked #129 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No more topless Pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The GO pool is no longer topless. We called to called to confirm, but the information person was wrong. Sign at pool says NO Topless. Local police scared all topless pools.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,781
    5,368
    3,742
    2,098
    1,551
See reviews for
2,469
5,654
812
1,193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,892)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My mother and I just returned from a trip to Vegas. We stayed 5 days at the Flamingo Hotel. What a mistake!!! Booking the hotel as a package through Southwest Airlines, we could have stayed at the Paris or Bally's for the same price, but chose the Flamingo for the pictures of the pool on their website. Check in is a nightmare. You can't get into your room until 4:00 and 6:00 pm. We were excited to be arriving in Vegas before 9:00 am, which would have been great if we could have dropped off our luggage, changed clothes and gone to the pool (they do offer bag check service, so we didn't have to lug our things around all day). When we finally got to our room, it was the most filthy, disgusting room I have ever seen, and we both travel extensively. Instead of a 3 star hotel, it should have been a one star. Upon entering the room, I walked into the bathroom and stepped on something hard and plastic. Had I taken off my shoes, it would have been in my foot. There was hair all over the bathroom floor, the tub didn't appear to have been cleaned for years, there was stuff all over the carpet. We trekked back down to the desk and requested another room. Three disgusting, filthy rooms later, we were rudely told by the manager, Tony Rosa, that all rooms looked like that unless we paid $30 extra per night for one of their renovated "go rooms." After arguing, the price came down to $20 per night. The "go rooms" are very nice. Too bad you have to pay extra for what should have been the only option! The elevators to the rooms were just as disgusting. Upon arrival, we went upstairs and the floor of the elevator was black and sticky, like someone dumped a drink and didn't clean it up. The elevator mess wasn't cleaned up until the next afternoon. We chose this hotel for the pool, which from a distance is beautiful. The green water was so cloudy, you could barely see the bottom of the pool. We didn't find out there was an adult pool until the day before we left. They don't charge for women or let in those under 21. If this describes you and you choose to stay at this dump, try to find this pool, as it is much nicer! The website also boasts a terrific looking gym. What I found out, is that there is a fee to use their facility unless you are a platinum or diamond member. What a rip off! I realize Vegas is a hot spot for conventions, but we were also fortunate enough to spend the better part of the week with middle school dance teams. What a treat!!! For the same money, go somewhere else!! I wish I had!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in June, we stayed in Go room and upgraded to a room with a view of the Bellagio Fountain - fantastic, the room was good with in room safe & good modern bathroom. When staying in the Go Rooms they are near to the lifts, which is important as the corridors are very, very long, so assume the cheaper rooms are somewhere down the very long corridor. I think it was worth the extra to upgrade to a Go Room. The location is the best thing about the hotel, right in the centre of the strip. The pool area is far from the rooms, it was very crowded, so gave it a miss. There was a daily charge for wifi access. Would probably stay there again, but might explore options at Ceasars Palace (across the road) & Planet Hollywood or Paris (just south on the strip) just to find a more relaxing pool atmosphere. There are 2 buses that run on the strip, one is called the Deuce which stops regularly, and the Ace which stop less frequently, you can buy a day, 3 day or 5 day pass and ride anytime valid for either bus. There is an outlet shopping mall located south of the strip serviced by the Ace bus - this was a nice break from the strip for some retail therapy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

After reading the reviews of the Flamingo, I wondered what we'd gotten into! The reviews were terrible! But, gritting my teeth, on we went, because the money was not refundable, and we'd already paid for a package. We went with some friends, and were pleasantly surprised by how lovely the lobby is, and how accommodating the staff is. However, it was a long lineup (constantly) for checking in...took us about a half hour in line 'til it was our turn. We asked immediately for an upgrade, dreading, from reading the reviews, what we would find. And they gave us a suite each! Yes, it's an older hotel, and only 1/3 has been refurbished, but the suite was just fine, t hank you. The only drawback was that the people doing the timeshare deal in the lobby are very insistent, and talked us into going to a "free" breakfast, getting free tickets to shows, and free buffet. But the stupid people never showed up to take us, and when they wanted to put us on a later programme, we refused, and steadfastly complained that we were NOT interested to begin with, but they signed us up for the early breakfast one so we wouldn't waste our whole day. When we waited 45 minutes and still no van came, we complained to the girl at the desk, and after much arguing back and forth, she agreed that we should go have breakfast and she'd be back with our freebees. They also took a $40 deposit. She did bring us our refund, and the tickets to Donny & Marie, and Mac King, but of course, we missed out on the free breakfast. They gave us $30 each for buffet dinner though. So these people should NOT be in the Flamingo and harrassing the guests! That's the worst thing that happened. When we did not get a wakeup call one morning, they gave us free lunch as well...so it all ended up good...Donny & Marie were surprisingly fabulous.

Another drawback was there was no bar fridge, which we'd have liked to keep our water bottles in, but that's just minor.

The staff was friendly, happy to make us happy, anxious to please and the room was very clean, contrary to what the reviews said. They have wonderful Gilchrist & Soames soaps and lotions, which are wonderful, and the maid gave us extra to take home.

In all of Las Vegas, everyone smokes in the casinos, which was another drawback to us non-smokers. And yes, Freemont street slots are much looser than the strip. Try 4 Queens! We were very lucky with the free $5 they gave us for getting a players card. It's a very old place, but the machines are so loose, all four of us won.

Our biggest mistake was not using the "Rewards" card (from the Players club) the whole week; didn't realize 'til the last day you could get comped for the money you spend! We still have them, though, and intend to go back and use them this time.

The pool is wonderful! Yes, it's coolish, but then when you get out, the July heat doesn't get to you for at least an hour and a half!

Don't let the bad reviews turn you off. It's wonderfully located, clean, and lovely. Just don't stop at the Time Share desk!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I have been going to Vegas for years and Flamingo has been one of our favorite hotels with its center strip location and great pool area. Over the past several years we have noticed a decline in the condition of the building, grounds and service.

I don't mind an older room if it is clean but our room was grungy. The tile and fixtures in the bathroom had built up crud. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday and although we were out of our room all day, housekeeping did not clean it. Maybe this is a new energy saving idea that I don't know about but I do know that we had wet towels and unmade beds when we got back to our room at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

If your looking for an inexpensive place to stay and you don't mind being surrounded by people who cashed in the welfare checks to come to Vegas and play, then this might be the place for you.
The casino is actually the cleanest part of the whole hotel, though it looks like it has not been updated for 30 years. The staff was not overly friendly and it took, what seemed forever, to get a drink. The only positive is they has a $1 draft bar near the Texas holdem tables, but anywhere else in the casino the same drinks were $4, mixed drinks $9. The buffet was $28 per person and the food was attroshish, definitely no worth the money. We did venture out to the other casino/hotels and found Harrah's, Oshea's, Imperial Palace to be exactly the same way (ironically they are all owned by the same company). The only upside to the Flamingo was it hosts the Donny and Marie show (which you have to pre-buy tickets for, sold out). Other than the paid shows there is no entertainment.
The pool is nice but you have to pay $15 dollars to use and have to wait for available space to get in. They do have an adult only pool, which sits just off the Flamingo exhibit, which smells like bird feces. The odor was over powering, escpecially on a day when it was 112 degrees.
The rooms were equalivant to that of a Motel 6. Plain, drab carpet, the TV got 30 channels, half of which were advertisement for for shows, gambling and other Vegas attractions. The bathroom was tiled, with several cracks and some missing. The shower/tub had rust rings around the faucets and drain. The electrical outlets (only three) shut off everytime we left the room, so nothing charged completely (cell phones and laptop). They offer WIFI, for $14 a day. It was the only ammenity I actually thought was good in the room ( though each computer that connects has to pay the fee, not a room fee).
The location on the strip is excellent. You are within walking distance of several popular casinos, Ceasars, Paris, MGM, New York New York, City Center, ect., but you might consider staying at one of these other hotels instead.
The class of people at the Flamingo is definitiely interesting. There is a wide diversification of people, but low income is the only true term that can describe it. I Have traveled to Jamiaca and other Carribean Islands and have not felt as out of place as I did at the Flamingo.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I came to Vegas for my birthday and booked through Southwest Vacations. It was my 3rd trip to Vegas on my own, and I wanted to stay Center Strip. Flamingo was cheaper than other hotels and by staying there, I was also eligible for the 24 hour buffet deal (trust me, it was worth it not to worry about where to eat for a day).

Location can't be beat. Center Strip, on the Monorail and from our room, a pretty BS free route to the Monorail (read: no winding trips through the casino), just into the courtyard, through the other side of the hotel and up the escalator.

We got there later Saturday evening so we must have beaten the rush for check in and walked right to the counter. We also booked a Go! room which was probably a better idea. I thought the room was pretty good. Great amenities, clean, (yes the carpet is a little icky but most mid range Vegas hotels are like that). The bed was fine, comfy, sheets were clean, even the little brown coverlet appeared to be washed. The bathrooms were also clean enough. Our last night, we were a little tired so watching the nice big screen TV was great. The Go! room also had a fridge which helped cut down on having to buy drinks.

The cleaning staff did a good job (we had plenty of towels/clean sheets). We left a $10 tip our first day and $20 the last day (stayed 3 nights)

The only downside was the AC. The room never got under 80 degrees which while cooler than the temp outside, was still too hot. The staff wasn't too helpful in getting it fixed either. Other than that, I'd consider staying again if the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.