We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad At All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 273 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Not Bad At All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

Stayed 5 nights in September 2006 during a convention. Booked a room in advance for $140 a night, then discovered I could have it for $100 if I hadn't booked. Will know better next time.

The room was large and clean, bed comfortable, no complaints. The furniture was rather tired but functional.

It seems like the hotel is undergoing renovations - I noticed stacks of new bath tubs, toilet bowls etc. in the back yard as I walked around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,953
    4,123
    2,794
    1,608
    1,191
See reviews for
1762
4300
573
899
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,618)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

We paid 109 for a room and checked in so late that we were given a suite. We were charged twice on our credit card prior to checkin, but a phone call took care of this promptly. Check in was nice. The only problem was that ‘since we’re remodeling all suites are smoke if you want to’. We were not happy with this since we are non smokers and had booked way in advance for a non smoking room. I really hope they are remodeling, the room was auctrocious, not in the least romantic. Carpet was outdated and had two large red stains, we did not know if it was wine or blood and thinking about it really turned us off to the room. There was no view from our room at all. All of the furniture had scratches. The décor was extremely outdated. For 109 you can get a much better room in Vegas (which we have done at other properties). Bathroom was dingy and not well lit. We were really disappointed with this room. The video check out did not work. If you’re in Vegas avoid the Flamingo, you can get a much better deal elsewhere.

  • Liked — not a thing
  • Disliked — grittiness of the room, totally outdated
  • Tips/Secrets — stay somewhere else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

Just had a great 4 day stay at the Flamingo made better by my $750 win on the Jets, but that's beside the point.

I got a standard room for about $120 a nite in a package deal and got what I paid fror. The reason I chose the Flamingo, as most other posters here probably did, was it's location- right in the middle of everything. You will be doing alot of walking in Vegas, so you might as well be in the center of the action- it sits across from some of the bigger and cooler theme hotels- Caesars and the Bellagio and is right next to Bally's, Paris and Harrahs.

When checking in, they upgraded me to a Strip View room for no particular reason; I have no special status at this hotel. The view was great, especially at night and added to the trip. This brings up an interesting travel tip I wish to share: when checking into any hotel, anywhere, try to be as polite and gracious as possible to the desk attendant- many times they can upgrade or even downgrade you arbitrarily based on your attitude- this can make the difference between an oceanfront and alleyfront view. Its worth the investment.

The rooms here are nothing special whatsoever, the whole hotel is kind of showing it's age and the elevators were a little slow, but you did'nt come here to hang out in your room. The hotel grounds however were especially nice with 2 pools including one big one with a waterfall. They also have a mini-zoo thing with flamingos (of course), parrots, ducks, cockatiels, turtles, etc. Nice and great for the kids. If you can find it, there is also an interesting historical marker on the grounds marking the original site of the first Flamingo built by Bugsy Siegel in 1946, since torn down.

Some other tips on the Flamingo:

Second City is Second Rate- The long standing comedy-improv troupe gives shows nightly at their own theatre here. I saw them at the Flamingo 3 years ago and they were awesome. This time, they absolutley stunk. They did little of the brilliant improv, off the cuff humor they are famous for but instead gave the audience a series of puerile sub-SNL sketches about boobies and sex with a dead woman that they must have made up when they were drunk or stoned. Very little talent here and the $47 ticket price did not help- DISAPPOINTING.

George Wallace Rules- George also has his own show here and has been at the Flamigo for 3 years. This husky, old school black comedian is all class. He kept the audience rolling for over 90 minutes with virtually no profanity or sex/body functions jokes- just old fashoned humor, timing and perfect delivery. He includes alot of personal philosophy in his act and I actually left the theatre feeling uplifted. GREAT

Work The Time Share Schpiel- It seems the time-share hawkers are out in force in even greater numbers than the Guatemalan illegal aliens with the smutty hooker leaflets- my advice- nod, smile, say you are not interested and take their gifts. My wife and I invested 2 hours in the Hilton one offered at the Flamingo listening to their promo for time shares and were ligtly pressured by a blow-dried salesperson, but in the end we drank their coffe (good!), ate their danishes, took our free George Wallace Tickets ($130 value), $50 Planet Hollywood gift certificates, and half price tickets for 2 other shows, and walked. Be warned though- their sales techniques were pretty clever and even perked my interest- but even I am not stupid enough to make a $40 grand commitment based on a few cups of coffe.

Rock The Buffet- The Tropical Buffet offered at the Flamingo is superior with a beautiful, classy setting- save lots of room for the excellent selection of pastries and desserts. Try to get a table with a window next to the flamingos and waterfall.

Good luck and happy travels!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Old, worn out
  • Tips/Secrets — See Review
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee,Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

Hilton Flaming Las Vegas july 2006
trip advisor Dundee, Scotland
Having read the reviews about poor a/c cramped rooms small bathrooms, dated furniture etc I thought maybe not but as we were meeting up with my sister and her kids from origon and we had my 9 year old the pool review swung it for us.Yes it was busy and at times geared for groups it was segragated with no problems and certainly well staffed. It certainly does not have the rowdy culture you would see with youngsters in any european resort pool area and I have been to many. The hotel reasturants were fine no complaints there and as we were there six nights you were always out and about eating at different hotels and doing the sights. I couldnt agree with the reviews on the hotel rooms ours was a standard with two kings the toilet was big enough for one in it at a time which is all you need and anyway you must be sad if you want to stay in your room all day,ours was for sleeping in at night and on the 23rd floor heard nothing and yes we were even near the elevators.The check in was at the airport and no lines to stand in,dont bother waiting around for the hotel bus it does multipal stops and is actually dearer, jump in a taxi it is only $12.00 .Check out the room by settling your bill by your credit card on the room television and walk straight out the hotel easy as that, then people dont have to write reviews that warn of long lines at check outs. We treated ourselves to a further two nights across the strip at ceasars palace and no complaints there either, the room was smaller but "hey ho". And tv check out there also.If you are a normal person with normal aspirations and dont want to complain just to see how many freebies you can get then worth the stay for a room for three @$624.00 for six great days and nights. And would go back again.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

I guess this hotel can be hit or miss judging form the wide range of reviews on this website. All in all, we had a wonderful time. We stayed on teh twelvth floor with a great view of the pool. Don't waste your money on the strip view for it is an extra charge. Our room was updated (ask when checking in and get a room two to three floors below the renovation zone). Ours had a nice sitting area with all new furniture and a comfy bed. Standard but nice bathroom and good maid service. Room 15015 if you want to be specific.

The pool is fabulous with a great happy hour there from 4-8pm. Good adult pool away from the kids too. Misters on the palm trees kept everyone cool. Fun water slide if you want to make an idiot out of yourself by sliding (which I did and loved it!). New is the European tanning area where ladies can go topless.

Spa was small but good with good fitness center and seperate facilities for men and women. Spa has a steam room, wet and dry sauna, and three jacuzzi (hot, warm and cold). Good attendants and free fruit and water. Nice leather couches to lounge on and watch TV.

Casino was nothing special but decent enough with the standard games. Wouldn't recoommend the restraunts because they just aren't that good. The buffet was average.

Location can't be beat though for you are right in the middle of everything. All in all, I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Restraraunts
  • Tips/Secrets — get a room two to three floors below the renovation zone of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

Alright so I'm the guy that had the broken toilet that was never fixed, a safe that was never opened, a room that was not cleaned from the previous hotel patrons, and was never given an ashtray although it was a smoking room.

I had to do my business in the bathroom in the lobby, the lady at the buffet line gave us grief about using a coupon they gave us and made us go through several procedures before honoring a five dollar discount for PART of our group. On top of that my friend lost multiple thousands of dollars at the tables often times playing 100 dollar hands to get a whooping comp value of 75 cents.

At the margaritaville restaurant on site, I was horrified when I realized instead of playing the monday night football game on the big screen (which most had money on) they were showing jimmy buffet playing the same five songs in a "Speed" like loop. When I thought it couldn't get any worse than the horrible music and mediocre american food. That's when the show began. Two guys dressed as captains on stilts dancing over women and a hot girl that goes into a volcano and then slides down into margarita mix. No margaritas for me I don't want the taste of lotion and fish in my mouth the rest of the trip. Then the guys on stilts made balloon "swords" for the kids that just didn't look right. I couldn't go back to the tables fast enough to lose my money and get no comps.

I've stayed at Aladdin, MGM Grand, and Paris. If you go to Vegas stay at a newer hotel it's usually around the same price and is tons better than this older hotel without anything very compelling for you to stay here.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The broken toilet
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

Spent Friday and Saturday night at Caesar's Palace, Sunday and Monday at Flamingo. We go where the comps are given, but in the future, we will not be staying at the Flamingo.

Cons:

No King Beds available, I was given the option of two Queens or one Queen. Took the one Queen figuring it would have a sofa or sitting area, instead was given the smallest room on the strip, just big enough to fit a nightstand, bed, and chair.

One of the bathroom lights was out, the toilet ran for five minutes after a flush, and the shower was extremely loud.

A group of friends also staying at the Flamingo were given a room that had not been cleaned, no ash tray in a smoking room, a broken toilet that was not fixed during their two day stay, and a safe that was already locked and never opened for them.

Auto-check out from the room did not work, and I had to wait in line.

Pros:

There is a great pool, and the location is great, but the rooms need some major work.

  • Liked — Price: Free
  • Disliked — Room: Small and low quality
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure the room has two beds.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Vegas.com, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.