We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from the weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% Off Extend Summer!
Ranked #128 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Apart from the weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2004

Stayed at the Flamingo 2 or 3 times before because of it's location and pool. This time, we stayed from August 4th through August 11th.

The Good: The Pool, Venturo Italian Restuarant and location.

The bad: The Pool Police who check the loungers around the pool every 30 minutes to ensure they are in use but ignore the louts who come in on a weekend to have their own private liquer party in the pool. This ranged from stacking hundreds of empty Foster Cans and Miller Lite bottles around the base of the Islands in the pool to pouring beer on themselves and each other while in the pool.

The price of cabs continues to astound. They should do what they do in A.C, have a fixed price for any trip not to exceed $10:00 along the Strip for example. The Monorail was free the last time I came and it astounds me they now charge for it when the people using it our the people injecting money into the Casinos.

These were the only blemishes on a great vacation. George Wallace was a blast as was the Luhau next door at the Imperial (Tuesdays and Thursdays only). One thing to check out the next time you visit is the Dealertainers at the Imperial. These are dealers dressed up as celebrities like Elvis, Tina Turner, Rod Stewart etc. who not only deal but get up and sing every so often. They are outstanding. It made the 6-5 odds for a Blackjack seem like a bargain. I could have watched these people all night long...ooops I did.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,047
    4,276
    2,905
    1,646
    1,222
See reviews for
1841
4457
602
920
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2004

I cannot say enough good things about the Flamingo. I have stayed there at least five times and it never gets old. The staff is wonderful and I have never had to wait more than ten minutes for check in unlike a few other Vegas hotels I've stayed at. Just a tip: the Strip view really isn't anything special because all you really see is Casesars; instead, ask for a pool view. It is beautiful night and day and you feel like you are looking into a rainforest.

The pool is the best part of the hotel. It is actually three pools: a fountain pool (it has pink flamingos spraying water across the pool), a waterslide pool (it's actually a bunch of little pools connected by a bunch of slides), and a lagoon pool with waterfalls and little islands. It has got to be one of the best pool areas in Vegas.

I love the buffet, especially for breakfast. It is reasonably priced and is good food. Also, it looks out on to Flamingo's gardens which are absolutely beautiful. There is also a cute little sit down cafe which is good, but nothing special. For dinner, I would recommend finding somewhere else on the strip.

The rooms are huge by Vegas standards. Before the renovation they weren't all that nice and kind of run down, but last time I was there (in June) the entire hotel had been renovated and the rooms were very nice. Instead of the pink theme throughout the hotel, it is more modern with blacks and tans.

One of my favorite things about the Flamingo is it's central location on the strip. It is right across from Caesars, which has great dining, entertainment, and shopping. I think Flamingo is also now a stop on the new monorail system.

All in all, the Flamingo is more bang for your buck and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2004

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and found it to be excellent. Our room was clean, large and cool. The staff all appeared friendly and the location was superb as you are within walking distance of all the major Casinos. We stayed mid week which meant that the room was great value for money as well. There are a few good value and quality eating establishments in the hotel along with the buffet, which is again good quality. Already planning return trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2004

Nice hotel. We visit Las Vegas every couple of months and have stayed at most of the hotels on the strip. The Flamingo may not be the top hotel on the strip but it certainly was among the top 5.
Location and room rates can't be beat.
Rooms are above average. The pool area is one of the best in Vegas.
Casino is nothing special. We Liked Lindy's but the service was a bit slow. Room service was surprisingly good.
We parked in the self serve parking lot and never had to return to the car until we checked out. Everything was within walking distance. I highly recomend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2004

The flamingo was great... talk about a very friendly hotel. We checked in at the airport and got a perfect view of the pool and the east side of the strip. The room was immaculate, the casino people were VERY nice (since we were all 24, they'd check our IDS and bring us free drinks in 2 minutes because we were guests there). the pool was great (but stop bringing your kids to Las Vegas, its rude.. its a 21 plus town). Lindy's had great food and it was easy walking distance to Ellis Island (best food in LV) and the monorail. The flamingo beats out Harrahs and probably any other mid priced hotel on the strip.. Period.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2004

Chose this for a qucik weekend getaway for a friend's 50th Birthday. While reviews have focused on the package tour aspects of the hotel, the garden area and pool have consistently been outstanding.

The rooms are typical lower end Hilton: if you get two beds, no sofa, no table, no place to relax. Check in is terrible even at 10:00 on a Friday night -- not enough people. Slipped the clerk $20 and asked for a view of the Strip, got a good room on the 20th floor overlooking Caesars and the mountains.

Having booked a Travelocity hotel - air package, not sure if we would have gotten any other room, but worth the effort

Garden and pool area fantastic.

Casino not worth walking through.

Restuarants are OK, good selection, good coffee.

Don't come here if you want a fantastic, romantic experience. Come here is you want a cheap, centrally located place with a great pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2004

We stayed at the Flamingo from July 24-29. We checked in at the airport and there was no line at all.

We requested above 20th floor and facing strip........and recieved 23rd floor facing strip. Housekeeping was very good and efficient. We ate at Lindys 2x for breakfast and it was very good.

We loved the location of the Flamingo being mid strip. We even tried the monorail once and it was OK. We had another couple join us for 3 days so it was easier,quicker, and more efficient to use taxi's.

The cable internet access($9.95 -day) was very easy and convenient to use our notebook with. We also went to see the Danny Gans show at the Mirage and he was very good($100 a tx)

We would definately stay at the Flamingo again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;