We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump, wore out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% Off Extend Summer!
Ranked #127 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dump, wore out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Website shows newly remodeled rooms. We paid extra for a "luxury" room. That means, If you ask, they will move you up 5 floors, same room. The rooms are big and the beds are great. Almost zero water pressure. Rooms old and outdated. Service contact is always a long wait. I gave up and hung up a couple times, got tired of waiting. A beer pong tournament was happening, young people running up and down hall yelling, stopping occasionally to throw up. Music from the street (drum beating) until 3:30 am, everynight. Watch your step.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    4,285
    2,911
    1,648
    1,226
See reviews for
1,844
4,469
602
921
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you get the players' card, the Flamingo will comp you a basic room and they are a little funky. It's definitely worth paying $30 extra per night to upgrade to the Go room. You don't have to gamble much, just use the card when you do and they will start sending you offers. The location of the Flamingo is great and close to many areas. Also easy check in and out.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the gardens on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived early, check in was a breeze. Left luggage with bell desk and went back to collect keys at 4pm. Staff at reception absolutely professionals. Luggages were promptly delivered to our room. Booked a Go Luxury Room with strip view and was given a room on the 24th Floor overlooking the Bellagio fountains, Paris, Excalibur and Planet Hollywood side of the strip. View was stunning. The room appears to have been renovated with two Tvs (one in the bathroom), electronic drapes and sheer, large bathroom with both bath and shower with body jets. Only complain about the bathroom was that there were no hooks or rails to hang clothes. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Room well insulated so no outside noise - great for light sleeper. Housekeeping did a fine job cleaning our room each day.

Only place we ate at the hotel was the pizza place at the food court. Pizza was delicious and not too expensive. Bottled water cost $4.00 though ...... so better to get your water at the many Walgreens along the strip.

One of the best feature of this hotel is that it is centrally located in the middle of the strip. There is also a monorail station next to the hotel.

Check out was also fast and easy. There are several self check out machines at the lobby where you can also print receipt or have it sent to your email address.

No free wifi at the hotel but that seems to be the norm for Vegas. Hence, the good thing is no compulsory resort fees to pay.

Would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book the Go Luxury Room with Strip View and request for a high floor - you won't be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here from November 25 - 30. I was a first timer to Vegas (and a first time solo traveller) so I did a LOT of research before I decided where to stay. Once I settled on the Flamingo it seemed that Go Deluxe rooms were the way to go and I got a great rate of $31+ tax using a cheapovegas.com promo code. I checked in at 1 p.m. but my room wasn't ready yet. (4 p.m. is official check-in time) They assigned me a room and told me to come back in an hour for the key. I did as they said, and after a short wait in line I was on my way. I was not charged an early check-in fee. I am a Total Rewards member (I signed up online before leaving) so I am not sure if that had any bearing on the lack of fee. I also booked directly with the hotel so maybe that had something to do with it as well. (Apparently hotels like when you do this) In any event I recommend that everybody sign up for this card ahead of time. You can pick it up at the booth right next to where you check in.

The room was very nice. I was on the 17th floor of the east tower overlooking the wildlife habitat. The floor to ceiling windows made the room very bright. For a room in this price range there were some nice amenities. There was a small refrigerator and a single cup coffee maker. People staying at other similarly priced Vegas hotels will agree that this isn't a common occurence. I should also mention that the room had a safe that was free of charge. The bathroom was nicely appointed (and renovated) with a stand alone shower as well as a nice tub. The lighting was very good and the water temperature and pressure were great. A nice touch was the embedded television in the mirror beside the sink. Yes, you can watch (and listen) to t.v while having a shower!

Other observations:

Had breakfast at the buffet overlooking the wildlife habitat. The views were nice (flamingos, black swans, turtles, koi, and various types of duck) but the food was only so-so. Maybe I was there a little too late? (It was almost lunch)

A switch right next to the bed that automatically opened and closed the blinds. And the blinds actually CLOSED all the way too! No waking up with the sun!

Didn't get much of a friendly vibe from the person checking me in. I tried to make some small talk but they really weren't very interested. They were perfectly efficient though, so no biggie.

The room had a "stereo" with an iPod docking station. I can't say how well this worked though being an Android person. :)

Fabulous central strip location and only three minutes maximum from your room to the street. Never waited more than a minute for an elevator.

Casino was ok. A little small in comparison to most, but alright. I didn't have much luck, but I didn't go to Vegas expecting to win. Cocktail service was actually pretty decent so it was all good!

In summary I had a very nice stay at the Flamingo. I had read hundreds (i'm not kidding) of reviews ranging from great to terrible but I decided to roll the dice and stay at the Flamingo. (Hey, it's Vegas!) As far as i'm concerned I came up a winner. Great price, great room and fabulous location. It's not the Bellagio or Encore, but if you are looking for good value at a solid property you will find it here.

Room Tip: Pick a Go Deluxe room if you want the renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Check in was a long process but I've found unless you are a platinum rewards member that will happen at any casino on the strip. They did a great job with the room renovations. Our room over-looked the garden/flamingo area which was a treat in the morning watching them walk around. Next time we stay we will opt for a strip view. The sound system is nice and the small TV in the mirror in the restroom was a treat when getting ready for a night out on the town.

Worth the money and a great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge Ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a really nice stay at this hotel. Upgraded to GO Room which was really nice. The room had all the amenities including fridge and coffee maker. The hotel is well maintained, parking may be a bit rough during showtimes. Really good prices with a little bit of checking internet. Room came with 2free buffets.

Room Tip: See if there is a free upgrade to GO ROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

So sorry to see this "old dame" in such bad shape.
Our shock with the hotel was more a feeling of sadness at seeing this once pround landmark of Las Vegas then with a feeling of anger. We were placed in the "Habitat Tower" and were instantly faced with filty common areas and elevators so run down and abused that they can only be compared to something in an abandoned run down tentament. The absoultely filty hallway carpets leading to the rooms were litterly loose and pulled away from the floor and walls, and the room itself didn't fair much better and was frozen in time from the 1980's style and furnishings . Gratefully we were only there for one night, and have NO desire to return anytime soon... Very Sad !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.