We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Stay Ever, Period...Dirty, Dumb and Dangerous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #127 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Stay Ever, Period...Dirty, Dumb and Dangerous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Checked in, after first hour was moved because of the walls leaking. Once we were moved the new keys we were given did not in new room. The key issue being deactivated occured 4 nights out of our 5 nights in missery at tyr Flamingo. Also couod not park for 3 of the nights as th valet and garge were both full. This hotel is tge definition of mismanaged. Hotl could not perform the simplest of tasks including mising something as simple as a wake up call. Other then location Stay AWAY at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,126
    4,417
    2,987
    1,696
    1,244
See reviews for
1,908
4,604
617
945
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,901)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The wife and I stayed there a week in mid-September for a district attorneys conference. I'm about as uninsistant on luxury as they come, but this place was frankly nasty.

The rooms have a tacky pink fur type of motif with 1970's throw rugs; not fun Vegas kitchy tacky, but just cheap. The gap under the door to the adjoining room was litterally about a full inch; we had to stuff towels underneath the door to keep from clearly hearing everything said by guests in the other room (and vice-versa).

We were on the 21st floor, but still were woken every night by the next door cover band. Yes, Vegas is a 24/7 party, but that doesn't mean it should feel like you're crashing at a frat house.

The concierge desk couldn't be reached by phone at almost any time. When I finally got ahold of them (in person, for lack of option), it it was staffed by earnest and well-meaning, but frankly clueless, kids. We discovered better suggestions for things to do at night from the TV infomercial channel than this crew.

The worst part was the stench outside the room. The entire 100+ room corridor our room was on didn't smell of mold--it reeked! My wife put it best: "It smells like a swimming pool died here". :-P The pervassive mold odor persisted throughout the ENTIRE week!

Don't get me wrong: my wife and I had a WONDERFUL week in Vegas. The Flamingo--well, it is on the Strip after all. We'd merely role our eyes and chuckle over the poor accomodations that couldn't ruin an otherwise perfect week.

And then, the checkout scam.

The national group running our prosecutor's seminar had a deal with the Flamingo to comp seminar attendees for use of in-room internet and the hotel gym. Great. I explicitly mentioned when I checked in I was part of the group. "Yes sir, of course sir"! We were told by the orgazization guy running the seminar that some attendees were noticing internet and gym charges on their invoice, but don't worry as the Flamingo promised to square things when we checked out. Great again.

Then actual check out happened, and they flat out--and with amazing rudeness--refused to honor their comping these expenses. Even talking to the desk manager--who was the rudest of all!--didn't help. I pointed out my organization had a contract with the Flamingo: 'NO!' I noted i'd explicitly checked in as part of the seminar: 'NO!' I offered to show documentation of my being a seminar attendee: 'NO!' I left being screwed out of a nice chunck of change that took me several weeks and multiple hours of time through my credit card dispute office to get the money refunded (YAY JUSTICE! :-D), including sending my organization's contract to my credit card PROVING the Flamingo was in the wrong.

Sadly, it appears the original Strip hotel is now unwilling or unable to spend the money to update their shabby dilapiated dump to the 21st century, and have to chisel bucks out of their guests anyway possible.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Better wear your tennis shoes when you self park because you are going to walk a long way to the room elevator past the shopping area and food court (couple blocks). In room, no coffee maker, no blankets (we went in December/had to ask for one). Restaurants way over priced $$$, Carlos and Charlie's waitress padded our bill and we caught her at it and management could care less about, sounds like a group effort - Margaretville was great! Many drunk parties going on around our room and security had to break them up. We are going to stay at smaller off strip hotel next time where parking is more convenient and less crowded-Days Inn even sounds better than the Flamingo.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor due to all of the walking and elevator trips you will encounter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Flamingo Hotel many times over the years. We love the convenient mid-strip location, and in past visits have been generally happy with our stay.

Not this visit! Our two days were full of unpleasant surprises.

Starting with the check-in process--not enough personnel on hand at the front desk--the line snaked through the lobby. Luckily, I was able to use their self-check in kiosk.

We were given a "Fab Deluxe" room in the Habitat Tower, 19th floor. It was quite a hike to the elevators, but no problem. As we exited the elevator and walked down the hall to our room, we noticed a very unpleasant, sour smell. The carpet was stretched out, wrinkled and very dirty.

Our room was fine, we were in one of their recently upgraded rooms. The king size bed was quite comfortable and the room was spacious. I will say the "bench" seating looks just adorable (sarcasm intended!) but is entirely worthless as seating. A small loveseat or two armchairs would be much more comfortable and practical.

We noticed there was no coffee pot in the room, as we have always had in past visits. It has been many years since we stayed in any hotel around the world that did not have a coffee maker. I called down to housekeeping to ask for a coffee pot, and they asked if we were a "gold member". I said no, but we are a "Total Rewards" member. Wrong answer! NO COFFEE POT FOR YOU! Sheesh, what a way to treat your guests and make them feel welcome. But I guess their coffee $hop$ make more money that way.

Upon returning to our room that night, we found a letter from the manager on our door, kindly letting us know there would be no hot water or heat after 10 am. They stated it would be back on at 5 a.m. the next morning. A couple of hours later, we received a phone message letting us know it would be 6 a.m, not 5 a.m.

We decided to have dinner at their buffet that evening--BAD CHOICE! For the $50 we paid, it was truly a disgusting experience. The salad bar was pretty awful, I tried 5 different salads, only one was remotely edible. The salad dressings looked like they had a "skin" over the top, not fresh at all. The prime rib was cold and tough. Macaroni and cheese??? They couldn't even manage to get that right. The dessert selection was pitiful, the apple cobbler was inedible--very strange tasting. The red velvet white chocolate chip cookies were delicious, though!

We woke the next morning to no hot water, no coffee, and the coffee shops were not open yet. Their restaurant was closed. I thought Vegas was a 24 hour city!

We checked out about 11 am--still no hot water and thus no shower!

All in all, a most unsatisfactory stay at The Flamingo, and it will certainly be our last.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

No hot water, but liked the polka dotted easy chair. Have stayed here numerous times and it is starting to look run down. The elevators are the pits and generally things are fraying. But hey, a great deal ($18 a night!) so good we couldn't afford to stay home. Great view of the strip and Vegas remains fun fun fun.

Room Tip: Strip view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in upgraded Go room. Room ok but cold-set temp to 69 & it went all night. Shower water was only warm not hot. Sink was a modernistic bowl on top of counter with no place to put the soap. Bring a night light for the bathroom or you will need to crack the drapes open (which operate by switch at nightstand-took me a day to figure that out) Loved the bathroom tv screen built into the mirror. Hotel may not charge a resort fee but they will nickle & dime you-like $5 to print a boarding pass. Areas in & near casinos/restaurants had excessivly loud music. There was no place to have a phone conversation unless you were in your room or outside in the cold. Set your phone on vibrate as you will never hear an incoming call9even if ringer set to max).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here at the beg of Feb 2012 on arrival I wanted to upgrade to the fancy new Go rooms as had previously read reviews and seen this as best option I rang from uk a month before and got told to upgrade on arrival there would be no problem turns out there was a problem all rooms were fully booked on arrival after getting over this disappointment we went up to our original room it was spacious and overlooked gardens bit dirty and dusty but nothing we couldn't handle for the week as the oldest hotel in Vegas you need to accept the rooms aren't going to be splendid and they are trying to upgrade as they go plus how long do you actually spend in your hotel room it's VEGAS! Major downside no tea/coffee facilities in room but in a hotel where you can go down and buy one so not to bad! Location was absolutely brilliant slap bang in the middle of the strip in regards to gambling this was one of my fav hotels! Ate in their restaurant last day of stay massive choice of food reasonably priced compared to many others! Didn't really meet many staff those we did were pleasant enough! Always tip waitress's if your playing you get free drinks its only fair and they will look after you. We're planning to return next year I would stay at this hotel again because of the price great value for money, however there's plenty of choice across the strip and I fell in love with a few other hotels whilst out there!! All in all not 5* but it does what it says on the box comfortable brilliant location would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Address: 3555 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the newly designed GO Rooms to a wealth of dining and entertainment choices, Flamingo proves "fabulous is forever." With classic Las Vegas style and flair, it continues to be one of the Strip’s most-visited resort destinations. Outside, guests enjoy acres of waterfalls, winding pools and lush foliage at the Lagoon Pool and Wildlife Habitat. For adults, the GO Pool is the destination for an afternoon of relaxation. Inside, enjoy performances ranging star siblings Donny & Marie to comedians George Wallace and Vinnie Favorito. Afternoon frivolity is found at Nathan Burton’s Comedy Magic while adult fun is staged nightly at X Burlesque, the Topless Review. Diners can enjoy go tropical at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville or simply go all out at the Paradise Garden Buffet. Flamingo is also the home of the world's first Margaritaville Casino, a Parrothead paradise straight out of a Jimmy Buffett album. For those on the go, the new Flamingo Food Court hosts a variety of eateries from the all-American menu at Johnny Rockets to a taste of the Orient at Pan Asian Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel And Casino
Flamingo Hilton Las Vegas
Las Vegas Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.