We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace from the strip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Nugget Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$140 Golden Value Coupons
Ranked #89 of 270 Hotels in Las Vegas
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace from the strip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had never been to Fremont Street before so decided to stay at this hotel for one night with my mom at the end of a visit with family. I've stayed at Harrah's on the strip a few times, and once the extra fees (resort fee at Harrah's and "Fremont street experience" fee at Golden Nugget) are factored in, the cheapest rooms are very similarly priced at these two hotels. Since my mom has the Landry's select card and it was available, we got the free one category upgrade at Golden Nugget to a Gold Tower room. The room was definitely nicer than what I've stayed in at Harrah's. It looks just like pictured on the website. Plenty of space, nice TV.
The pool was very cool. At least on the weekday we were there, there were kids, but the place was not over-run with them. I enjoyed the slide and watching the sharks. You can easily find shade due to the fact it is in between buildings and we didn't have problems getting a lounger. Throughout the casino floor if you look up there are very cool glass art.
So the negatives- they claim to not charge a resort fee but they do charge a 5$ Fremont street experience fee. Kind of annoying. As a result, they charge for in room coffee and access to the fitness center. We knew this from the webpage. The lounger cushions are starting to show their age, but a minor point since pool towels were plentiful.
Bottom line- I would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,458
    2,861
    968
    474
    328
See reviews for
1,145
3,037
367
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,866)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed two nights in a Rush Tower room. Bed was great, room was spacious and bathroom was of good size. The Rush Tower is fairly new and feels more refined. The only gripe i have is that the room had a shower/tub combo (i prefer stand alone shower) and the tub was very slippery making showering a nearly dangerous event. Otherwise, found the room quite comfortable.
Pool area was crowded and was a slight challenge in getting even a single lounge chair - one in the far corner of the pool area. Regardless, it was the summer so crowds were expected. Gym/Spa facilities - workout area sparse, but not much demand so getting a machine/treadmill was not a problem. Nice wet areas to use as well.
Staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly and efficient. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in Las Vegas for four nights while visiting family in August. Overall this is a very nice casino hotel. I didn't have to walk through smoke filled gambling halls to get to my room, the elevators and garage were spotless and the rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated, comfortable and quiet. (At least my room on the 10th floor of the Carson Tower was.) They also have some lovely restaurants, an attractive pool area and you can walk outside the hotel and be right in the middle of the "Fremont Experience."

This was however the first time I've encountered a hotel in a long time without a refrigerator and if you want to have coffee in the room you've got to pay $10 for coffee filters that are kept in a small, white box with a label you break open to access. But I wasn't terribly tempted because they also didn't provide any cups! (Which I assume was just an accident.) In the closet there was a hanger that said, "Please enjoy using this complimentary bathrobe" ... but the hanger was empty. (Another accident.) And if I wanted internet, there was a $12.00 charge for that. (Not an accident.)

But... back on the positive side, the resort fee for this hotel is only $5.00 a night instead of the larger add-on fees of $15/a night in other hotels on the strip. Also, this hotel has a huge, gorgeous shark tank next to the pool and you can slide down a water slide tube right through the middle of the shark tank. You can't do that most any place!

But, again, I couldn't take advantage of this because the pool rules are very strict. You can't swim in the pool until 10AM and it closes at 8PM. Because I was visiting family during the day, I wasn't able to be there during their pool hours, so I missed that avenue of pleasure. I think the reason for these hours though is to respect guest's quiet time because the rooms are close to the pool.

I would come back and stay again possibly because the rooms were so nice, but I'd bring my own coffee, refrigerator, G4 connection, bathrobe and pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Did not stay at your hotel, but we wished we did. We normally stay on the strip and stay on the strip, and we usually only go downtown to see the light show. On this trip we went downtown on two different occasions because we were winning on the slots machine, card tables staff friendly and funny. We love the remodeling, great show, great food, live music. Overall the old vegas experience is a lot better then what's going on the strip - young girls dress like hookers, no one gambling. So on our next visit we will staying at the Golden Nugget

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is my favorite in the city. We stayed for two nights for our anniversary and had the most pleasant experience. The room (Rush Tower) had a wonderful view of the city and the room itself was big and beautiful. The rain shower was a great plus. There is no possible way to eat badly in this hotel either, we had dinner at The Grotto and lunch and dinner the next day at the Sports Grille, both were delicious. The shark tank is truly special and made for hours and hours of fun. Walking out to Fremont Street was refreshing, as I prefer it to The Strip which as a resident of the city has quickly become a been-there-done-that tour. Their excellent Customer Service really just completed the package.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is facing away from the Fremont Experience, it's much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First of all this USED to be a great hotel and casino, pool is fun, lighting is wonderful. This last 3 day trip was horrible. First of all we checked into two rooms, crap still all over the toilet and food all over the wall and floor by the bed. casino staff was very rude and unfriendly to the customers, they just want your MONEY the they want you to leave! will NEVER stay at the Golden Nugget and I will fro sure let everyone know about my crappy experience. hundreds of other great hotel stays in Vegas. don't settle because you get what you pay for!!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were here for two nights. The hotel is large with the different towers, so we did get a lot of exercise walking about! When a hotel has an exercise facility in it, often it has been included in the stay. Luckily, we had a voucher to use it for the only day that worked for us. It was a very nice facility. I found that the hotel had a few restaurants to choose from , but they were more costly than when we were just in Reno. We went to their buffet dinner and it was $42 for 2 for a evening meal. Luckily I remembered a friend had told us about the Main St Station and how they had a tasty buffet with lots of choice for a lot less money. It was a 5 minute walk from where we were, so it was perfect!! The pool area at the hotel was very nice too, but the lounge chairs were clothe and looked very stained and dirty. I was thankful for the towels to lay on. Close to checking out Freemont Street experience at night. Different to check out, and a fun alternative to a smokey casino!!

Room Tip: We did ask for a quiet room, and we did get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
#114 of 270 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#123 of 270 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#101 of 270 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#79 of 270 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 10,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.