We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Nugget Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$140 Golden Value Coupons
Ranked #79 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
oklahoma city, ok
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I both love freemont street, and have always wanted to stay there, so this trip we decided would be the time. We booked a Gold Tower Gold Club Room and it was very very nice. When you exit the elevator, there is bottled water and snacks out for the guests. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. Included in the Gold CLub Room is in room WIFI at no cost, as well as bottled water in the room. Bottled water may sound like nothing, but with the outside temps at 105 it was definitely appreciated. After staying at Harrahs so many times and NOTHING being free there, this was a breath of fresh air. The bed was ultra comfortable, the perfect combination of firm/soft, and pillows were ample and large. The bathroom mirror even has a television embedded in it so while you are getting ready or taking a relaxing tub, you can watch tv. The only negative about the trip and it is by no means the hotel's fault is all the kids. Why on Earth people bring kids to Vegas dumbfounds me, so the pool while great, is a kid haven. Hey, guess what...Disney is open...take the kids there!

The Nugget proudly boasts of "No Resort Fees" however, there is a $5 a night, downtown destination fee, sounds like a resort fee to me, that you don't know about until its time to check out., so just be forewarned.
There is ample parking and you merely need to show your room key to avoid charges. The hotel does a superb job of making sure non guests pay. There are two valet parking areas available as well, we prefer to Valet, hey for a couple of bucks it is soooo easy.

We will definitely stay here again, and in the Gold Tower Gold Club Rooms.

Room Tip: Gold Club Gold Rooms...spent the extra for great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,283
    2,669
    863
    415
    291
See reviews for
1,013
2,809
340
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Nugget for two nights after staying on the Strip.

On arrival it was a little difficult getting all the suitcases down the steps as there was no ramp in reception. Check-in lady was very efficient and very welcoming.

The room was a good size, although very dark as a lot of contemporary browns have been used in the Rush Tower and whilst very modern looking, everything blended in to one. The bathroom was very nice with twin wash hand basins and a good shower over the bath. The room was very clean, but found a few old receipts in the drawers when unpacking.

There was also a nice view of the strip from the room.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and we would stay again. Only a few things that made the visit not to be perfect. Firstly, the really funky smell downstairs by the restaurant corridor. Secondly, whilst the walls between the rooms seemed to be quite thick, the wall between the room and the corridor was quite thin and a lot of noise could be heard on occasion. Lastly, whilst there was a super check-in service on arrival, the check-out service couldn't have been more different. There was a very long wait and when I got to the front of the queue, the gentleman just walked off without a word leaving me wondering what to do. He went outside, then back inside, spoke to a few people, went outside again and then came back several minutes later without even a hint of an apology and was bordering on rude. Not a great end to the stay.

But apart from that not a bad showing Golden Nugget!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in the newly renovated Rush Tower for 1 day on my recent 3 day Vegas trip.
Fremont is small enough to take in within just 1 day so anyone staying here for the experience (not the price) I'd recommend just doing 1 day then spending the rest of your vacation in a hotel on the strip.

The Good:
1) Rush Tower was nice, clean, modern and the rooms were excellent. If I stayed in my room the whole time I would have loved it here.
2) The pool slide and tank is awesome of course, but when we went it was way too dirty to even enjoy. It's quite small so to really enjoy the pool you would have to go during a time its not crowded.
3) Restaurants in casino offered variety and quality.
4) Very inexpensive for a such a great room.


The Bad:
1) Front desk service pretty poor, staff was not nice or friendly.
2) Fremont is in a bad area in Vegas, so don't stay here if you aren't comfortable with that.
3) Noisy. I could hear music and noise when trying to sleep.
4) Golden Nugget and all other casino hotels in Fremont seem to have poor ventilation, cigarette smoke is much worse here than it is on the strip.
5) Pool area nice but WAY too small. Bar staff unfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked rooms at the Golden Nugget for a business trip. We got back late from working all day and most of the night to discover that there was no parking available in the hotel Parking Structure. The Hotel made no provision for handling overflow parking or instructed the parking structure attendants to give guidance to those needing to park. The attendant not only did not give information or assistance but gave an attitude and said there's nothing she could do since there are 3,000 rooms and only 400 parking spaces. My advice to any and all is to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Located right on Fremont street in the heart of old Vegas. The first room I checked into had a malfunctioning A/C unit. Called the front desk and was given another room. The front desk is located in the newer Rush tower so I had to go all the way back which was quite far. Second room had a dirty sink but I dealt with it since I didn't want to haul all my suitcases back down to the front desk a building away. When you call the front desk you are always put on hold before someone answers. I'm guessing they are understaffed. The room was updated and moderately clean. It is a casino so don't expect a quiet environment since people are partying constantly. The elevators were slow and always smelled like smoke. I paid an extremely low price and was quite happy with the hotel even though it was not perfect. Remember, You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Upper floors of the Carson tower seem less busy than the lower floors. Nice views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had never been interested in staying in the "old" downtown Las Vegas hotel district, but when rooms were running $300 and up on the weekend in august my friend and I were planning to meet there, we decided to try it. The rates were much more reasonable, the Fremont Street experience was really fun and different -I had no idea what to expect and enjoyed the couple of hours we walked around there late at night. Great place for people and fashion watching!
The hotel was very comfortable, and had slightly above-average amenities. there were no washcloths or hand towels when I arrived and had to request them. They eventually showed up. The pool was a disappointment, as after about 9 am you cannot get a chair, and the water was packed like sardines in a can, probably because it was a weekend. it's quite a distance to the Strip, but the bus service is good and very affordable -don't bother with a taxi ($$$) except late at night/early morning when bus doesn't run as often.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to sample the downtown Vegas scene. The hotel is is classy and the rooms are very large and decorated nicely. We stayed in the Carson Tower and had a fantastic view towards the main strip thanks to the helpful man at check in. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and there was a lot if choice. The minimum bets on the tables are generally ten dollars or more so we tended to gamble at the other casinos on Fremont. We had a fantastic view of the Fremont Street Experience from the Gold Diggers Bar. If you wish to use the pool I suggest getting there really early as spaces are limited.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#72 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.