We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option to the Strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Nugget Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 273 hotels in Las Vegas
Dripping Springs, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great option to the Strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Golden Nugget. The renovations and updating they did were very nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had a Jr. Suite and it was large and confortable. The decor was relaxing and tasteful. If we go again I think it would be worth the upgrade to the next level. A lot of the things we had to pay extra for are included and would have been worth it. We had to pay for coffee in the rooom-we didn't make any. To use the gym you had to pay $20/day if you weren't getting any spa services. The gym was adequate but not worth that money. There was no mini-fridge in the room which was a bit inconvenient.
The location was great for the Fremont Street experience but a hassle if you wanted to go to the strip. We took the Deuce bus most of the time-$8/day. The price was great but it took almost an hour to get to the Strip. A taxi there cost $40 each way so we opted to save money most of the time. We didn't feel like renting a car. Traffic was crazy and we didn't feel like messing with it. We did a lot of walking-make sure you wear comfortable shoes.
We didn't spend a lot of time in the casino but it was what you'd expect. Go ahead and join the 24 K club. It doesn't cost anything and gives you some free casino money.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. It felt like old Las Vegas which we enjoyed. A little smaller and less hectic that the Strip. They did a good job bringing it up to what we expect in a hotel today.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the VIP rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,936
    2,242
    700
    343
    233
See reviews for
850
2331
291
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a stay between Christmas and New Years and had dinner in the Carson Grill within the hotel. Unfortunately my husband became deathly ill overnight this week from food poisoning and this required us to seek local medical attention in Las Vegas which was not great but that's another review. I tried to talk to the hotel about the situation as we had to stay and extra night so my husband could be stabalized enough to go back home.

This extra night was a Friday night which meant a higher price than we had paid the prevous two night but when I told them about the food poisioning they did give us the room for the same price. That was the oone of two only plus things about the stay.

The in room coffee is a four-pack for a coffee maker and there is a sticker saying guests will be charged $10 to us it. There is a bottle of "designer" drinking water that has a $7 sticker on it if used. We went out to one of the stores on Freemont Street and bought our own drinking water and did not use the coffee maker. I would like to know how many other guests do the same thing.

The houskeeping lady was understanding and when I told one that my hsuband was convelescing in the room she gave me extra towels, TP, etc., and even set the telephone to not disturb us.

Regarding the food poisioning we were told that we would have to file an incident report with hotel security and they would turn it in to hotel risk management for evaluation. This sounds like nothing but an attempt to disregard these complaints and sure sounds like government! I asked if the third night could be comped since it was caused by the hotel dinner, but they would not do that. If they had made an effort to take care of this problem, I probably would not be here writing this review!

We have stayed at other downtown hotels and never were charged for any of these extra items in the rooms. I can't help but wonder if the Golden Nugget is a ripoff to guests as several other downtown hotels offer a variety of reasonably priced items. Yes, a hotel is a business that needs to make money to exist but there are certain things that leave a bad taste in one's mouth and those have been described here. I am waiting for them to charge for the air we breathe within the hotel. I doubt we will stay there again if we return to Las Vegas.

Room Tip: The sleep quality was excellent as the hotel has a specially made mattress in the room and they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in a regular room of the Carston Tower, where rooms have not been recently renovated.
Our room was, however, very nice and comfortable. Except for the carpet that could use renewal, everything was perfect. The room was big, with a giant bed (they say it's a king, but it's the biggest king I've ever seen...), a large bathroom, and everything was perfectly clean. My only complaints are that there was no blow dryer, and everything has to be paid for (coffee in the room, water bottle, wi-fi, etc...) but that's how things work in Vegas, and at least, there's no resort fee here!

We felt really good at this hotel and casino, it's lively but not as crowded as the Strip, the property is beautiful with the shark tank and entertainment areas, and the gaming was good.
I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

There were a lot of cheapr places to gamble on freemont but the nugget wasn't that great. they really seem to gauge people whever they can- $8 for a bottle water in the room, $20/day for the gym, $1 connection fee per local call and $12.99/day to get wi-fi for one device. I definately wouldn't stay on freemont unless gambling is your main reason for going down. You don't have the architecture or the glitz and glamour of the Strip hotels, there is NOTHING to do at the hotels accept gamble (i.e. no other exhibits like the dolphin adventure or Bodies at the Strip hotels) and there are only a few low caliber shows. My room was very basic and we had a lot of issues our tv didn't work for a day, our phone wasn't making outside calls for a day and it took 3 calls to the front desk to access movies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Rush Tower rooms are fantastic...I have not stayed in any other ones but I don't think I ever will...the furniture is beautiful...it is just so lovely when you walk in...the bathroom is huge, love the rain shower and deep tub for relaxing after long hours at the slot machines...the desk staff we spoke to were all fantastic...we were even given an extra hour the last day to spend some more time in the pool...which was awesome...chilly outside but sunny and we had a great time sliding down the slide through the shark tank...loved the hot-tub...bigger than most and lots of places to sit and have a baileys coffee...even a couple of fire pit areas to keep a little warmer...we did enjoy the happy hour at Red Sushi and it was really delicious...all in all this hotel was the bomb...on the top of my list for Vegas for sure...I would stay here again in a heartbeat...fantastic room...I just can't say enough of the beautiful decor...just loved it...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Golden Nugget in the Carson towers Dec 22-27. Much less expensive way to do Vegas and save money for gambling! The room was large and comfortable. Yes, the heater was loud and vibrated but you could put weight on it and it stopped. Like the other reviewers, the coffee machine was ridiculous.....10 dollars for 4 pack...bring your own. I would bring my own 4-5 cup coffee maker next time since the cups were tiny. Starbucks was on tourist trap prices...4 dollars for a cup of coffee! They said they had regular prices at their locations off the strip or downtown but that did not help when you are a tourist! Good news is that the Plaza had a Mcdonalds in their food court that had great coffee and only one block away. Nugget gave us a coupon book and so we did the 2 for 1 Buffet twice. This was fine but food was no better than the Main Station Street Casino buffet that had a huge beautiful breakfast buffet for 6.99 that included your coffee every day! this is only 3 blocks away. Freemont casino was a related property that had the same and is across from nugget. Lunch was 7.99 and dinner 9.99. We usually did one buffet a day and then one small meal or snack at food court.Main street station is voted 1 for value and top 5 for vegas buffets and now we see why! Really worth your 3 block walk if you want a buffet....clean, beautiful restaurant buffet and super value! We tried Carson street cafe in Nugget but this also was way overpriced and food no better than the cheap buffets that had some of anything you could want. Everytime we walked by Carson street cafe and saw the people eating...I wanted to yell out to them about the other options! giggle. Gambling at Binnons was great----we came home with a few hundred a head of ourselves which was nice! Always found 3 or 5 dollar tables and slots paid better than Nugget. Nugget was decked out for the holidays and shark tank was cool. Several kids swimming but really too cold for us still....water was heated to 85 but when it is 40's-50's ...no thanks. They had a few open fire heaters around pool but that did not give enough heat to sit there at night. Shark tank was beautiful to view though. We saved a lot of money by using the public bus from the airport. We paid 2 dollars a person and it took about 40 minutes to get to nugget with stop right outside the door.... (30 dollars each way by Taxi). The strip buses were 8 dollars a day or 20 for a 3 day pass. We were able to get to and from the strip easily but able to come "home" and out of the craziness of the crowds on the strip. Freemont experience was nice every night. Lots of Vegas type things happening and lots of people watching. We will stay at Nugget again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was the first time that we decided to stay in downtown Vegas. We have travelled here many times and have always stayed on "the strip". This time we wanted to switch it up for a new experience. The Golden Nugget was recommended by family so we booked into the newer Rush Tower for our stay. When we arrived with our car, we were impressed with the convienient parking garage just steps away from the tower. We walked in and were greeted with a beautiful check-in desk and prompt/courteous service. We went to our room and were blown away with the clean, spacious and modern room. The awesome bathroom/dressing/huge shower area was unbelievable. A nice view of the northern strip from the 21st floor. We then toured the property to find a super clean, well kept casino (with loose enough slots to make it fun) and some great restaurants including a buffet that we ate at twice. Then we saw the pool! This is one of the nicest pool areas that we have ever seen in Vegas. A huge shark tank in the center of the pool with a clear waterslide tube that runs right through the middle of it! We also hung out and enjoyed the "Fremont Street Experience" with many other restaurants and casinos very close by. We found ourselves back at the Golden Nugget everytime though. Can't wait to go back in warmer temps to swim next to the sharks! If you have not stayed downtown and want to try something different, the Golden Nugget is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay a few $$ more and stay in the newer Rush Tower. Request a high floor room on the south side for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.