We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fremont Street Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Nugget Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fremont Street Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Let me start by saying that I have only spent one night at the Golden Nugget so can't give a full review of the entire resort as there are particular amenities and features that I either didn't see or experience in full.

I stayed in a Junior Corner Suite in the new Rush Tower and the room was absolutely incredible, on par, if not better than a lot of the rooms in Strip hotels. The room is HUGE with a nice corner sofa and king size bed, the bathroom has his and hers sinks as well as a large bathtub / shower. The decor is very modern and the bed extremely comfortable. There was a bit of noise to be heard from the crowds outside, even though we were on the 17th floor, but lets be honest, you don't come to Vegas for peace and quiet.

Check in was fast and we were given complimentary bottled water and orange juice, which was great considering I'd just driven from San Francisco! The hotel felt and looked very clean, friendly and safe. The casino felt a little cramped but has all the usual table games and slots, the limits on the tables are less than you might get on the Strip so that suited me as a fan of roulette.

We ate in the hotel for desert and also breakfast, using the Carson Street Cafe; the portions were large, the food was good quality and reasonably priced.

I would 100% recommend this hotel and room to people considering visiting Fremont Street and would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: go for the Rush Tower, its new and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,144
    2,447
    779
    382
    255
See reviews for
935
2,574
316
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Seven women went to Las Vegas to celebrate four of the women's 70th birthday. We stayed at the Golden Nugget. The rooms were spacious, clean and lovely. The restaurants were great. We saw the Gordie Brown show. He is fantastic and we never laughed so hard and enjoyed it so much. We had a great time. Will definitely go back to the Golden Nugget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coweta, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Awesome, when you walk in you just stand there looking at everything from roof to floor. Front desk staff in the vip area not so friendly but everyone else very friendly and helpful. perfect place to stay to experience freemont street. much better than the strip. Lots of things to see and do, if you like to people watch stay here and step out onto freemont street and you are in another world. Great price, clean comfy rooms. The shuttle between the nugget and the strip was worth the money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for four nights; on arrival our room had double beds instead of the King we requested. We were on the third floor and noticed the air conditioning units were noisy. We phoned reception and relocated to a King within a matter of minutes. The room was very clean and the decor was extremely nice. The hotel staff were very pleasant and always spoke to greet us no matter what time of day or night. The location is excellent for the Freemont Experience and most nights we sat outside in the 46 Bar watching the passing crowds enjoying the entertainment. We have previously stayed on the strip but will certainly return to this hotel as it is far more relaxing.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

5 women travelled to Vegas for a girls' trip in October. Between us, we had 5 rooms in the Gold Tower. One room was a traditional king, lots of space and well laid out. The 2nd room had two doubles and was identical to the King. The 3rd room however was called a "Scarlet Suite." Total cheese factor! Room was dark, lots of red and black. Was not at all laid out as the others. Just beware that you don't ask for, or get put in to a Scarlet Suite!

We loved the pool -- even in October it was warm enough to lay out in the sun. Water was chilly though -- definitely not heated as other pools in Vegas often are. We enjoyed breakfast in the diner - slow service but great food. Check out happy hour in the Italian restaurant there (can't remember the name)... good prices on drinks and apps. Rest of group ate at the Asian restaurant and said though it was a little pricey (It's Vegas people!) it was very good.

Overall, I would definitely stay at the Golden Nugget again. It's in a great downtown location where you can easily walk to other casinos.

Room Tip: Beware of the "Scarlet Suites!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a weeks stay at this hotel. The room was absolutely great and the price is so reasonable! The restuarants are great and very reasonable. Everyone of their staff was pleasant. But BEWARE at the Registration Desk!! For example, we were leaving the hotel on a Friday - checkout out time is 11.00. Our flight wasn't until 11.00 p.m. so on Mon. or Tuesday we decided that we would ask at the desk the price for having the room until 4.00 p.m on the Friday.. They said $35.00. We talked it over with our friends who had their own room and decided that we would keep one room and split the cost - very reasonable. So on Thursday we decided to let them know that we wanted to keep one room for a late checkout - the price was then $75.00! The clerk failed to inform us that each day closer to the weekend the price goes up! We asked for the Manager - told him the story about failing to be informed that each day was a different price and he said that wasn't his fault and he wasn't willing to do anything about it. WeI didn't get his name but sure wish we had. He doesn't deserve to be the manager of such a great hotel. Mind you the regisration people were very pleasant.

Also beware of telephone costs!! Mind you I guess we should have read the hotel book - but we didn't! Found out your room is charged for each call long distance call you make regardless if its on a calling card or credit card. They even charge $2.00 to use the pay phone for long distance..

Freemont Street is the place to stay in Vegas. You can ride the bus all day for $8.00 and it takes you right up to the strip.

Room Tip: Carson Towers has the cheapest rooms, but you couldn't improve on them. They are very large roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here two nights for a business conference. This was a LOT of room for the money, with many unexpected features I have paid much more for elsewhere. Very spacious room, nicely appointed with extra features like a lighted vanity mirror, very comfortable beds and pillows, recently renovated so had a very upscale feel inside, marble counter top, big flat screen TV, free parking, etc. The staff throughout the hotel was very friendly. It is clear they are working hard to get and keep business. I had never stayed downtown in Las Vegas before and based on my preconceptions, this far exceeded my expectations. I would recommend it and come here again. Small downsides; noisy hallways during the night (it is Las Vegas) and $10 instant coffee pods in the room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.