We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Burbank, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at this hotel because we booked a really good promotional rate. We were not expecting a lot, but we were definitely surprised. The rooms were recently renovated and have a boutique feel to them. They also feature flat panel TVs and iPod compatible alarm clocks. The staff members were super friendly and check-in was quick and easy. We booked two rooms and in one of the rooms the air-conditioning stopped working - we mentioned it to the front desk when we went out for breakfast and it was fixed by the time we returned. This property is also the only place in Vegas that seems to care about its history, so it is a good place for a little nostalgia.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    137
    104
    43
    55
See reviews for
36
178
88
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

No doubt about it, this is a great hotel and casino. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the price is just right. HOWEVER, be careful not to accept a room facing the Golden Nugget. The Nugget is near the end of a major construction project and the workers are going at it 24/7. Jackhammers, bull dozers, dump trucks...you name it. Other than that, great place to stay. Especially love the music in the casino.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

with flat screen TV, quite stylish. But bathroom was still old and I found some of someone else's hair, so not that clean, but still okay. Great location at one end of the Fremont Street Experience. Parking (you'll have to get a permit from the hotel, then it's for free) is on a designated site nearby (alongside S Main St), all on ground level, i.e. you don't have to navigate through one of those enormous multi-level garages. Great value!!! The casino is quite small, which again is an advantage because it only takes a minute or so to walk through it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahnarizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

I stay at the Golden Gate Hotel at least 8 times a years...if I can swing Vegas more I would!!! I love Vegas...and I love the Golden Gate. Great price for a nice room. I dont need 5 star but I do need clean... Golden Gate has never let me down. All rooms have been re-done and I love them. Flat screen TV's in room coffee and all that jazz you want and need in a Hotel. The rooms are very small and would not be ok for a family but for a couple a great deal! This is an old hotel and you can tell. Dont be shocked at the old tile in the bathrooms or how the water goes hot and cold in the shower...but honestly in Vegas I need a place to lay my head... I cant tell you how great this Hotel is. I was a bit weary at first but soooo glad I tried it!!!! You will be too....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

we go to Vegas almost every month and never stayed in Golden Gate, this is our first time and i love that place. It has an espectacular view and the rooms are small but cozy, clean and a lot better than the ones in the strip...we will stay again in there, we actually had some friends over and drink on the room with the windows opened and had a great time. o and the Staff is so helpfull. Don't forget to get shrimp cocktail for just 99cents

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Inexpensive hotel on Fremont st. Staff friendly. Don't think about staying here if you really need to get sleep though. Our room backed up to the alley and the garbage trucks arrived around 5:30am every day to dumpt the many dumpsters of bottles and cans. No sleep after being awakened by that noise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Gate for the weekend. Since we only needed a room to sleep in, we decided to stay at the Golden Gate. We never stayed on the Strip, figured, we rather spend money on a nice dinner, show and gambling than on a room, so we chose the Golden Gate. We stayed at the Lady Luck and the Plaza Hotel and Casino before. The motels/hotels in the old Downtown Vegas are not very luxurious, and most of the people staying there are certainly on a budget or simply don't like spending too much $$$ on a hotel room.

Parking at the Golden Gate is pretty limited - they only have valet parking which is free but you have to tip the person working over there. The staff was friendly and helpful - we were able to choose our room. The room we stayed in was small, cozy, with a modern feel to it. It looked like the room had recently been renovated. My husband thought it "too small" but since I am from Europe I am used to small motel/hotel rooms. Like I said, all we needed was a room with a bed and a bathroom. The bathroom was small, but clean. That's all that mattered to me. As for the bed, the mattress was pretty soft, so if you like soft plush mattresses, good for you. We prefer hard beds, but then again, everybody is different. As for food, they have a deli downstairs in the casino. The sandwiches were pretty goood, we had one when we got hungry in the middle of the night.

There's not really more to say, I would not recommend this place for a family with young children, since the rooms are really small. I would recommend this hotel for young singles, couples on a budget or just need a room with a shower and a bed. Don't stay there if you are looking for luxury, but if you just need a room that's clean and very affordable, that's the place to stay. I would certainly stay at the Golden Gate again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel & Casino

Address: 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gate Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accurately billed as Las Vegas' "Most Historic Hotel," the Golden Gate has stood the test of time and then some. Since opening as the Hotel Nevada in 1906, this modest and cozy corner establishment has stood placidly at One Fremont Street while the town -- and the world -- changed around it. Most notably, the Fremont Street Experience was built right outside its door. Very little has changed to compromise the hotel's old school charm in the intervening years, although the Golden Gate has made improvements and modernized. The hotel remains proudly dwarfed by its neighbors, at just 106 rooms. The rooms themselves, on the other hand, have been updated and include modern amenities like flat screen televisions and iHome clock radios. The casino is just as active as opening day -- and just as intimate -- although now its boasts Dealer Dancers from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. nightly. Its shrimp cocktail -- widely acknowledged as the first ever served in Las Vegas -- is as popular as the day it was introduced. Even as Las Vegas builds toward the heavens, the Golden Gate keeps close to the ground, rooted in its rich and wildly successful history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Hotel Las Vegas
Golden Gate Hotel And Casino
Golden Gate Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.