We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Vegas glitter at a bargain price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #121 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Vegas glitter at a bargain price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Liked this place a lot! I wanted a trip to the USA but was on a tight budget, and Fremont Street offered several cheap options. I settled on the tiny (by Vegas standards) Golden Gate, which cost me the ridiculous sum of £109 in English money, or about $24 a night at current exchange rates. I felt a little like I was robbing them. For that I got a smallish second-floor double room with fixtures and decor that were evidently old, but clean and well looked-after. Extra-comfy bed, bathroom fittings that looked like they'd been made back when things were made to last, and plenty of storage space.

My only criticisms were very minor ones. The elevator, which travels up three entire floors, is possibly the world's slowest. The air conditioner in my room rattled a bit, and the only view I had was of the roof and some rooms on the opposite side of the building. And yes, the noise: Fremont Street's non-stop party doesn't wind down until around 1.30 a.m., so there's not much chance of an early night. But who cares? I can get plenty of good views elsewhere in town, and does anyone come here hoping for peace and quiet?

I didn't have much cause to deal with the staff during my stay (mainly because I never had a problem with anything), but they seemed helpful enough and were always courteous. The maids were thorough to a fault, the bar staff were friendly, the drinks not too pricey, and the food downstairs in DuPar's restaurant (open 24 hours) was plentiful and unfailingly tasty (eggs and chicken-fried steak for breakfast - yum!). Even the dancers gyrating above the blackjack tables looked like you'd happily let them babysit your kids.

For this kind of price, I can't really fault the Golden Gate. Fremont Street might be a bit down-market compared to the Strip, but the atmosphere is good-natured and there's always something to listen to and look at, not least the still jaw-dropping light show. And the Strip itself is only a cheap bus ride away on the 'Deuce', which picks up just a couple of blocks down the street and runs all day and night. Final verdict; a far better hotel than expected for the stupidly small amount I paid to stay there. A great opportunity for a budget traveller like me to save the money that I was eager to waste elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    137
    103
    43
    55
See reviews for
36
178
87
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The casino is good. The rooms smell of smoke and are small. I had a change rooms due to street noise. The manager was very helpful. If your not going to be in your room much and/ or too drunk to remember, golden gate is a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

an all around great place! the hotel staff and the dealers are all great! LOVE those shrimp cocktails in DuPars Restaurant! actually all the food at DuPars was great! We love the casino here and room 301 was surprisingly quiet! Loved the giant rain shower and the maid service was also excellent!

Room Tip: the new wing/rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryan, ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Every January we do a guys trip to Vegas. We always stay on Fremont Street, and my favorite hotel is the Golden Gate. The staff is great and the hotel is clean. The new suites are wonderful, but best of all is the beverage service. On the strip I have to beg for a drink, but not at the "Gate". I have stayed at the Golden Gate the past three years and will continue to do so!

Room Tip: It is loud along the street, but why would you go to Vegas to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Golden Gate (GG) is an old hotel on Fremont St. The rooms are small, there is no room service, Fremont Street parties all night,, but we still always stay 2 nights when we visit. Why? At the GG we a room facing Fremont St.. We can open our windows and watch the band on the stage right outside, and watch the street characters. The street party is a little similar to Bourdon Street during Marti Gras . GG is the only hotel with windows that open to Fremont Street.

Other good features: The room actually had HD TV. The queen bed was comfortable(no way they could fit a king bed in the room. Valet parking was free and it was quick and easy in or out. The hotel was friendly. THe hotel restaurant is excellent but they give you too much food, so share meals

Finally, where else can you play blackjack where your dealer becomes a dancing girl?

ps. comps are easy here and if you stay once you will comped a 2 or 3 day visit.

Room Tip: The best view of Fremont Street is from the 3rd floor. If you want a quiet room ask to be in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I love American History. I never had the pleasure of staying here. The rooms are very clean. The front desk people were nice and very friendly. This place is like a time warp loved it. To the people who complain about the rooms being to small, the place opened up in 1906. People back then didn't eat 10,000 calories and carry around extra hams in there back pockets and eat sticks of butter.
Your in Vegas to have fun not stay in your room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel & Casino

Address: 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gate Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accurately billed as Las Vegas' "Most Historic Hotel," the Golden Gate has stood the test of time and then some. Since opening as the Hotel Nevada in 1906, this modest and cozy corner establishment has stood placidly at One Fremont Street while the town -- and the world -- changed around it. Most notably, the Fremont Street Experience was built right outside its door. Very little has changed to compromise the hotel's old school charm in the intervening years, although the Golden Gate has made improvements and modernized. The hotel remains proudly dwarfed by its neighbors, at just 106 rooms. The rooms themselves, on the other hand, have been updated and include modern amenities like flat screen televisions and iHome clock radios. The casino is just as active as opening day -- and just as intimate -- although now its boasts Dealer Dancers from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. nightly. Its shrimp cocktail -- widely acknowledged as the first ever served in Las Vegas -- is as popular as the day it was introduced. Even as Las Vegas builds toward the heavens, the Golden Gate keeps close to the ground, rooted in its rich and wildly successful history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Hotel Las Vegas
Golden Gate Hotel And Casino
Golden Gate Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.