We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Vegas's hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #120 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
sandiego
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Las Vegas's hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The Golden Gate Hotel & Casino is located at #1 Fremont St. in downtown Las Vegas. If a very quiet boutique hotel appeals to you you can't go wrong here. Book online and get unblievable rates. The Casino here is as good as it gets and if you don't feel in the mood to gamble you can come and go without having to walk through the play area.

I particularly like their 24 hour restuarant: DuPar's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Fremont St. Experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    134
    102
    43
    55
See reviews for
35
178
87
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

The Casino is fun and has reasonable prices for games. Shrimp was good but you can get it at a local supermarket. It is noisy until 12 but you are in Vegas. Rooms are clean but it is still a little dirty. It is great if you are planning to stay out all night and just want a room to sleep in and are with a group of guys. If you are with some girls . Go some place else they would not like the hotel part. For the most part you get what you pay foe. I enjoyed my time but you have to understand $40 for a room means it is not perfect by any means.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Overall, my freshman experience in Downtown Las Vegas was fun and memorable. Unfortunately, none of that had to do with my hotel of choice. I went by price and the claims of "best shrimp cocktail" when booking my room, which was an unfortunate choice. The place is more "old" than "historic." I understand the importance of homage to the past, but this place is due for an update. Especially if they want to throw scantily clad dancers above the tables and expect you to take them seriously. Spend a few extra dollars and stay elsewhere, like Four Queens or Las Vegas Club.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This was my third stay. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spotless. You can't beat the price. I like walking out the door into Fremont street with so much to do without taking a cab!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My sister got married in Vegas, so my ENTIRE family stayed in this hotel. The rooms are nice, the closets are big, and if you've got the right room, your windows open into downtown right above the stage. Yea, its noisy, but are you REALLY in Vegas to sleep? My sister was in her wedding dress the night she got married and the owner took a picture with us and bought us all a round. I love this place. I'm vising again in November. Better believe I know where I'm staying!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

This was our first stay @ the Golden Gate. Talk about history! Even the doors are narrow by today's standards. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have stayed in any hotel.
The casino rocks after 5 pm, the dealers are all beautiful young women that deal, then dance, and then get a break.
The 1.99 shrimp cocktails are another bit of history.
This isn't the Bellagio, it is a traveler friendly, gaming enthusiast mecca!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This hotel was a great disappoitment to me and my wife. First off it is very noisy there! so if you are wanting to sleep not a good idea!! The garbage trucks were literally outside our room and we got no sleep!!! The elevator also smelled of old urine!! Clientele is also kidda of scuzzzy!! Garbage truck came at 6am saturday morning and took 30 minutes to finish route and we told front desk but, there is nothing we can do!!
Beware!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenGateCasino, Vice President of Non-Gaming Operations at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thanks for your feedback... and I am truly sorry your visit was disappointing. I do understand what you are saying about the noise. Being a historic property can, at times, have it's disadvantages. Being built over 100 years ago, when there was not much need for soundproofing, our property was fit with single pane French Windows that do not do much to keep a lot of the sound out. Two years ago, when we remodeled our property we had the choice of updating to more modern double pane windows like you will see in more modern hotels. After great deliberation, we realized that permanently sealed, "modern styled" windows would take a great deal away from the historic value and charm of our hotel. We wanted to maintain the same look and feel that our property has offered for 100 years now. Additionally, being literally adjacent to the Fremont Street Experience, we wanted our guests to be able to open their windows and, from their room, still be a part of the largest daily party in the world (something you can't do at any other casino in Las Vegas).

Although there are some disadvantages to being the most historic property in Las Vegas, it is, nonetheless who we are. Our hallways echo the footsteps of pioneers and legends... Through the roaring 20s, the Rat Pack era, and the corporate takeover of Las Vegas, we have remained true to our history... We are to this day, a family owned and operated casino, in the shadows of the corporate giants. While other properties have come, and gone, we remain proudly standing for 105 years now... we are still the original... we are still "where it all began".

Should you ever decide you would like to give our property another opportunity, I would welcome you to call me directly and I will do my best to get you an interior room, or a room facing Main Street where the noise is not nearly so obtrusive.

Thank you once again for your feedback... I hope we can see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel & Casino

Address: 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gate Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accurately billed as Las Vegas' "Most Historic Hotel," the Golden Gate has stood the test of time and then some. Since opening as the Hotel Nevada in 1906, this modest and cozy corner establishment has stood placidly at One Fremont Street while the town -- and the world -- changed around it. Most notably, the Fremont Street Experience was built right outside its door. Very little has changed to compromise the hotel's old school charm in the intervening years, although the Golden Gate has made improvements and modernized. The hotel remains proudly dwarfed by its neighbors, at just 106 rooms. The rooms themselves, on the other hand, have been updated and include modern amenities like flat screen televisions and iHome clock radios. The casino is just as active as opening day -- and just as intimate -- although now its boasts Dealer Dancers from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. nightly. Its shrimp cocktail -- widely acknowledged as the first ever served in Las Vegas -- is as popular as the day it was introduced. Even as Las Vegas builds toward the heavens, the Golden Gate keeps close to the ground, rooted in its rich and wildly successful history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Hotel And Casino
Golden Gate Hotel Las Vegas
Golden Gate Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.