We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Coast Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Coast Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 West Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89103 (Paradise)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Vegas Special
Ranked #92 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I don't suspect anyone will ever say the Gold Coast is the greatest hotel they've ever stayed at, but they did a lot of things well.

Some of our group was at the Rio across the street. They were forced to pay $15 if they wanted to get into the room prior to 4 pm check-in time even though rooms were ready. For me at the Gold Coast, I didn't have such a stupid fee to pay.

The room? It's a (flat screen) TV, a comfortable bed, and a tiny round table and chair. But then again if you're not going to be in the room that much, $28! How can you go wrong?

Could the carpeting get updated? Yes. Should the bathrooms be a different color? Yeah. But I'm the kind of guy who didn't really care.

Now on the positive side: You can pay a lot more for a lunch buffet than the Gold Coast. A LOT more. But do you walk away saying their buffet is twice as good as the Gold Coast? Probably not. It's really quite good. $9 for lunch!

Also had a late night dinner at Ping Pang Pong. Orange beef was excellent!

Went to Subway and grabbed a breakfast sandwich for $5 prior to my flight out. You'd pay a lot more at the airport.

One of the plusses I see about the Gold Coast is it knows what it is. It isn't trying to be the Rio or the Bellagio. And they serve their niche pretty well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    459
    214
    62
    43
See reviews for
157
370
101
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Never ever been to the Gold Coast and honestly might never come back. Only here because a friend had comp rooms...but the (premium) room is quite cozy and odd that I had to get my own room. Found a super cheap rate via Kayak.com, but you get what you pay for...Yes, they've done renovations so at first look, the rooms are nice (see my photos). But here's what bugs: my bed sinks in the middle, stains on sheets, shower has no curtain so the back half of the shower is wide open, door to bathroom slides but can totally see in, no free wi-fi, and here's the kicker, I took a shower that started lukewarm that I thought would heat up but got colder and colder. It's 40 degrees outside so a cold shower is definitely not desirable. Right after I got out of the shower, I called the front desk and the supervisor (Steven) was so rude! No apology, just, "a pipe broke and it should be up soon, but we aren't sure." So I asked him how come they can't notify people with like a message and his reply was, "How would we do that?" Hmmm...customer service anyone? He was so cocky, but robotic ("thank you enjoy your stay" barf!). Totally leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Needless to say, I guess next time I just need to stick my guns and stay at places with better reviews (they are there for a reason!)....my verdict: choose another place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have wanted to see the National Finals Rodeo for years, and chose the Gold Coast because they are one of the Rodeo sponsors. The hotel is not on "the Strip", and was less "glitzy", but we had a more comfortable feeling. The rooms are good. They had western dancing every evening the the ballroom and we enjoyed that every night. At at the Cortez Room in the casino and enjoyed a very good dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I made our reservations online for our 25th anniversary. My husband contacted the hotel to see if a suite was available. Not only did they upgrade our room, but they assisted my husband with all of his plans to surprise me (flowers, dinner, etc...). Everyone went out of their way to ensure that our stay was perfect, from reservations to the front desk to the housekeepers! Even the security guards were great! Very friendly, helpful, and professional! We will definitely stay there again! Kudos on customer service done right!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Clean and big room, though the bathroom was on the small side. Friendly staff and good service. That's about what I expected, given the price USD 28 =USD 25 room + USD 3 resort fee. I was not disappointed.

There is a shuttle that takes you to the Strip, stopping at Bill's gambling house -across Ceasar's Palace-, more or less every 30' from 7 AM to 12 PM. Very convenient.

Another guest told us that the buffet at the restaurant was good. I can't say anything about it. We stayed only one night and went to the Strip for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were impressed with this place. It's not the Ritz but doesn't have the price tag of the Ritz either. Rooms were clean and spacious. Not much of a gambler but casino was pretty nice. Starbucks in casino = Awesome. TGIFridays in casino = awesome. 24hr bowling in hotel = awesome! We never left the hotel because everything we needed was right there! They are in process of renovations and the deli/ice cream parlor closed. Had an absolutely amazing clerk, Arlinda, check us in and went above and beyond after we discovered a small issue with our reservation but within a few hours, all was good. We are looking forward to coming back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We are not gambling people, so cheap is the biggest pros for us. The free wifi is 4.99, however we used four devices iphone/ipad/computer... it charged me 4 times though when connecting to the internet, it says charge per room. We don't have time to argue with the front desk since we need to catch the flight. I have never met this situation before. Strongly suggest you ask before you connect to wifi and take a picture of the agreement page!
Not far from China Town if you are looking for Chinese food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Coast Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Hotel and Casino

Address: 4000 West Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Coast Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 780
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gold Coast Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Las Vegas
Gold Coast Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Coast Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.