We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly maintained, grumpy, unsanitary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas to your Saves list
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2880 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rooms Starting at $24!
Ranked #111 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained, grumpy, unsanitary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

travelling to/from the hotel was somewhat of an inconvenience, being situated at the north end of the strip, it was a far walk to most of the attractions and other hotels/casinos on the strip. the circus acts with the arcade and the adventure dome(amusement park) were actually quite fun, i would relate the games to a carnival midway, and the acts themselves were smaller, almost like a traveling circus, but still worth seeing(its no cirque du soleil). dining in the hotel was of an average experience with the only complaint being the operating hours needing to be earlier and longer.
The real issues with the hotel occurred particularly with the service, and the rooms.
the staff appeared to be less than friendly and grumpy most of the time. the drink service also lacked other than being rude and slow. my room was located in the casino tower. the beds appeared to be made and the room seemed to be stocked, but it still seemed dirty, particularly the furniture and tv. the tv was not functioning(no it wasn't the remote) and neither was the kureg coffee maker which was improperly used and left uncleaned from the last guest. the shower and tub seemed clean, but when i started my shower, i realized the drain was clogged. after having my brief morning shower, i went to the window to see what it was like outside, and noticed the BIRD DROPPINGS ON THE FLOOR.
needless to say, i would highly recommend not staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Zack G,

Thank you for your honest review. The experiences you encountered certainly are not indicative of our strong commitment to exceptional service. We take guest feedback of this kind very seriously, and will investigate these issues further to prevent any reoccurrence. Should you wish to discuss the particulars of your visit in greater detail, please feel free to email us directly at guestrelations@circuscircus.com. Hopefully, we can convince you to return to our hotel in the future, and provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@circuscircus.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    1,756
    1,259
    450
    306
See reviews for
1,917
1,214
264
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our first visit to Vegas. Vegas is THE place to Party but if one has kids along you should stay at the Circus circus hotel. It has lots of fun activities for children. it has a lovely indoor amusement park . a small shopping area and arcade. also there are many shows for kids too. all in all it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear SPN15,

Thank you for allowing us to host your first visit to Las Vegas! At Circus Circus, we welcome guests of all ages and it is wonderful to see that your children enjoyed our exciting attractions! Thank you for your kind review and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@circuscircus.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is probably one of the best hotel/casinos in vegas. Its great for the kids because of the shows, arcades, and amusement park. The hotels are fairly priced and clean. Of course it still has that vegas smell but what do you expect. Overall if your looking for a great time with the family this is the best place to be.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear andybanuelos,

Whether you come here for our competitive prices, convenient location, or family oriented entertainment options, Circus Circus offers an incredible resort experience. Thank you for making us a part of your Las Vegas vacation.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@circuscircus.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Yes, it is a cheap hotel, with good deal, and yes, it´s still at the strip. Nevertheless, it is not a great place to stay. Buildings are spread around, LOTS of walking needed to get to any place, and I mean inside the property. Loads of families with kids, probably attracted by the amusement park there. I didn not feel safe at night walking to get to the hotel. Stratosphere is even a little bit further, but at least it´s not filthy. If you get a deal with breakfast, they will give you a voucher to use for it...would be great, but lines are very long all the time. Really, unless you really have no choice, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Heloisa M,

It’s regrettable that your stay with us fell short of expectations. We appreciate your observations, and will work diligently to improve your perception of our property through the tireless pursuit of self-improvement.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@circuscircus.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Rooms were inexpensive yet well maintained. Staff was extremely friendly and rooms were far better than motel 6, which is where we've stayed before, and bigger too.
We had a smoking room, and had to call housekeeping for an ash tray, but they had it to us in less than 5 minutes. Will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Sky rise tower is worth the extra few bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Dameon L,

At Circus Circus, we are committed to providing exceptional services, amenities, and value for the optimal convenience of our guests. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and eagerly anticipate your return.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@circuscircus.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I thought rooms would be noisy they weren't. We stayed in the Sky Tower. Nice shops like the taffy candy shop. Plenty for children to do which we don't have. Plenty of places to have a bite to eat. Great staff. I had got my reservation on cyber Monday for $35. Like all the casinos are doing there was a resort fee. I would stay here again The rooms were clean, comfortable and a decent size. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear queenie067,

From our wonderful selection of dining and shopping outlets, to our family friendly property attractions, Circus Circus is an ideal choice for discerning travelers. We appreciate your generous recommendation, and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@circuscircus.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa barbara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

So, this the 2nd time in the last year I have stayed at Circus Circus, and for the second time I am pleased with my stay and all the activities offered. The amusement park themes casino is entertaining for both children and adults. A good variety of table games and new well laid out slot machines are abundant without having to fight for an open spot. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for finding a hostess on the floor when your thirsty. Some waits were as fast as 5 minutes and others as long as 30 minutes just to be acknowledged. Staff was overall very nice and helpful when asking for directions or where the nearest restroom was. Rooms are bland/decent, drain in shower was not draining and nearly flooded bathroom, called to report problem and was resolved within 90 minutes. Bit of an unsavory crowd can be found from time to time. The food at this hotel was what really surprised me. Not that is was outstanding, but more so that it didn't suck. My last visit the food was terrible. This time the buffet was improved, the Casino deli was much improved and the addition of Vince Neils Tatuado was the highlight. Wait staff was very attentive, food was very good, concert themed and Motley Crue nostalgia made for a great experience. Circus Circus is not as "nice" as other locations on the strip, but for the price and what this place to offer........well..... if your on a budget and Mandalay Bay is a little more than you want to spend, give Circus Circus a try, you might be surprised.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear The_805_life,

Circus Circus brings out the kid in all of us, with unique entertainment offerings, an eclectic mix of dining options, and the fast paced action of our casino floor. With so much to see and do on property, our guests are often pleasantly surprised by their experiences here. Thank you for continuing to make Circus Circus your home away from home while visiting Las Vegas.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@circuscircus.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Address: 2880 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas 3*
Number of rooms: 3773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic hotel on the Las Vegas Strip is close to shopping, the Las Vegas Convention Center and downtown Las Vegas. The newly renovated tower rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, wireless internet, cable TV, hairdryers and in-room safes. Circus Circus features free world-class circus acts nightly, a carnival midway with over 200 games for all ages, and The Adventuredome indoor theme park with 25 rides and attractions including a double-loop rollercoaster. Guests also enjoy slots, table games, a Race and Sports Book and flair bartending at Vince Neil's Restaurant and Bar. Circus Circus has 8 dining outlets serving breakfast, lunch and dinner ranging from quick eats to casual and award-winning dining. Among the choices, the hotel has a buffet, a made-to-order pizzeria and highly acclaimed restaurant- The Steakhouse, voted Top Steakhouse in Las Vegas by Zagat. The Steakhouse is open for dinner nightly serving mesquite grilled steak, prime rib and seafood. Reservations are strongly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Circus Hotel And Casino Las Vegas
Circus Hotel Las Vegas
Circus Las Vegas
Circus Circus Las Vegas Nevada
Las Vegas Hotel Circus
Circus Casino
Circus Circus Review
Circus Circus Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.