We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is scary...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Station Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boulder Station Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Boulder Station Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89121   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Roseville, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This place is scary...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel earlier this month. Let me preface this review... I am not a pickey hotel person, but this place is strange. Let start out with the positives....The hotel itself and the amenities are great; it's been refurbished and looks really nice. There is a casino, a buffet, and several restaurants. THE DOWNSIDE... I saw the most sketchy people I've ever seen in my life in one place- EVERYWHERE. I don't think I once saw a tourist. I didn't see one tourist at the hotel, at the restaurants, at the casino, at the buffet- NO WHERE. I was so uncomfortable staying at the hotel, I couldn't wait to leave. I will never EVER stay here again. It was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. Secondly, it is obvious this place did not upgrade their air systems. If you have any type of breathing or eyes issues, DO NOT STAY HERE. The air inside was probably the worst I've ever smelled. It was disgusting.
So, let's recap.... the hotel itself is really nice. The place stinks and the people roaming around were REALLY sketchy. Stay here at your own risk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    115
    61
    36
    37
See reviews for
65
82
43
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was my 4th stay at Boulder Station and once again I was not disappointed. I stayed for 3 nights, and didn't PAY A DIME!!! GET THEIR REWARDS CARD....YOU WILL BE GREATLY REWARDED!!!!! I also was given 2 free buffets at the casino, and was very impressed. All of the food tasted fresh, and their bread pudding (with vanilla sauce) was to die for!! The staff is very friendly, and goes out of their way to make sure you're happy. I met 3 employees that have been there for 18 years...which speaks VOLUMES about the casino. Alvaro at the bell desk has a great smile, and was very personable!!! You can spend $125.00 + for a room down on "the strip" but seriously....how much time do you spend in your room??? Also, I play the slots...and Boulder Station has a great selection and they pay out!!

Room Tip: The hotel is off of the strip, so no need to worry about "street noise".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family and I stayed here 8-6-2012, and glad we did. Great rate, but beware of the resort fee upon checkout, $12.95 per day. We didn't mind paying the fee, it covered Internet, small gym, and daily paper and pool. We ate at the Italian restaurant and the coffee shop and both were excellent with quite a variety. Movie theatre and kids fun zone so parents can have a break to enjoy the casino. If you're looking for clean, newly remodeled rooms, this is your place. Off the beaten path, but worth the drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Check-in took forever because there was only one person on the desk, but she was very friendly once we got to her. Note to first-timers - the rooms are not near the check-in desk. This has always puzzled me. The rooms were recently redone, a good thing because the hotel was showing its age. It was very crowded when we were there due to several sports team tournaments. Stations does seem to attract them. Our room was very nicely done, although a little small. The decor is new, but it is also on the dark side. They should have picked lighter colors which I think would have also given the impression of a larger room. The room itself was very clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable, the a/c was great The shower head was fantastic, the towels not so much. Even though the hotel was very crowded, it was very quiet, which is always a good thing. We got a really good rate which made the $14 amenities fee easier to swallow. In our rate (AAA) we also got a free breakfast buffet Since we did not want to go out to eat, we ate dinner at the buffet and were pleasantly surprised by the selection and quality. The breakfast buffet was equally good, and their prices for the buffets are very reasonable. Even though they were very crowded both times, it really did not spoil the meals, and our servers, especially at breakfast were very attentive. Their pool is nothing to brag about - adequate, but the children seemed to like it. The casino, while very crowded, treated us well. It seems to be a familiar place for locals, which is a good sign that the machines are not so tight. All in all, it was a pleasant experience, but I would like a larger room if I were staying for more than a night or two.

Room Tip: We always ask .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The first thing that strikes you when you check in (apart from the wait, which is sometimes bad, but not always) is the noise - a constant rattle and beeping and general din from the huge casino area in front of reception. You almost have to shout to make yourself heard when checking in. We found the whole casino pretty depressing, with the noise, the smoke, the sight of so many lonely people staring at their screen, cigarette and drink in one hand. It's an image which will stay in my mind for a long time, I think.
Having said that, the room was probably the best we had during our 3-week stay in California/Nevada, and was certainly excellent value for money, even with the $14 per day "resort fee". We had a pleasant room on the 11th floor, facing north-west, looking out onto the car park down below, and the hills in the distance. Great sunset view. Room bright, very comfortable beds, and perfectly quiet and correctly-adjusted air conditioning.
Fitness room pretty small, big enough for maybe 3 people. It has 2 treadmills.
No breakfast included, there are a few places on the ground floor offering some breakfast, otherwise you have to take the car.
The hotel is quite isolated, as others have noted. I wouldn't choose this place if you don't have a car, but by car, it didn't take too long to get downtown (maybe 15 minutes).

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this hotel as a place to stay overnight to break up the drive home from a family reunion. We got a great, and I mean great, room rate on their website, $38 per room on a Saturday night, booking only one day in advance. I called ahead and the very nice front desk person helped us to hold adjoining rooms, when most hotels just say they can't guarantee it until check in. This hotel is not on the trip, is in more of a residential area, which suited us well. Several fast food options very close by, as well as grocery stores, gas stations etc.
Easy parking, elevator to the rooms was right inside the doors, so no long wandering through a smokey maze of a casino for our 6 kids, big plus. Our rooms were clean, nice, and the beds were comfy. Breakfast the next morning at their restaurant was good, s'mores pancakes were a huge hit with the kids.
While I wouldn't choose this as a hotel to stay in for a "Vegas trip", we will stay again if we are just passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Check in had a small line. The desk clerk took our request of a window facing downtown. Comfortable bed that was clean. They tacked on a fee for a newspaper, fitness room, swimming pool, and internet. I did not receive a newspaper in the morning and I was unable to open the door to the fitness room with our key. The charge for the internet was confusing as you agree to a fee when you log on. They said it was refunded back to me right when I logged on.They made things right for us at check out. Great buffet and cafe. Also caught a movie Be sure to get a players card for discounts on the buffet and gift shop.

Room Tip: You'll see more city lights facing northwest, the side facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boulder Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Station Hotel and Casino

Address: 4111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89121
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulder Station Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMFORTABLE AND AFFORDABLE HOTEL ROOMS Transport yourself to our newly renovated, stylish rooms and suites. Our rooms sport a "boutique feel" with modern and hip décor, 40-inch plasma TVs and a spacious sitting area.Catch some Zzzz's by resting on the soft, comfy pillow-top mattresses or just relax by enjoying room service delivered directly to you for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Amenities include high-speed Wi-Fi, computer desks (especially convenient for our business travelers), use of our fitness room and pool. Most outstanding is our friendly service! Boulder Station located only 7 miles from the Las Vegas McCarran Airport offers the ultimate guest experience beginning with our Traditional Victorian atmosphere of hardwood walkways and beautiful stained glass. It is non-stop action here at Boulder Station with Live Entertainment, Award Winning Restaurants, 11 Movie Theatres and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Boulder Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Station Hotel Las Vegas
Boulder Station Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Station Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.