We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Aladdin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3667 Las Vegas Blvd. S, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 25% OFF! 
Ranked #97 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wales, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Loved the Aladdin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2004

Stayed in the Aladdin for a wekend in September 2004. Superb location on the strip.
About the only view to have is of the strip and, if you can, get the Bellagio fountains.
Room was clean & large with a large comfortable bed. Bathroom was superb with shower & semi-sunken bath.
Only slight moan would be that there were no coffee or tea making facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,813
    3,568
    1,909
    818
    568
See reviews for
1,250
3,474
414
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2004

My boyfriend and I just returned from our 4th annual trip to Vegas. Every year we seem to stay at a different hotel and ended up at the Aladdin. After reading many reviews about the hotel we decided we would make our own judgement after our stay. Wow......

Check in went very smoothly and the line up was not long. We were given great directions to get to our room so off we went. Our luggage was being delivered some time that day so we changed to summer clothes and off we went. We arrived back at the room at 1:00 a.m. the next morning and were welcomed back by a loud thumping noise coming from the wall near the window. Thinking it might be the air conditioner we turned that down but the noise still persisted. We called down to the front desk and they said they would send maintenance up immediately. No sooner had we hung up the phone then the maintenance man arrive. He checked the noise out and found it was the ballast from the light on the outside of the building. No way it could be fixed. He called down to the front desk for us and explained the problem.

The girl at the front desk understood the problem and said we could either stay the night and switch to another room the next day or they would put us in the wheel chair acessive room and change that the next day. I choose the second option. She then came back and said they found another option. We could stay in one of the rooms that's usually held for high rollers and if we didn't like the room we could switch. Needless to say we didn't switch and the room was awesome. Yes I do agree the rooms are a bit dark.. but hey it's Vegas. You're only there to sleep not spend time in your hotel room.

We enjoyed our stay at the Aladdin and hope the hotel will retain it's excellent service after Planet Hollywood takes over.

PS: Take in the dueling pianos bar Harrah's. We went 3 nights in a row and enjoyed it very much. Usually on from 8:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2004

After reading many negative reviews, we were pleased with our 4 night stay 24 Sept to 28 Sept. We got upgraded to a Suite on the 50th floor but sadly without a view. We were able to check in early which was great. Hotel occupancy was high at the time but staff were competent at all times and check in staff was great.
Strangely all other floors have a hairdryer and ice machine on the flor except the VIP levels. A bit inconvenient.
The buffet is great particularly for dinner though it has no atmosphere unlike at Paris for example (the pastries there are not terribly good however as we had heard). The trick is to go early.
The pool area is very average - mostly cement and 2 small pools with no shade/greenery or atmosphere. Disappointing.
Good location with shopping close by, a very good Spa by Elemis ( better than Canyon Ranch for service and ambience ), and the convenient ABC store in Desert Passage for water and snacks. Its like a cheaper version of Caesars Forum shops but still has Gap, Sephora, Aveda and some other good stores.
Best of all is the ease with which you can watch the Bellagio fountains over and over again - which I did.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2004

This was our second trip to Las Vegas, the first time we stayed in the Sahara which was clean and perfectably acceptable although a little far out.
When i booked the Aladdin i found very little information about it and had heard various reports some not too complimentary!
Well let me put you straight, its fabulous! our room was enormous with everything you could need, king size bed, safe, computer, the lot. The bathroom was huge with a big tub dominating the bathroom, seperate loo and shower, double sinks etc! Considering you dont spend much time in the room i could have moved in there!
The Hotel and Casino were very clean and light and airy, the all you can eat buffet superb although the queues are quite long but they move quickly.
The shops in the desert passage were incredible and the choice amazing, ( can you tell i enjoyed myself and no i didnt win anything at all!)The only down side, and its just a little one was the walk from the car park to the main lobby, its a long way although complimentary bike rides are available.
Take it from me, with its central position smack bang in the middle of the strip, with the Bellagio fountains opposite, and Paris next door, you will love it too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearlake,mn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2004

The Aladdin hotel was a very clean hotel. The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms were huge with a nice deep tub to soak your troubles away. The waitresses were a little slow at bringing the drinks at the casino. They didn't come around that often. The view is beautiful. When you arrive at the airport and you need to find transportation to your hotel DO NOT USE the company BELL TRANS!!!! They were over an hour late picking us up and we had to call three times just to get them there. There was another group of people that had to wait just as long and they almost missed their plane. All in all it was a good vegas experience for the first time going there. I was very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2004

Myself and my new husband visited the Aladdin during a three wk trip of California (and Vegas) for our honeymoon. We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and because we were Aladdin club members, we got the room for next to nothing (it really was that cheap, so definitely sign up for Club Aladdin). When arriving, we went straight to the valet, which is so much less hassle and all you have to do is tip a dollar. The check-in was very quick, however we did ask for an up-grade due to it being our honeymoon, but we didn't get anything, not even a Congratulations. The only reason we thought we may have is so many people commented on this website about the freebies they get for such occasions. However, we were not deterred by this as you would certainly not be given any special treatment in any hotel in the UK. Our room was very nice - in fact it looked identical to the room that we had two years prior, the only difference being the view was so much better. We looked down onto the pool on the right hand-side, we could see the Eiffel Tower (Paris) and the fantastic Bellagio Fountains. Our four nights, started off very promising, although by night four, I was $300 down.
The Dessert Passage is worth a visit, with some excellent shops. There is a really good coffee shop (beside the harbour). Try their Cinnamon Rolls, they are so good.
We did a trip of some of the hotels, including MGM Grand, New York New York, Luxor, Mandalay Bay, Bellagio and Circus Circus. All seem very nice, their casino's are allot bigger than the Aladdin, however, I would not say are any better. Every hotel offers something different, so its definitely worth a trip around them when you come to Vegas. Our next trip to Vegas, we may stay somewhere else, just for a comparison. The buffet at the hotel was great - although I always left feeling very ill, but that's only because I ate my entire body weight in food. The Zanzibar Cafe wasn't as good as we had remembered, however it did the job and filled a hole. We also ate at Blondie’s (good) and Cheeseburger at the Oasis (excellent), both in the Dessert Passage.
The only reason I marked this hotel 4 out of 5 rather than 5 (which I did the last time), was that we stayed at so many lovely hotels during our trip, all the other hotels had the little extras, but being that we paid very little for our 4 nights here, I can't really complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Aladdin for our 10th anniversary, Sept 20th thru the 25th. I must say after reading some of the reviews, I was nervous. But nothing at all to be nervous about. We arrived at 2:30pm and checked in right away. The receptionist was very friendly and I asked if we could have a room overlooking the fountains, she told us that would be an additional $30 a night. We didn't pay. When we got to our room we overlooked the pool and the fountains were right outside our window.
The Desert Passage is wonderful. Variety of shops and restaurants. We went to see the Ultimate V show. Very entertaining. Took advantage of the $20 you can upgrade for dinner. It was delicious. Plus it comes with 2 cocktails. That alone was worth the $20. There is an ABC store in the mall which is a great place to buy snacks, sodas and water for your room. We went there every evening for our water and sodas. We put ice in the garbage can as a makeshift cooler. It worked great.
We left a $10 tip for the maid the first day requesting extra towels and we were taken care of the rest of the week. All the other reviews stating that housekeeping starts at 8am is accurate. Be sure to put your privacy sign up. They will not bother you if that is on the door.
The casino is very cold. I didn't hit at all. My husband hit a little on the first day and it was gone on the second. We hit at Tropicana. An older hotel but has the old Vegas feel. Not bad. Saw two shows there. The magic show. (so-so) and folies bergere.(enjoyable).
Also saw an afternoon show at Harrah's. The Mac King comedy/magic show. Was very funny. You can get free tickets to that just for signing up for their comp card.
The nice thing about the Aladdin is the location. Center strip and convienent to everything. To me, the hotel is just like any other hotel. We stayed at Ti last time and would stay there again, just chose the Aladdin for location. And that was the best part about it. Nothing stands out as being outstanding. In fact, there pool area is terrible. NO atmosphere. Very cramped and crowded. Needs redone when Planet Hollywood renovates. That is my only complaint : the pool area. Ti's is very tropical and fun atmosphere. The Aladdin had no atmosphere at all.
The hotel was very nice and would stay here again if the price was right. I don't know where people find rates of $79. We paid $109 and $169 for a Friday stay. Was actually one of the cheapest rates I had found for the time we were there. Apparently, a popular time. I could see the difference in the crowd the closer it got to the weekend. The casino was very crowded then, but not as crowded as Bally's. You could always walk around freely at our hotel without too many people. That was enjoyable.
Overall, would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Address: 3667 Las Vegas Blvd. S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#78 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience celebrity first hand at the "House that Fame Built" - Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino. With star-worthy accommodations and an upscale atmosphere, you never know who you might see. After all, the resort is known for hosting some of the biggest film stars as they debut their newest films. Here everybody's PHamous! Dine like a star at Koi, the Hollywood hotspot where Japanese tradition meets California innovation or Strip House, the critically acclaimed NYC-based steakhouse. On the casino floor, Heart Bar, The Playing Field and The Pleasure Pit ensure non-stop excitement each with their own brand of fun. Upstairs on The Mezz, Gallery Nightclub and the PCD Burlesque Saloon are a star-studded one-two punch of glamorous nightlife, while Holly Madison takes sexy center stage in the striptease spectacle PEEPSHOW. You can also discover the latest trends at the Miracle Mile Shops or socialize and sunbathe at the Pleasure Pool. For those who’d rather relax indoors, the Spa by Mandara hosts a bevy of rejuvenating services in a calm, serene setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vegas.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Resort And Casino
Planet Hollywood Las Vegas
Planet Hollywood Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Aladdin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.