We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, close to Convention Center. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Resort to your Saves list
Royal Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   99 Convention Center Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Whitewater, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, close to Convention Center. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The Royal was a decent hotel, nothing terribly fancy. It's obviously an older establishment, but the rooms were pretty clean. I've stayed here twice in the last few years.

Booking in took about 10 minutes, as there was only one agent at the desk who was constantly distracted by her cellphone.

The rooms were Vegas-typical, nothing to write home about, but comfortable enough.
The restaurant on-site was way to pricey for us, so we opted for some in the vicinity (within a block or two).
Located in a sort of run-down section of town, which is currently undergoing renovations, the views and neighborhood definitely lacks appeal. The Convention Center was about 5-10 minutes away walking time, dependent on traffic. Flagging down a cab is most difficult as local ordinances prohibit cabs from picking up passengers on the side of the road; the front desk did call a cab for us and a few other groups of folks who were waiting, but it was sort of a free-for-all when they finally showed up.

If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel close to the Convention Center, you could do worse... But could probably justify a few more dollars and stay a block closer in one of the major chain hotels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We just returned from spending three nights at the Royal Resort, and it was definitely a mixed bag. First, the positives: It's not expensive, the free parking is convenient, our room was comfortable, the staff were friendly, and they even replaced a broken shower head very promptly (on a Sunday, no less). The pool is excellent. And the onsite restaurant (The Barrymore) is terrific, definitely worth a visit.

And the not so positives: It's a tired property that is clearly past its prime. It just looks like nobody cares about making the space attractive or inviting. Too many things are shabby. There is a nice looking bar in the lobby, but it's not open and looks like it hasn't been for some time. The "Business Center" is an empty office where it looks like there were maybe once computers available - but now it's just an empty space. There is no free Wifi. And this is not the hotel's fault, but the neighborhood is pretty dreary.

On balance, there is no particular reason to stay here and we will stay somewhere else when we return to Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_lauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Room was comfortable and clean, not the best of views but was not expecting it to be. Could easily walk to the strip. Staff wear friendly and welcoming. Stayed for six nights and only problem we had was when the wind blew one night and the patio door rattled. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CillaMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review and we are very happy to read that you had a lovely stay with us at Royal. We appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to Las Vegas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The reception area of the hotel is nice, the rooms are spacious and the beds are huge, it's handy to have a 7/11, a Denny's and other shops across the road. Other than the afore mentioned, this hotel is pretty average and I wouldn't stay again. The location isn't great as it's a long walk to the main strip were the big hotels and attractions are so we mostly got taxis. The decor is really dated and not what you expect from Las Vegas. Our room was overlooking the carpark and the 'balcony' can NOT be called a balcony. There was barely enough room for one person to stand with the door closed and as we were so high up it felt a little unsafe standing out there pushed against the railing. Our air con was broken, it was really noisy and wouldn't turn off which left us really cold in the night. Staff weren't very helpful with this, we contacted reception numerous times and when someone was sent to our room they didn't actually fix the problem. Our stay wasn't horrific, I suppose this place is ok if you're on a budget but we definitely wouldn't stay here again we would pay a little more for a better experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your candid review about your stay at Royal. We appreciate your open and honest feedback and we are so sorry to read that you didn’t have a good experience. Your concerns will be addressed with our maintenance staff so our team can improve on responding to in-room calls more promptly. However, your business is very much appreciated and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The location couldn't have been better: a ten minute walk from the convention center (great for attending NAB) and the street noise was minimum. The rate was as low as Motel 6 - I wasn't expecting much but the rooms and grounds were kept extremely clean! There was a fridge and coffee maker in the room, as well as a pool and hot tub (that stayed open till 10:00pm so a person working all day actually had an opportunity to enjoy them!) They also had a gym on the grounds but most of the equipment wasn't functioning properly. The aesthetics of my room weren't much to write about, but the sheets were clean, the bed comfortable, the shower had great pressure and I received an upper corner room as I had requested.

The staff, although friendly, wasn't overly accommodating. I was first told I could check in early but was turned away when I arrived. When I returned an hour after I was asked to, I still wasn't able to check in for there were computer problems. One would think being delayed would result in either a slight discount or a drink voucher at their restaurant but nothing was offered outside of an apology. The check out process was quick but not friendly at all.

Even with those mis-steps, I was very pleased with my stay. If visiting for work again and needing quick access to the convention center, i would absolutely return to the Royal Resort!

Room Tip: Request a back facing room to be off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenoregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I Location: 1 block off Las Vegas Blvd turn right onto Convention Centre Drive. Between Encore & Riviera.
Resort: Older, typical pool, &Jacuzzi. Workout room well maintained with newer equipment
STAFF: Courteous & efficient
Rooms: No different than typical older Vegas hotel room. Our studio was equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. Small 2 chair table, 1 chair, and queen-size bed. Small outside patio with 2 table & chairs. Overall furnishings somewhat dated but in good repair
Bed: Very comfortable with good quality sheets-but ours had a hole in it.

Would not spend more than $35 or $40 per night. Definitely do not exchange your week here. Not worth the money

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. Less noise. Also be aware that there's a good 3/4" gap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredbarnqueen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your candid review about your stay at Royal. We appreciate your feedback about our courteous staff; however, we apologize for the set of sheets you received on your bed. We will provide your feedback in follow up with our housekeeping team to ensure this is avoided for future guests. We truly value your busineses and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

PHOENIX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I am just leaving the Royal Resort after a 3 night stay. The Good is the Price, Rooms with a Fridge and nice friendly staff. Room was fairly large. Mostly quiet overall. Clean overall except hallways are a bit worn but not too bad. Now the problem. The Hallways and some areas of the hotel have a funny smell. Sort of like a skunk but nowhere that bad. Still it is prevalent. If they could do something about this I would recommend this hotel. But until they do I cannot.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamond6Phoenix_AZ_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback – we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the in-room fridge and friendly staff. However, the smell you describe is concerning and we will provide your feedback in follow with our team to ensure that this is addressed immediately. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we hope that you’ll come back to the Royal Resort on your next trip to Las Vegas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#77 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 12,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#6 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 11,930 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Resort

Address: 99 Convention Center Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal offers all the intimacy and comforts of a smaller property located in the heart of the famous Las Vegas Strip. It's next to the Wynn, and is within easy walking distance of the Las Vegas Convention Center. Enjoy the marble floors, smoke-free lobby, and spacious lounge. Or soak in the hot tub, enjoy the refreshing pool, and relax in your own private cabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vegas.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Vacation Las Vegas
Royal Vacation Hotel Las Vegas
Royal Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing